View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Jul 16, 2019 10:07 am



Reply to topic  [ 67 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
nemulator 
Author Message
Trooper

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm
Posts: 550
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
Quote:
The next version will be out shortly


Mmmm...that's a really tasty screenshot.
Can't wait for the next release :)

_________________
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//


Thu Dec 09, 2010 7:03 pm
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:15 pm
Posts: 25
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
2.2.1 is available and includes the customizable menu.
http://nemulator.com

enjoy!


Fri Dec 10, 2010 5:55 am
Profile
Trooper

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm
Posts: 550
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
Quote:
nemulator 2.2.1

* The number of games displayed in the menu is now customizable. See menu_columns option in nemulator.ini.
* Widescreen/fullscreen aspect ratio is selectable via app.widescreen option in nemulator.ini.
* Fixed bug that could cause nemulator to hang while exiting.


Awesomesauce :)

_________________
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//


Fri Dec 10, 2010 6:20 am
Profile
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4240
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
kick wrote:
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
Press up three times, then left once. There's no reason to be playing anything else when you're that close to Guardian Legend.


Guardian Legend is legendary... but Gremlins 2, Journey To Silius and Kirby's Adventure are just as good :)

I considered Silius, but it was too far away.

Kirby's Adventure is fun, but it's not THAT good, IMNSHO.

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


KHDownloads


Fri Dec 10, 2010 8:25 am
Profile
Trooper

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm
Posts: 550
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
Issues with nemulator:

1. I can't get any sound with this emulator (using a SB Audigy2 ZS with the latest kX drivers [in stereo mode]). I tested some older versions as well, same problem. nemulator is the only app/emulator with this issue. Everything else I've tried (every emulator, media player, game and app) works perfectly.

- What API does nemulator use for sound output?
- Is nemulator using some kind of quirky surround or true mono (instead of dual mono) output mode?

2. Is there any way to prevent nemulator from pausing the emulation when the window loses focus?

_________________
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//


Sat Dec 11, 2010 6:02 pm
Profile
Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:31 am
Posts: 1140
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
True mono output should be just fine for DirectSound or maybe even XAudio2, since both should perform upmixing as necessary for the hardware.


Sun Dec 12, 2010 1:34 am
Profile WWW
Rookie

Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:15 pm
Posts: 25
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
kick wrote:
- What API does nemulator use for sound output?

DirectSound

kick wrote:
- Is nemulator using some kind of quirky surround or true mono (instead of dual mono) output mode?

It's single-channel mono.

Does the emulator otherwise run ok? If it's unable to output sound (i.e., if the sound output buffer isn't being emptied), it should just hang.

kick wrote:
2. Is there any way to prevent nemulator from pausing the emulation when the window loses focus?

Not currently, but I'll make that configurable in the next version.

Sorry for taking so long to respond...

james


Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:06 pm
Profile
Lurker

Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 12:43 am
Posts: 115
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
It runs fine.
Just needs MOAR accuracy, since people these days expect nothing less >_>

Thanks a lot *insert certain idiots....*


Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:49 am
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:15 pm
Posts: 25
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
mudlord88 wrote:
It runs fine.
Just needs MOAR accuracy, since people these days expect nothing less >_>

ok, I'll bite...

example?


Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:33 pm
Profile
Zealot

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 7:03 am
Posts: 1325
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
mudlord was being sarcastic, referring to earlier posters in this thread.


Tue Dec 28, 2010 7:50 pm
Profile
Lurker

Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 12:43 am
Posts: 115
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
Indeed.
Just sarcasm is all, because I actually quite like your emulator design. Very unique :)

That...and also, I don't see the point of every single emu going cycle accuhurtz for the hell of it, because someone else does it. >.>


Thu Dec 30, 2010 5:33 pm
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:15 pm
Posts: 25
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
got it (and thanks -- glad to hear you like the design)

Quote:
I don't see the point of every single emu going cycle accuhurtz for the hell of it, because someone else does it.

90-some% of games run fine without that level of accuracy so, yeah, I kind of agree with this. That said, there are some games that a) don't suck and b) require that level of accuracy (Battletoads comes to mind). From my perspective, getting those to work is rewarding.


Thu Dec 30, 2010 6:48 pm
Profile
Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:31 am
Posts: 1140
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
And cycle accurate does not need to be terribly expensive. Each component need only synchronize when accessing other components, and access times can be timestamp offset, rather than requiring every component simulate exactly one cycle at a time. Plus, in some cases, you can optimize for speed instead of accuracy in places where it won't affect the actual simulated software. For instance, a PPU which is cycle accurate on the register level, but only renders whole scanlines, like QuickNES.


Thu Dec 30, 2010 6:53 pm
Profile WWW
Trooper

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm
Posts: 550
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
v2.5 is out: http://www.nemulator.com/history.php


Wishlist for v2.6:

- Option to turn off the bilinear filtering in fullscreen mode

- Scanlines

_________________
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//


Sun Nov 20, 2011 2:37 am
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:15 pm
Posts: 25
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
I get the scanlines request (and will add it... actually, it's already done, just unreleased), but IMO, nearest neighbor filtering looks like crap -- just curious why you'd want that. Do you prefer the look, or is there some other reason?

BTW, I forgot to mention it in the release notes, but this version also uses an improved upscaling algorithm. It's bilinear, but tweaked to preserve edge detail better. In a future version, I'll add the ability to switch between shaders which should make it easier to compare.


Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:25 pm
Profile
Trooper

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm
Posts: 550
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
-james- wrote:
IMO, nearest neighbor filtering looks like crap -- just curious why you'd want that. Do you prefer the look, or is there some other reason?


- It looks much better on a CRT monitor or CRT TV
- On an LCD display, bilinear filtering washes out the colors
- Nearest neighbor looks great when combined with a scanline shader / filter

_________________
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//


Mon Nov 21, 2011 8:06 pm
Profile
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 6:03 pm
Posts: 10
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
There is an input problem with the latest version of nemulator :

When using an XBOX360 joypad (or XBOX360 compatible USB PC joypad), the down-left diagonal of the D-PAD does not work. What's really strange is that all four diagonals work only if you use the analog stick (try it for example with a shoot-em-up game)

And why are turbo buttons in nemulator acting like toggle switches? (the standard Japanese Famicom controller has separate 'Turbo A' and 'Turbo B' buttons above the normal buttons)


Last edited by emudoggie on Wed Jan 11, 2012 3:19 pm, edited 3 times in total.



Mon Jan 09, 2012 6:20 pm
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:15 pm
Posts: 25
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
down-left is the only diagonal that doesn't work w/ the d-pad?

can you post your joypad config from nemulator.ini?

Quote:
And why do turbo buttons in nemulator act like toggle switches?

no particular reason other than my personal preference. I'll put separate turbo buttons on the to-do list.


Mon Jan 09, 2012 6:28 pm
Profile
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 6:03 pm
Posts: 10
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
-james- wrote:
down-left is the only diagonal that doesn't work w/ the d-pad? Can you post your joypad config from nemulator.ini?


Code:
;Joypad Configuration
; Keyboard mappings
joy1.left = 0x25
joy1.right = 0x27
joy1.up = 0x26
joy1.down = 0x28
joy1.a = 0x58
joy1.a_turbo = 0x53
joy1.b = 0x5A
joy1.b_turbo = 0x41
joy1.select = 0xDB
joy1.start = 0xDD
; XBOX360-compatible PC gamepad mappings
joy1.joy = 0
joy1.joy.left.type = 2
joy1.joy.left = 0x7B0C57E4
joy1.joy.right.type = 2
joy1.joy.right = 0x34BC1194
joy1.joy.up.type = 2
joy1.joy.up = 0x11947B0C
joy1.joy.down.type = 2
joy1.joy.down = 0x53FC34BC
joy1.joy.a = 0
joy1.joy.a_turbo = 1
joy1.joy.b = 2
joy1.joy.b_turbo = 3
joy1.joy.select = 6
joy1.joy.start = 7


Last edited by emudoggie on Wed Jan 11, 2012 3:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Tue Jan 10, 2012 10:35 am
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:15 pm
Posts: 25
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
try these values:
Code:
joy1.joy.left = 0x7D0055F0
joy1.joy.right = 0x36B00FA0
joy1.joy.up = 0x13887918
joy1.joy.down = 0x55F032C8


Tue Jan 10, 2012 2:02 pm
Profile
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 6:03 pm
Posts: 10
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
-james- wrote:
try these values:
Code:
joy1.joy.left = 0x7D0055F0
joy1.joy.right = 0x36B00FA0
joy1.joy.up = 0x13887918
joy1.joy.down = 0x55F032C8


Nope. Those values didn't solve the problem (still the same issue as before)

I tried nemulator on several PCs running different flavors of Windows 7 with a variety of new and old (non XInput compatible) gamepads and still got the exact same input problem.

Really odd since the D-PAD works perfectly in other NES emulators (such as bsnes* and Nestopia)

* it's also a NES and GameBoy/Color emulator


Last edited by emudoggie on Wed Jan 11, 2012 3:23 pm, edited 3 times in total.



Tue Jan 10, 2012 4:54 pm
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:15 pm
Posts: 25
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
ok -- weird. I'll take a look at it when I get home from work.


Tue Jan 10, 2012 9:02 pm
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:15 pm
Posts: 25
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
I messed up the values in nemulator.ini :oops:. These will work (tested w/ an xbox 360 controller):
Code:
joy1.joy.left = 0x7B0C57E4
joy1.joy.right = 0x34BC1194
joy1.joy.up = 0x11947B0C
joy1.joy.down = 0x57E434BC


Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:07 am
Profile
Trooper
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 2:45 pm
Posts: 515
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
now that i take a closer of your emulator, and win8 metro.
It makes me wonder, if guys at Microsoft might actually steals your UI for their Metro UI.


Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:21 am
Profile
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 6:03 pm
Posts: 10
Reply with quote
Post Re: nemulator
-james- wrote:
I messed up a value in nemulator.ini :oops:. This one will work (tested w/ an xbox 360 controller):
Code:
joy1.joy.down = 0x57E434BC


The DL diagonal works now. Thanks a lot :)

But there's still a minor annoyance - I can't use the gamepad diagonals to browse through the game selection UI. Is that intentional (another personal preference) ?


Last edited by emudoggie on Wed Jan 11, 2012 4:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Wed Jan 11, 2012 4:02 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 67 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.