View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Sep 21, 2019 3:25 pm



Reply to topic  [ 128 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Super Mario RPG freezing 
Author Message
Locksmith of Hyrule
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Posts: 3634
Location: 255.255.255.255
Reply with quote
Post 
1) Post NSRT info of the ROM to be sure
2) you can import the .srm save from 1.51 into ZSNES 1.42 or 1.36, as the savestate format changed, IIRC.

_________________
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.


Sun Jun 24, 2007 11:07 pm
Profile YIM WWW
New Member

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 9:52 pm
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Post 
Hey Sorry, I'm new to this whole thing, hopefully this is what you are referring to, sorry for not including it originally. Also, sorry, but how do you open it from another version, should it do that automatically? b/c i cant open anything w/ v1.42, and I have no idea why.

Internal ROM Info
File
Super Mario RPG - Legend of the Seven Stars
Name
SUPER MARIO RPG
Company
Nintendo
Header
None
Bank
LoROM
Interleaved
None
SRAM
256 Kb
Type
SA-1 + Batt
ROM
32 Mb
Country
USA
Video
NTSC
ROM Speed
200ns (SlowROM)
Revision
1.0
Checksum
Good 0x3BB4
Game Code
ARWE
Hashes
CRC32
1B8A0625
MD5
D0B68D68D9EFC0558242F5476D1C5B81
Database
Name
Super Mario RPG
Country
USA
Revision
1.0
Port 1
Gamepad
Port 2
Gamepad
Genre 1
RPG
Genre 2
Turn Based


Sun Jun 24, 2007 11:34 pm
Profile
Regular

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 6:43 pm
Posts: 253
Location: localhost
Reply with quote
Post 
If you can't load anything in 1.42- then it's either your paths(can you even find the roms?) or a corrupted download.

As AoL mentioned, use a save box(save point), exit Zsnes, copy your .srm(eg. mariorpg.srm) to your new folder and load the game from that folder.


Mon Jun 25, 2007 2:04 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 9:52 pm
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Post 
No, I can't load anything, but I can easily when i use v1.51, so maybe I'll try downloading again, or moving it, or something.

In regards to switching it over to 1.42 once i can figure that out, I just use the save points from the drop down menu, do you mean I have to use one of the boxes in the game as if I was actually using the game? also where would i then find those .srm files, should they be in a folder or something, i don't really understand and I would like to keep playing the game.

Thanks to both of you for your help thus far too


Mon Jun 25, 2007 2:18 am
Profile
Regular

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 6:43 pm
Posts: 253
Location: localhost
Reply with quote
Post 
Well, you're playing the game, and the game itself thinks it's running in the real hardware...

About the .srm location, it's most likely in your roms folder, unless you set a custom path, which doesn't seen to be the case. Just search your hd for *.srm and wherever you find a few of them is your save location.


Mon Jun 25, 2007 2:28 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 9:52 pm
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Post 
alright, well now I don't know what to do, i downloaded a new v1.42, and copied the .srm to that folder w/ the new emulator and it won't run when i tried to just open the .srm file w/ that emulator and i still can not find any of my roms when I try to load the games using any other emulator but the v1.51


Mon Jun 25, 2007 3:02 am
Profile
Locksmith of Hyrule
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Posts: 3634
Location: 255.255.255.255
Reply with quote
Post 
the .srm file is the save game file

did you name the .srm as your ROM file name?

example,
SMRPG.smc
SMRPG.srm

and throw them both in your roms directory, then in ZSNES, browse to where ever you have the super mario RPG ROM stored and open it

_________________
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.


Mon Jun 25, 2007 3:04 am
Profile YIM WWW
New Member

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 9:52 pm
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Post 
none of my roms are showing up when I browse with any emulator other than v1.51, does this make any sense at all?


Mon Jun 25, 2007 3:10 am
Profile
Regular

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 6:43 pm
Posts: 253
Location: localhost
Reply with quote
Post 
You're not browsing the right folder.

If 1.51(your roms) are in c:\games\snes and 1.42 is in c:\games\test, you must point Zsnes(the load window) to c:\games\snes


Mon Jun 25, 2007 3:55 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 9:52 pm
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Post 
aren't my roms in the same folder either way? and ive tried copying the super mario rpg rom into a different folder and locating it there and it still doesnt show up when i'm browsing on any other versrion except 1.51


Mon Jun 25, 2007 5:44 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
It is worth editing the exact path in the prior versions of ZSNES so it points to your rom folder initially.

Note that if the folder path has a space in it, the older versions of ZSNES will have problems processing it.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Mon Jun 25, 2007 6:01 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 9:52 pm
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Post 
Alright, well I editted the path now so that I would just have to go C/games/snes, but the only file that shows up is some random anime1.1 which appears to be some anime porn slideshow that was for some reason included in the large pack of roms i got. Any advice on what to do now, or does it just seem I'm outta luck w/ getting any further in this game?


Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:11 am
Profile
Regular

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 6:43 pm
Posts: 253
Location: localhost
Reply with quote
Post 
Porn... :lol:

Point your path to the folder with .SMC files


Tue Jun 26, 2007 6:12 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 9:52 pm
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Post 
Well that 'anime v1.1' thing was in the pack of roms I downloaded, so I don't see how that could show up but nothing else.

Also, I searched for *.SMC and the results returned nothing, so that may be a problem.


Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:06 am
Profile
Locksmith of Hyrule
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Posts: 3634
Location: 255.255.255.255
Reply with quote
Post 
try searching your computer for *.sfc, *.fig, etc. files

_________________
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.


Tue Jun 26, 2007 5:16 pm
Profile YIM WWW
Regular

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 6:43 pm
Posts: 253
Location: localhost
Reply with quote
Post 
I don't remember a sfc extension, although it makes sense.

.swc is also common.

But since he's got a "pack" there's a high probability of .zip, or even worse, 7zip...


Tue Jun 26, 2007 5:40 pm
Profile
New Member

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 6:21 pm
Posts: 6
Reply with quote
Post 
Ok, got the same 'freeze' problems on 1.51.

The first one was right at the first tutorial from toad, at the begging.

It's always on the menu.

Got another one when I was browsing it.

And what about the well known gfx errors/lines when talking to people? any fix ?

Nice to see that the freeze problem is reported (it is, right?)

Gonna start playing on the old 1.42.

Thank you guys.


Tue Jul 17, 2007 11:13 pm
Profile
Reply with quote
Post src missing
im also having the problem with the ingame saves for mario rpg on v1.51. no matter what it doesn't want to create the .srm file.. i tryed it with 1.42 and snes9x and it works fine but yea.. i even tryed inporting it from an older version but it doesn't even pick it up

i did notice after loading my save state that my previous ingame save showed up.. but not the .srm file itself. so maybe the srm file is being saved within the .zst and not as a separate file



File: Super Mario RPG - Legend of the Seven Stars (U) [!].zip Header: No
SUPER MARIO RPG TYPE:SA-1
INTERLEAVED:No CHKSUM:OK
VIDEO:NTSC BANK:Lo CRC32:1B8A0625


Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:20 pm
Regular

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 6:43 pm
Posts: 253
Location: localhost
Reply with quote
Post Re: src missing
ffcloud2000 wrote:
i did notice after loading my save state that my previous ingame save showed up.. but not the .srm file itself. so maybe the srm file is being saved within the .zst and not as a separate file


It's called "Load Savestate w/sram" and it's ON by default.


Wed Jul 25, 2007 5:26 am
Profile
Reply with quote
Post Re: src missing
Kajuru wrote:
It's called "Load Savestate w/sram" and it's ON by default.


gotcha.. heh pretty newbish of me :S


Wed Jul 25, 2007 5:30 am
Reply with quote
Post 
I would like to inquire about the status of this bug.

I've had the random equip crash and the Toadstool tutorial crash mentionned earlier.

Also, since I don't believe it'S fixed so far, I know some people have suggested using an earlier version but it does not seem to work for everyone. Is using 1.42 the right way to go for now ?

PS : I use the latest stable version (updated it yesterday) and the rom info is this :

---------------------Internal ROM Info----------------------
File: Super Mario RPG (U).smc
Name: SUPER MARIO RPG Company: Nintendo
Header: None Bank: LoROM
Interleaved: None SRAM: 256 Kb
Type: SA-1 + Batt ROM: 32 Mb
Country: USA Video: NTSC
ROM Speed: 200ns (SlowROM) Revision: 1.0
Checksum: Good 0x3BB4 Game Code: ARWE
---------------------------Hashes---------------------------
CRC32: 1B8A0625
MD5: D0B68D68D9EFC0558242F5476D1C5B81
--------------------------Database--------------------------
Name: Super Mario RPG
Country: USA Revision: 1.0
Port 1: Gamepad Port 2: Gamepad
Genre 1: RPG Genre 2: Turn Based


Mon Jul 30, 2007 5:10 am
Trooper
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 8:12 am
Posts: 480
Location: Canada
Reply with quote
Post 
Time for some thread necromancy...

I haven't played through old Super Mario RPG in about a decade so I decided to fire it up in ZSNES 1.51 only to realize it has that equiping bug which was already mentioned in this thread and there doesn't seem to be a permanent way around it. Has any progress been made towards solving the equiping bug yet?

And just in case here is my ROM info:

NSRT v3.3 - Nach's SNES ROM Tools
---------------------Internal ROM Info----------------------
File: Super Mario RPG (U) [!].smc
Name: SUPER MARIO RPG Company: Nintendo
Header: None Bank: LoROM
Interleaved: No SRAM: 256 Kb
Type: SA-1 + Batt ROM: 32 Mb
Country: USA Video: NTSC
ROM Speed: 200ns (SlowROM) Revision: 1.0
Checksum: Good 0x3BB4 CRC32: 1B8A0625
MD5: D0B68D68D9EFC0558242F5476D1C5B81
--------------------------Database--------------------------
Name: Super Mario RPG
Country: USA Revision: 1.0
Port 1: Gamepad Port 2: Gamepad
Genre 1: RPG Genre 2: Turn Based


Wed Aug 29, 2007 6:47 am
Profile
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:05 pm
Posts: 637
Reply with quote
Post 
I think the fact that no one has revived this thread to gush about their favorite game working again is enough evidence to show that this bug has not been fixed... at least, not in a useable build of zsnes. Use 1.42.


Wed Aug 29, 2007 8:54 pm
Profile
Reply with quote
Post 
Yeah, I've been using 1.51 and the screen freezes during the Toad tutorial at the beginning for me too (right when Toad asks you to select the Mushroom on the Item screen).

I downloaded 1.42 and that seems to work fine. I was even able to re-load the savestate that I had made on 1.51.

Thanks for the help, all.


Tue Sep 04, 2007 2:58 am
New Member

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 1:01 pm
Posts: 1
Location: usa
Reply with quote
Post 
i downloaded it like 5 days ago it was running good but win i got to the ship level and got the star it just f***ed up on me the back round was move in and all i can do crap... but ty it was fun to play again in the since the last 11 years


Wed Jan 23, 2008 1:18 pm
Profile YIM
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 128 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.