View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 9:16 pm



Reply to topic  [ 477 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 20  Next
Gambatte 0.5.0-wip2 released 
Author Message
Trooper
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 6:17 pm
Posts: 376
Post 
sinamas wrote:
I haven't really looked into it, but it's probably pretty solid considering the author.


Anyways, 0.2.0 is out.

Release notes:
http://sourceforge.net/project/shownote ... _id=203791




Sweet, joystick support. Thank you for the new 0.2.0 release


Wed Sep 05, 2007 11:34 pm
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 4:05 am
Posts: 37
Post 
Thanks for the joystick support.

The only problem is the lack of joystick POV hat support.


Sat Sep 08, 2007 12:10 am
Profile
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 7:55 am
Posts: 265
Location: The Netherlands
Post 
vigi_lante wrote:
Thanks for the joystick support.

The only problem is the lack of joystick POV hat support.

I was about the request the same thing, seeing as I have both a joystick and DPad on the same gamepad. I think that the initial joystick support which is written in the changelog is there for a reason.

_________________
"Change is inevitable; progress is optional"


Sat Sep 08, 2007 7:53 pm
Profile
Gambatte Developer
Gambatte Developer

Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 3:03 pm
Posts: 157
Location: Norway
Post 
As I didn't know what values to expect from a POV hat, I left that out. It's trivial to add, I just need to know how to meaningfully convert it's output to boolean values.


Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:43 pm
Profile
Post 
This is how DirectInput handles POV hat values. I imagine it will be the same or very similar for SDL Input.

Code:
  uint pov = js.rgdwPOV[0];
    keystate[index + keymap::joypad_up]    |= (pov ==     0 || pov == 31500 || pov ==  4500) ? 0x80 : 0x00;
    keystate[index + keymap::joypad_down]  |= (pov == 18000 || pov == 13500 || pov == 22500) ? 0x80 : 0x00;
    keystate[index + keymap::joypad_left]  |= (pov == 27000 || pov == 22500 || pov == 31500) ? 0x80 : 0x00;
    keystate[index + keymap::joypad_right] |= (pov ==  9000 || pov ==  4500 || pov == 13500) ? 0x80 : 0x00;


You could obviously replace ? 0x80 : 0x00 with ? true : false, as well.


Sat Sep 08, 2007 11:03 pm
Gambatte Developer
Gambatte Developer

Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 3:03 pm
Posts: 157
Location: Norway
Post 
It appears to be well documented too. It would have taken a ridiculously tiny amount of effort to support this in the first place. Oh well.

"POV hat? Wth is that? Bleh, let's just leave it out and see if it generates any whining."


Sat Sep 08, 2007 11:46 pm
Profile
Inmate

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:28 am
Posts: 1490
Location: Salem, Oregon
Post 
sweet, well any bug I ran into in the last version has vanished so great work! Do you currently have any known bugs with any games or has no one bugtested the emu yet?

either way it works for everything I use, you're really on the ball and updated quite quickly. Good luck in the future!

_________________
byuu wrote:
Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(


Mon Sep 10, 2007 10:43 am
Profile WWW
Trooper

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 7:47 pm
Posts: 550
Post 
sinamas wrote:
"POV hat? Wth is that? Bleh, let's just leave it out and see if it generates any whining."


Here's another vote for adding POV-hat support.
That's the biggest shortcoming of this impressive emulator for now.

POV hat = D-PAD on all modern joypads,if you didn't know that.The POV hat originally appeared in (older) flight-sim joysticks and was used for a different purpose (for changing views).It was shaped like a hat,hence its name.But in all modern gamepads the POV hat is something completely different - its the equivalent of the digital pad in PSX/XBOX etc. controllers.It's strange how the name of this controller wasn't changed for gamepads to reflect its new purpose.

Imagine being forced to play all your 2D games with the analog stick of your PlayStation gamepad.It's worse than using an Atari2600 joystick to play Quake 4 :)

Some quality PC gamepads have a switch to remap the analog stick to the POV hat,but most of them do not. Even when remapped it doesn't work as it should in all cases.

So almost all quality emulators now have support for the POV hat.

_________________
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//


Last edited by kick on Mon Sep 10, 2007 11:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Mon Sep 10, 2007 10:03 pm
Profile
Locksmith of Hyrule
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 6:49 am
Posts: 3635
Location: 255.255.255.255
Post 
POV hat support has my vote as well, 'grats on adding the joystick support though :)

_________________
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.


Mon Sep 10, 2007 11:04 pm
Profile YIM WWW
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 6:14 pm
Posts: 3483
Location: Nokia Land
Post 
adventure_of_link wrote:
POV hat support has my vote as well, 'grats on adding the joystick support though :)

Same here. No emulator these days should be without POV hat support. And kick is right about the Mode button that switches the function of the POV hat and the left analog stick.

I know that Logitech pads have it, but most gamepads do not.

_________________
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image


Mon Sep 10, 2007 11:11 pm
Profile
Locksmith of Hyrule
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 6:49 am
Posts: 3635
Location: 255.255.255.255
Post 
My old Saitek P880 has one

_________________
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.


Mon Sep 10, 2007 11:43 pm
Profile YIM WWW
Inmate

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:28 am
Posts: 1490
Location: Salem, Oregon
Post 
in that case joypad PO-hat (aka d-pad) support would be appriciated, but it's not a priority for me. If you have other work in the emu I'd do that first.

Also, I'm done comparing, but just so you're aware KiGB just released a new version today

here

you definately have them trumped on hardware accuracy but I'd love to see your compatibility list, so far everything works but I haven't exactly been testing roms or anything.

_________________
byuu wrote:
Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(


Tue Sep 11, 2007 7:37 am
Profile WWW
Veteran

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 4:43 pm
Posts: 861
Location: Sloop
Post 
I much prefer Gambatte to KiGB's "DOS" style gui. I couldn't even exit the app via the "x" on KiGB.

Keep up the good work, Sinamas.


Tue Sep 11, 2007 7:25 pm
Profile
Lurker

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 12:35 am
Posts: 128
Post What is SyncFunc?
Sinamas: I'm trying to figure out the purpose of syncFunc, but I'm having a hard time following what it's doing. Could you enlighten me?


Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:01 am
Profile ICQ YIM
Gambatte Developer
Gambatte Developer

Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 3:03 pm
Posts: 157
Location: Norway
Post Re: What is SyncFunc?
DataPath wrote:
Sinamas: I'm trying to figure out the purpose of syncFunc, but I'm having a hard time following what it's doing. Could you enlighten me?

It's waiting until a frame's worth of time has passed since the last time it was called. More equal display time of each frame -> smoother video.


Sat Sep 15, 2007 1:38 am
Profile
Inmate

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:28 am
Posts: 1490
Location: Salem, Oregon
Post 
where is the syncFunc function located?

_________________
byuu wrote:
Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(


Sat Sep 15, 2007 3:26 am
Profile WWW
Lurker

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 12:35 am
Posts: 128
Post 
Panzer88 wrote:
where is the syncFunc function located?

There's a copy of syncFunc.cpp with the sdl front end.

sinamas wrote:
It's waiting until a frame's worth of time has passed since the last time it was called. More equal display time of each frame -> smoother video.


Okey dokey - that makes things easier.


Sat Sep 15, 2007 4:31 am
Profile ICQ YIM
Inmate

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:28 am
Posts: 1490
Location: Salem, Oregon
Post 
hmm I am a windows user and can't seem to locate the front end.
If at all possible it would be neat to access these features in windows also.

if my statements are misguided or ignorant, please enlighten me.

_________________
byuu wrote:
Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(


Sat Sep 15, 2007 5:24 am
Profile WWW
Inmate

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:28 am
Posts: 1490
Location: Salem, Oregon
Post 
Is it possible to add a power on/off or "reset" function to the emulator?

_________________
byuu wrote:
Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(


Thu Sep 20, 2007 10:39 pm
Profile WWW
Trooper
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 6:17 pm
Posts: 376
Post 
Panzer88 wrote:
Is it possible to add a power on/off or "reset" function to the emulator?


"Power on/off" would be more appropriate since there's no actual hardware "reset" button on the Gameboy...Just mentionning it because on consoles like the Snes, those two things are actual separate entities (i.e: some Snes games use the reset switch to a limited extend)

Just saying might as well get the proper name if Sinamas adds the feature.


Fri Sep 21, 2007 2:38 pm
Profile
Locksmith of Hyrule
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 6:49 am
Posts: 3635
Location: 255.255.255.255
Post 
besides, what's wrong with pressing Start+Select+A+B anyway to reset the GB? it works in any emulator/ROM..

_________________
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.


Fri Sep 21, 2007 9:02 pm
Profile YIM WWW
Inmate

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:28 am
Posts: 1490
Location: Salem, Oregon
Post 
Snark wrote:
"Power on/off" would be more appropriate since there's no actual hardware "reset" button on the Gameboy...Just mentionning it because on consoles like the Snes, those two things are actual separate entities (i.e: some Snes games use the reset switch to a limited extend)

Just saying might as well get the proper name if Sinamas adds the feature.


I knew that, that's why I put "reset" in quotes, as in that is what it is doing, but there is no reset function.

adventure_of_link wrote:
besides, what's wrong with pressing Start+Select+A+B anyway to reset the GB? it works in any emulator/ROM..


I had forgotten about this feature, or didn't know it existed, I have only ever experienced this with sega gaming machines. Thanks.

_________________
byuu wrote:
Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(


Sat Sep 22, 2007 1:25 am
Profile WWW
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 12:54 pm
Posts: 327
Location: USA
Post 
Quote:
besides, what's wrong with pressing Start+Select+A+B anyway to reset the GB? it works in any emulator/ROM..

Because then you get the inevitable problem reports like "My teh emulator won't reset when I prass those 4 buttonz!@!!!!1" due to keyboard limitations on simultaneous keys pressed.


Sat Sep 22, 2007 1:37 am
Profile WWW
Inmate

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:28 am
Posts: 1490
Location: Salem, Oregon
Post 
also do gameboy games differentiate between a hard reset and a soft reset? i'd imagine some games would, and that would make it a legitimate addition.

_________________
byuu wrote:
Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(


Sat Sep 22, 2007 3:28 am
Profile WWW
Trooper
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 6:17 pm
Posts: 376
Post 
Panzer88 wrote:
also do gameboy games differentiate between a hard reset and a soft reset? i'd imagine some games would, and that would make it a legitimate addition.


Agree. Then again, I suppose one could always re-load the rom and it would act as a power on/off, but it would be easier to have this feature.


Sat Sep 22, 2007 5:31 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 477 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 20  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.