View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Sep 15, 2019 4:05 pm



Reply to topic  [ 630 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 ... 26  Next
VBA-M 
Author Message
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
mudlord wrote:
Stuff should be statically linked.


It doesn't look like it (I still had to get the redist for VS2008 though and get the latest DX monthy stuff)... oh well.

Edit: Although, I have no idea why this thread was locked... oh well.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sun Sep 14, 2008 6:50 am
Profile
Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:31 am
Posts: 1140
Reply with quote
Post 
Statically linking should remove the dependency on the compiler runtime installer, but not the DirectX web update.


Sun Sep 14, 2008 7:21 am
Profile WWW
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Posts: 5615
Location: PAL50, dood !
Reply with quote
Post 
mudlord wrote:
So, if someone can remove my "VBA Developer" tag, that would be great.

Is the greatness to your taste ?

_________________
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Code:
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54


Sun Sep 14, 2008 11:11 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
kode54 wrote:
Statically linking should remove the dependency on the compiler runtime installer, but not the DirectX web update.


Well, that didn't happen then. The app still gave me a "missing mfc90.dll" and such...

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sun Sep 14, 2008 3:10 pm
Profile
has wat u liek
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 2:54 pm
Posts: 559
Location: Banland.
Reply with quote
Post 
Quote:
Is the greatness to your taste ?


Yeah, thanks. :)



Quote:
Well, that didn't happen then. The app still gave me a "missing mfc90.dll" and such...


I guess I should have been more explicit. Future compiles, from what I hear from Spacy, if there will be any, will be linked static to the MSVC runtimes.


Sun Sep 14, 2008 9:54 pm
Profile
Reply with quote
Post 
mudlord wrote:
chrono made some patches for UPS/PPF support if people even give a fuck for this code.


I'm sure the thousands upon thousands of people waiting on the Mother 3 translation will be extremely grateful for this :)

Thanks, chrono!


Sat Sep 20, 2008 9:01 pm
Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:31 am
Posts: 1140
Reply with quote
Post 
Deathlike2 wrote:
kode54 wrote:
Statically linking should remove the dependency on the compiler runtime installer, but not the DirectX web update.


Well, that didn't happen then. The app still gave me a "missing mfc90.dll" and such...


Oh yeah, MFC needs to be set to static as well.


Sat Sep 20, 2008 9:28 pm
Profile WWW
Zealot

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 7:03 am
Posts: 1325
Reply with quote
Post 
kode54 wrote:
Deathlike2 wrote:
kode54 wrote:
Statically linking should remove the dependency on the compiler runtime installer, but not the DirectX web update.


Well, that didn't happen then. The app still gave me a "missing mfc90.dll" and such...


Oh yeah, MFC needs to be set to static as well.


It already has. :D


Sat Sep 20, 2008 9:58 pm
Profile
Inmate

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:28 am
Posts: 1485
Location: Salem, Oregon
Reply with quote
Post 
how do I install XAudio2 on my windows vista system?

_________________
byuu wrote:
Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(


Sun Sep 21, 2008 7:15 pm
Profile WWW
Zealot

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 7:03 am
Posts: 1325
Reply with quote
Post 
I think you just need to get the latest DX runtime update.


Sun Sep 21, 2008 7:26 pm
Profile
Inmate

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:28 am
Posts: 1485
Location: Salem, Oregon
Reply with quote
Post 
thanks that worked and it also made me realize that I was way behind on DX updates, I thought autoupdate was supposed to take care of that but I guess not.

_________________
byuu wrote:
Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(


Sun Sep 21, 2008 8:48 pm
Profile WWW
Zealot

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 7:03 am
Posts: 1325
Reply with quote
Post 
Nah, Autoupdate won't effect that. It's pretty much for security updates only.


Sun Sep 21, 2008 8:53 pm
Profile
Trooper

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm
Posts: 550
Reply with quote
Post 
There's a bug in the latest VBA-M build 727:
Garbled graphics in Speedy Gonzales (U)[!]
(bgb runs this game perfectly)

_________________
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//


Tue Sep 23, 2008 7:21 am
Profile
Zealot

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 7:03 am
Posts: 1325
Reply with quote
Post 
Could you give a little more info? Where exactly does this happen? On the title screen?

Edit: Nevermind, I found it. Thanks for the bug report.


Tue Sep 23, 2008 7:31 am
Profile
Trooper
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 6:19 am
Posts: 369
Location: Australia
Reply with quote
Post 
kick wrote:
There's a bug in the latest VBA-M build 727:
Garbled graphics in Speedy Gonzales (U)[!]
(bgb runs this game perfectly)


Thanks, you can work around this by setting it to CGB/GBC or GBA, either me or Chrono will get a fix in for this.

SGB and GB are effected

_________________
Image
VBA-M Forum, NGOHQ


Tue Sep 23, 2008 9:39 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Trooper

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm
Posts: 550
Reply with quote
Post 
More bugs:

- Pitman (J): Graphics corruption at the title screen

- Beetlejuice (U): Only half of the sound channels are playing (to reproduce this just watch the intro)

_________________
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//


Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:31 pm
Profile
Trooper
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 6:19 am
Posts: 369
Location: Australia
Reply with quote
Post 
kick wrote:
More bugs:

- Pitman (J): Graphics corruption at the title screen

- Beetlejuice (U): Only half of the sound channels are playing (to reproduce this just watch the intro)


1 may be fixed with chrono's patch.
2. is something blargg will need to look into.

_________________
Image
VBA-M Forum, NGOHQ


Wed Sep 24, 2008 1:33 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Lurker

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 1:35 am
Posts: 128
Reply with quote
Post 
Maybe this is a bug, and maybe it's just a missing feature, but VBA-M on linux appears to only be able to open gz archives and not zip archives.

Is this expected behavior?


Wed Sep 24, 2008 6:57 pm
Profile ICQ YIM
Trooper
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 6:19 am
Posts: 369
Location: Australia
Reply with quote
Post 
sounds like you compiled it wrong or something.

_________________
Image
VBA-M Forum, NGOHQ


Thu Sep 25, 2008 5:53 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Hazed
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 11:16 pm
Posts: 63
Reply with quote
Post 
Say, in a couple weeks, when the Mother 3 translation is released, I'd like to recommend VBA-M to everyone, but how would you guys prefer I do this? Should I link directly to the vbacompiles directory, would you prefer to have a page for it that I link to, or should I just post the latest version on the translation site itself? We already get ~10,000 unique visits a day, so when the big day comes, I expect there'll be several times that, and probably a big % of those will be dloading the emulator too. It's gonna be a lot of bandwidth/server stress, which is why I thought I'd ask in advance :P


Sun Oct 05, 2008 10:02 pm
Profile WWW
has wat u liek
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 2:54 pm
Posts: 559
Location: Banland.
Reply with quote
Post 
Quote:
Say, in a couple weeks, when the Mother 3 translation is released, I'd like to recommend VBA-M to everyone, but how would you guys prefer I do this?


To the main VBA-M page and forum. I'm sure the VBA-M team would like the new publicity for the emu. Plus, the Ngemu site has plenty of bandwidth. Only my own personal site, I have a shitload of bandwidth. So when the time comes, I can host a binary with UPS support.

Also, as for UPS support, in case you didn't read, chrono has finalised the UPS patches to VBA-M. All that needs to happen is for them to be applied to the source.


Mon Oct 06, 2008 1:20 am
Profile
Zealot

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 7:03 am
Posts: 1325
Reply with quote
Post 
I thought they had been applied.


Mon Oct 06, 2008 2:55 am
Profile
has wat u liek
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 2:54 pm
Posts: 559
Location: Banland.
Reply with quote
Post 
Well, considering I have been out of the loop, I do not know if they had been applied or not. Hence what I said. :|


Mon Oct 06, 2008 4:40 am
Profile
Hazed
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 11:16 pm
Posts: 63
Reply with quote
Post 
OK, cool, sounds good to me. My only worry then is that since there aren't prominent links to where to download the latest compiled version right away, most people will be like, "Huh?" and go somewhere else. I can try to direct people to the right place, but I dunno how effective that'll be. If it's any indication, many people trying to use the old menu patch didn't even know how to browse for files on their computer or use drop-down boxes, so all this "SVN compiles" and stuff will likely make their brains blow up ;)


Mon Oct 06, 2008 6:37 am
Profile WWW
has wat u liek
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 2:54 pm
Posts: 559
Location: Banland.
Reply with quote
Post 
In that case, point them to the most recent SVN compile as well as the needed files.


Mon Oct 06, 2008 6:39 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 630 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 ... 26  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.