View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Jul 16, 2019 10:08 am



This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 994 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 36, 37, 38, 39, 40
Regen for Linux and Windows 
Author Message
"God"

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 11:24 pm
Posts: 1128
Post 
you don't need to have done anything constructive to be mentioned in the credits of anything.

_________________
Does [Kevin] Smith masturbate with steel wool too?

- Yes, but don’t change the subject.


Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:52 am
Profile
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:05 pm
Posts: 637
Post 
SmartOne wrote:
I try not to offend to avoid stupid conflicts like this. But the people on this board are frustrating me.

We're sorry :(

_________________
I bring the trouble.


Tue Sep 16, 2008 3:26 pm
Profile
Tool

Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 7:48 am
Posts: 102
Post 
funkyass wrote:
you don't need to have done anything constructive to be mentioned in the credits of anything.


Thus:

SmartOne wrote:
(according to the credits.)


I was curious, and I still am.


Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:06 pm
Profile
Trooper
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 3:11 am
Posts: 394
Location: Space
Post 
Well, it should be in another topic... since it has nothing to do with Regen at all. :)

As for me, I got wind of a possible issue that can cause a crash, so I'm going to see if I can hunt it down and reproduce it. :)

_________________
Kega Fusion Supporter | bsnes Supporter | Regen Supporter


Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:38 pm
Profile
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Posts: 5615
Location: PAL50, dood !
Post 
SmartOne wrote:
Not an attack.

Not antagonizing you for the hell of it.

I sure hope you won't regret that.

_________________
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Code:
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54


Tue Sep 16, 2008 7:46 pm
Profile
Regen Developer
Regen Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 8:01 am
Posts: 533
Post 
Hi,

I am very busy with the university right now so don't expect to receive responses from me any time soon :) .

stay safe,

AamirM


Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:03 am
Profile WWW
Regen Developer
Regen Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 8:01 am
Posts: 533
Post 
Hi,

Got a bit free time today so might as well post some answers.

Metatron wrote:
I'm busy recommending this emulator to people, and I'm wondering if Sega CD/32X support will ever be added in the future?


Yes there will be, but not any time soon. All the Sega consoles before Saturn will be there too hopefully (including SF7000 addon).

85cocoa wrote:
A related feature request: Could we consider maintaining a database of ROMs which require specific Autofix Checksum settings (for inclusion with a future version of Regen)?


The idea is good but I want to remain as far away from databases as possible for now. Maybe in future.

SmartOne wrote:
Rocket Knight Adventures doesn't sound crystal clear like it does in Kega. Listen to the Konami screen and the title screen sounds.

Hear all the cracklies. Hairy, even.

Is this "more accurate" than Kega, or just not quite there yet?


What Regen is outputing is the sound which comes directly out of the chip without any filtering (which is later applied by other things). If you listen to the same thing using the VGM plugin which uses GME which in turn applies filtering, the crackliness disappears. There is a Lowpass filtering option given (if you didn't notice :) ) which was mainly added to increase bass in the output to simulate filtering done by "my" TV (and what I heared from it). But again, since TV has the option to set bass (and treble) you may have set it for crispy sound so the result can vary.

King Of Chaos wrote:
I wonder if the things we hear is because of the 48000Mz rate Regen uses for SuperHQ mode over the 44100Mz rate Kega uses.


Its not much important that Kega uses 44100Hz but more that how it resamples to that. When you log WAV in Regen in SHQ mode it will be in 53Khz. Download foobar2000 and the SRC(Secret Rabit Code) DSP plugin for it. Choose 44100 from its configuration and different resampling algorithms (linear/sinc interpolation) and compare with Regen and Kega and if you find any differences then tell me :) .

@ Kega vs. Regen talk:

Seriously, I am not trying to compete with Kega or any other emulator for that matter. I am trying to achieve maximum accuracy. Thats it.

stay safe,

AamirM


Fri Sep 19, 2008 7:34 pm
Profile WWW
Trooper
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 3:11 am
Posts: 394
Location: Space
Post 
Good idea, I'm going to do some recordings to compare a little later. :)

_________________
Kega Fusion Supporter | bsnes Supporter | Regen Supporter


Fri Sep 19, 2008 7:47 pm
Profile
Regular

Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 3:17 pm
Posts: 307
Post 
Why do checksums need to be fixed?


Fri Sep 19, 2008 7:57 pm
Profile
Regen Developer
Regen Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 8:01 am
Posts: 533
Post 
Hi,

Some games check these (for integrity) and will lock if not correct (red or black screen). Some games (puggsy) use it for protection as well.

stay safe,

AamirM


Fri Sep 19, 2008 8:04 pm
Profile WWW
Regular

Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 3:17 pm
Posts: 307
Post 
AamirM wrote:
Hi,

Some games check these (for integrity) and will lock if not correct (red or black screen). Some games (puggsy) use it for protection as well.

stay safe,

AamirM

So correct dumps don't need this fix right?


Fri Sep 19, 2008 8:09 pm
Profile
Regen Developer
Regen Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 8:01 am
Posts: 533
Post 
Hi,

As long as the expected checksum is generated, yes. But many games don't check the checksum.

stay safe,

AamirM


Fri Sep 19, 2008 8:18 pm
Profile WWW
Regular

Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 3:17 pm
Posts: 307
Post 
Then the games that require checksums to be fixed are either bad dumps or have broken headers that need fixing.

Do we have a list of games that require fixing?

Then from that list, does the no-intro version of the game still need the fix?


Fri Sep 19, 2008 8:27 pm
Profile
Trooper
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 3:11 am
Posts: 394
Location: Space
Post 
Some ROMS are supposed to have a bad checksum to run. If you run into a red screen with auto-fix checksum enabled, it's one of those games.

Just like some games need SRAM to be disabled to run correctly (Pugsy for example).

_________________
Kega Fusion Supporter | bsnes Supporter | Regen Supporter


Fri Sep 19, 2008 8:49 pm
Profile
Regular

Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 3:17 pm
Posts: 307
Post 
King Of Chaos wrote:
Some ROMS are supposed to have a bad checksum to run. If you run into a red screen with auto-fix checksum enabled, it's one of those games.

Just like some games need SRAM to be disabled to run correctly (Pugsy for example).


Yeah, so in those cases the rom is wrong and the emulator is correct. Auto-checksumfixing should not be needed.(could be used as a compatibility feature if the other pcb code fails)

Official Genesis roms seem to have headers to have all the information needed for correct mappers.(not all programmers actually filled the entire headed with the correct information)

This means that things like databases and checksum fixes and pcb guessers should not be needed for correct dumps(although some would need updated headers to supply the information the programmers forgot to add).


Fri Sep 19, 2008 8:54 pm
Profile
Tool

Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 7:48 am
Posts: 102
Post 
Forgot about the "invisible" filters factor. Raw is good, AamirM! Thanks for the refresh.

I might try out that DSP plugin, too.


Sat Sep 20, 2008 12:48 am
Profile
Regen Developer
Regen Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 8:01 am
Posts: 533
Post 
Hi,

tetsuo55 wrote:
Official Genesis roms seem to have headers to have all the information needed for correct mappers.(not all programmers actually filled the entire headed with the correct information)


Some games have extra on-cartridge hardware (like SVP for VirtuaRacing, Super Street fighters banking, many unlicensed games with protections, games with EEPROMs and some other things) which is not mentioned in the headers so we have to resort to CRC and header matching to make those games work properly. So a little database is there in Regen to detect those things only and I want it to keep it to that only.

All in all, I never saw any need for a database. The headers in Genesis are enough.

stay safe,

AamirM


Sat Sep 20, 2008 7:10 am
Profile WWW
Tool

Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 7:48 am
Posts: 102
Post 
Regen doesn't let VGM_PLAY automatically load its rom build. http://www.spritesmind.net/_GenDev//for ... .php?t=442
Intead, Regen thinks it's the first time starting up, and there's an error.


Sat Sep 20, 2008 2:18 pm
Profile
Regen Developer
Regen Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 8:01 am
Posts: 533
Post 
Hi,

Thats a problem with the command line code. Will fix that ;) .

EDIT:

For those who don't know, a dedicated Regen board is now located here. It is recommended that all Regen related things be discussed there from now on so that this thread does not exceed memory limits anymore. Mods may want to lock this thread.

stay safe,

AamirM


Sat Sep 20, 2008 3:38 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.   [ 994 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 36, 37, 38, 39, 40

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.