View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 9:43 pm



Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Running ZSNES On Android 
Author Message
New Member

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 8:30 pm
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Running ZSNES On Android
I know this topic has been broached before, but this is not a "zsnes 4 android plzkthxbai!!11" thread. This is a discussion on how to make things work. (Hence "running" in the subject, and not specifically "port")

Firstly, I've seen mentioned in other threads that doing an android port would be extremely difficult. Despite this, there is already a Linux port, and essentially Android IS Linux. So why not use that port as the basis for an android port?

That aside, let's say an android port is impossible and will never come to exist. While a direct port would obviously be the optimal way to play zsnes (btw i'm too stupid to learn the name of the emulator) on android, it is by no means the only option. ZSNES was originally designed to run on computers with significantly inferior specs to the average android device in 2017. As such, there is enough of a gap that we could simply emulate the type of hardware ZSNES requires. Ie. simply design a loader to run ZSNES on android by either interpolating between the hardware in an android device and the hardware ZSNES is looking for, or through a shell of Windows, DOS, or Linux.

Using a shell is a method that just about any user can go with right now. There's already a port of DosBox for android, so you can just run the DOS version of ZSNES on android with that. Currently there are old DOS games available on Steam, (and probably other sources), that are packed with a DOSBox loader that the developers setup to automatically run the game through DosBox when you click the game's shortcut. All it takes to set this up is a little batch macro.

These other options are certainly inefficient compared to a direct port, (particularly the option of using shells), but I believe there's enough horsepower in today's android devices to still run ZSNES smoothly this way.


Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:06 pm
Profile
Official tech support dood

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:57 am
Posts: 2060
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
...but why? i can't think of a single practical purpose for this - only for novelty reasons.

_________________
Why yes, my shift key *IS* broken.


Thu Feb 16, 2017 3:15 am
Profile
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4161
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
Startropic1 wrote:
I know this topic has been broached before, but this is not a "zsnes 4 android plzkthxbai!!11" thread. This is a discussion on how to make things work. (Hence "running" in the subject, and not specifically "port")

Firstly, I've seen mentioned in other threads that doing an android port would be extremely difficult. Despite this, there is already a Linux port, and essentially Android IS Linux. So why not use that port as the basis for an android port?

Because the Linux version still requires an x86 processor. It won't run on Linux for ARM, PowerPC, SPARC, or any other processor.
ZSNES contains large swaths of non-portable assembly code that only works on x86 processors. Very few phones contain such parts. THAT is the problem.


Quote:
That aside, let's say an android port is impossible and will never come to exist. While a direct port would obviously be the optimal way to play zsnes (btw i'm too stupid to learn the name of the emulator) on android, it is by no means the only option. ZSNES was originally designed to run on computers with significantly inferior specs to the average android device in 2017. As such, there is enough of a gap that we could simply emulate the type of hardware ZSNES requires. Ie. simply design a loader to run ZSNES on android by either interpolating between the hardware in an android device and the hardware ZSNES is looking for, or through a shell of Windows, DOS, or Linux.

Using a shell is a method that just about any user can go with right now. There's already a port of DosBox for android, so you can just run the DOS version of ZSNES on android with that. Currently there are old DOS games available on Steam, (and probably other sources), that are packed with a DOSBox loader that the developers setup to automatically run the game through DosBox when you click the game's shortcut. All it takes to set this up is a little batch macro.

These other options are certainly inefficient compared to a direct port, (particularly the option of using shells), but I believe there's enough horsepower in today's android devices to still run ZSNES smoothly this way.

Yes, you could run ZSNES through DOSBox, but... why not run an actual Android-based Super Nintendo emulator instead? Less complexity, better battery life, and no jumping through hoops.

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


Thu Feb 16, 2017 6:17 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 8:30 pm
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
Yes, you could run ZSNES through DOSBox, but... why not run an actual Android-based Super Nintendo emulator instead? Less complexity, better battery life, and no jumping through hoops.


ZSNES has the highest percentage of game compatibility. Snes9x comes pretty close, and does have an android port, but it's still a bit short of ZSNES.


Thu Feb 16, 2017 10:24 pm
Profile
Sir Robin the Not-Quite-So-Brave-As-Sir-Lancelot

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 415
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
Startropic1 wrote:
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
Yes, you could run ZSNES through DOSBox, but... why not run an actual Android-based Super Nintendo emulator instead? Less complexity, better battery life, and no jumping through hoops.


ZSNES has the highest percentage of game compatibility. Snes9x comes pretty close, and does have an android port, but it's still a bit short of ZSNES.


Wrong. Snes9x has the higher compatibility, not sure where you got that information from. Snes9x is second only to Higan in terms of no. of games launched, Zsnes is dead last. But okay. Not sure
where you've been, but Zsnes is ten years old, Snes9x 1.54.1 is only two months old, and has Byuu's S-SMP/DSP core, I think you got that backwards.

_________________
"Just because I don't LISTEN doesn't mean I don't CARE!" -Homer Simpson


Thu Feb 16, 2017 11:51 pm
Profile WWW
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4161
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
What he said. ZSNES and SNES9x used to be neck and neck, but time moves on. At this point ZSNES is like NESticle: recommended based on info several years outta date.

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


Fri Feb 17, 2017 1:56 am
Profile
Sir Robin the Not-Quite-So-Brave-As-Sir-Lancelot

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 415
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
What he said. ZSNES and SNES9x used to be neck and neck, but time moves on. At this point ZSNES is like NESticle: recommended based on info several years outta date.


I've done many empirical tests to prove how superior Snes9x but people hold on to Zsnes like Internet Explorer 6; ambiguous, popular, but horrendously outdated.

_________________
"Just because I don't LISTEN doesn't mean I don't CARE!" -Homer Simpson


Fri Feb 17, 2017 2:39 am
Profile WWW
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4161
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
nintendo_nerd wrote:
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
What he said. ZSNES and SNES9x used to be neck and neck, but time moves on. At this point ZSNES is like NESticle: recommended based on info several years outta date.


I've done many empirical tests to prove how superior Snes9x but people hold on to Zsnes like Internet Explorer 6; ambiguous, popular, but horrendously outdated.

ZSNES is still my favorite. It isn't what I use to run games usually, but I like it best.

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


Fri Feb 17, 2017 6:18 am
Profile
Official tech support dood

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:57 am
Posts: 2060
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
ZSNES is still my favorite. It isn't what I use to run games usually, but I like it best.

agreed on both counts.

_________________
Why yes, my shift key *IS* broken.


Fri Feb 17, 2017 2:17 pm
Profile
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:07 am
Posts: 220
Location: NH, USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
odditude wrote:
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
ZSNES is still my favorite. It isn't what I use to run games usually, but I like it best.

agreed on both counts.

me too I only use ZSNES to play SNES games these days... I haven't bothered to setup my actual SNES anymore it just sits in an old box collecting dust loi :wink:

_________________
(PC Specs)
CPU: AMD FX-9590 4.7GHz 8-core
CPU Instructions: MMX(+), SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, SSE4.2, SSE4A, x86-64, AMD-V, AES, AVX, XOP, FMA3, FMA4
Motherboard: Asus SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0
GPU: nVidia GTX 750Ti SC 2GB
GFX Drivers: Nvidia v384.94
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
RAM: 16GB Kingston 1866MHz DDR3

Favorite Emulators:
PS2 : PCSX2 (Auto-Builds)
SNES : ZSNES
N64 : Project64

ZSNES:
v1.51 (FuSoYa's 8MB fix R2)(Compiled Myself)


Fri Feb 17, 2017 6:41 pm
Profile WWW
Official tech support dood

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:57 am
Posts: 2060
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
joe_devore wrote:
odditude wrote:
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
ZSNES is still my favorite. It isn't what I use to run games usually, but I like it best.

agreed on both counts.

me too I only use ZSNES to play SNES games these days... I haven't bothered to setup my actual SNES anymore it just sits in an old box collecting dust loi :wink:

...that is not what either Gil or I said.

_________________
Why yes, my shift key *IS* broken.


Sat Feb 18, 2017 12:37 am
Profile
Sir Robin the Not-Quite-So-Brave-As-Sir-Lancelot

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 415
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
nintendo_nerd wrote:
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
What he said. ZSNES and SNES9x used to be neck and neck, but time moves on. At this point ZSNES is like NESticle: recommended based on info several years outta date.


I've done many empirical tests to prove how superior Snes9x but people hold on to Zsnes like Internet Explorer 6; ambiguous, popular, but horrendously outdated.

ZSNES is still my favorite. It isn't what I use to run games usually, but I like it best.


Your poor ears and the inaccurate sound tho, my condolences :mrgreen:

_________________
"Just because I don't LISTEN doesn't mean I don't CARE!" -Homer Simpson


Sun Feb 26, 2017 4:37 am
Profile WWW
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4161
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
nintendo_nerd wrote:
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
nintendo_nerd wrote:
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
What he said. ZSNES and SNES9x used to be neck and neck, but time moves on. At this point ZSNES is like NESticle: recommended based on info several years outta date.


I've done many empirical tests to prove how superior Snes9x but people hold on to Zsnes like Internet Explorer 6; ambiguous, popular, but horrendously outdated.

ZSNES is still my favorite. It isn't what I use to run games usually, but I like it best.


Your poor ears and the inaccurate sound tho, my condolences :mrgreen:

"It isn't what I use to run games usually"

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


Sun Feb 26, 2017 5:08 am
Profile
Sir Robin the Not-Quite-So-Brave-As-Sir-Lancelot

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 415
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
nintendo_nerd wrote:
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
nintendo_nerd wrote:
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
What he said. ZSNES and SNES9x used to be neck and neck, but time moves on. At this point ZSNES is like NESticle: recommended based on info several years outta date.


I've done many empirical tests to prove how superior Snes9x but people hold on to Zsnes like Internet Explorer 6; ambiguous, popular, but horrendously outdated.

ZSNES is still my favorite. It isn't what I use to run games usually, but I like it best.


Your poor ears and the inaccurate sound tho, my condolences :mrgreen:

"It isn't what I use to run games usually"


I still find it funny that people think it's better than Snes9x XD.

_________________
"Just because I don't LISTEN doesn't mean I don't CARE!" -Homer Simpson


Mon Feb 27, 2017 8:59 pm
Profile WWW
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:07 am
Posts: 220
Location: NH, USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
nintendo_nerd wrote:
I still find it funny that people think it's better than Snes9x XD.


I find I really don't like Snes9x... just opening it was enough to steal some file extensions... and I have not been able to edit and remove them...
I use a program called Types to edit file type associations...
http://ystr.github.io/apps/types/

ZSNES forever :mrgreen: loi :wink:

_________________
(PC Specs)
CPU: AMD FX-9590 4.7GHz 8-core
CPU Instructions: MMX(+), SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, SSE4.2, SSE4A, x86-64, AMD-V, AES, AVX, XOP, FMA3, FMA4
Motherboard: Asus SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0
GPU: nVidia GTX 750Ti SC 2GB
GFX Drivers: Nvidia v384.94
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
RAM: 16GB Kingston 1866MHz DDR3

Favorite Emulators:
PS2 : PCSX2 (Auto-Builds)
SNES : ZSNES
N64 : Project64

ZSNES:
v1.51 (FuSoYa's 8MB fix R2)(Compiled Myself)


Mon Feb 27, 2017 9:44 pm
Profile WWW
Sir Robin the Not-Quite-So-Brave-As-Sir-Lancelot

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 415
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
joe_devore wrote:
nintendo_nerd wrote:
I still find it funny that people think it's better than Snes9x XD.


I find I really don't like Snes9x... just opening it was enough to steal some file extensions... and I have not been able to edit and remove them...
I use a program called Types to edit file type associations...
http://ystr.github.io/apps/types/

ZSNES forever :mrgreen: loi :wink:


You can fix file associations in Windows 7 easily. Good luck playing Earthworm Jim 2 with sound effects, which are completely missing.
Or ZMZ, Snes9x core running in a Zsnes GUI.

But who am I kidding, I never convinced anyone before, no point in me trying to show my side over here.

_________________
"Just because I don't LISTEN doesn't mean I don't CARE!" -Homer Simpson


Wed Mar 01, 2017 3:35 am
Profile WWW
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:07 am
Posts: 220
Location: NH, USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
nintendo_nerd wrote:
You can fix file associations in Windows 7 easily. Good luck playing Earthworm Jim 2 with sound effects, which are completely missing.
Or ZMZ, Snes9x core running in a Zsnes GUI.

But who am I kidding, I never convinced anyone before, no point in me trying to show my side over here.

SNES9X.. should be avoided like the plague! :evil:
as there does not appear as anyway to reverse what SNES9X has done...
short of manually hacking the registry one type at a time...

_________________
(PC Specs)
CPU: AMD FX-9590 4.7GHz 8-core
CPU Instructions: MMX(+), SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, SSE4.2, SSE4A, x86-64, AMD-V, AES, AVX, XOP, FMA3, FMA4
Motherboard: Asus SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0
GPU: nVidia GTX 750Ti SC 2GB
GFX Drivers: Nvidia v384.94
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
RAM: 16GB Kingston 1866MHz DDR3

Favorite Emulators:
PS2 : PCSX2 (Auto-Builds)
SNES : ZSNES
N64 : Project64

ZSNES:
v1.51 (FuSoYa's 8MB fix R2)(Compiled Myself)


Wed Mar 01, 2017 3:49 am
Profile WWW
Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:31 am
Posts: 1115
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
Not like anything can magically change your system-wide associations... on Windows Vista and above, if you have UAC enabled. Per-user associations may still be meddled with on up to 8.1. On Windows 10, nothing can meddle with associations directly, only announce an intent to support specific formats, and let the user decide the first time they open a particular extension.


Wed Mar 01, 2017 6:14 am
Profile WWW
Official tech support dood

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:57 am
Posts: 2060
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
joe_devore wrote:
nintendo_nerd wrote:
You can fix file associations in Windows 7 easily. Good luck playing Earthworm Jim 2 with sound effects, which are completely missing.
Or ZMZ, Snes9x core running in a Zsnes GUI.

But who am I kidding, I never convinced anyone before, no point in me trying to show my side over here.

SNES9X.. should be avoided like the plague! :evil:
as there does not appear as anyway to reverse what SNES9X has done...
short of manually hacking the registry one type at a time...

that issue was fixed years ago in the testbuilds, and is not present in the current official release.

_________________
Why yes, my shift key *IS* broken.


Wed Mar 01, 2017 2:56 pm
Profile
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:07 am
Posts: 220
Location: NH, USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
odditude wrote:
joe_devore wrote:
nintendo_nerd wrote:
You can fix file associations in Windows 7 easily. Good luck playing Earthworm Jim 2 with sound effects, which are completely missing.
Or ZMZ, Snes9x core running in a Zsnes GUI.

But who am I kidding, I never convinced anyone before, no point in me trying to show my side over here.

SNES9X.. should be avoided like the plague! :evil:
as there does not appear as anyway to reverse what SNES9X has done...
short of manually hacking the registry one type at a time...

that issue was fixed years ago in the testbuilds, and is not present in the current official release.

:evil: :lol: yeah it is... I always keep my files up to date, so I have the latest SNES9X files v1.54.1 x86 and x64 files even though I don't use them loi.. both do it..

_________________
(PC Specs)
CPU: AMD FX-9590 4.7GHz 8-core
CPU Instructions: MMX(+), SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, SSE4.2, SSE4A, x86-64, AMD-V, AES, AVX, XOP, FMA3, FMA4
Motherboard: Asus SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0
GPU: nVidia GTX 750Ti SC 2GB
GFX Drivers: Nvidia v384.94
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
RAM: 16GB Kingston 1866MHz DDR3

Favorite Emulators:
PS2 : PCSX2 (Auto-Builds)
SNES : ZSNES
N64 : Project64

ZSNES:
v1.51 (FuSoYa's 8MB fix R2)(Compiled Myself)


Wed Mar 01, 2017 4:02 pm
Profile WWW
Sir Robin the Not-Quite-So-Brave-As-Sir-Lancelot

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 415
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
joe_devore wrote:
odditude wrote:
joe_devore wrote:
nintendo_nerd wrote:
You can fix file associations in Windows 7 easily. Good luck playing Earthworm Jim 2 with sound effects, which are completely missing.
Or ZMZ, Snes9x core running in a Zsnes GUI.

But who am I kidding, I never convinced anyone before, no point in me trying to show my side over here.

SNES9X.. should be avoided like the plague! :evil:
as there does not appear as anyway to reverse what SNES9X has done...
short of manually hacking the registry one type at a time...

that issue was fixed years ago in the testbuilds, and is not present in the current official release.

:evil: :lol: yeah it is... I always keep my files up to date, so I have the latest SNES9X files v1.54.1 x86 and x64 files even though I don't use them loi.. both do it..


Funny, that doesn't happen on my end using Windows 7. You must be doing something wrong on your end, and for the record, Zsnes can't
even run Earthworm Jim 2 with sound effects, Star Ocean runs too fast, there's no hi-res mode 7 transparencies and also that it's not really
supported lol



http://emulation-general.wikia.com/wiki/ZSNES

Square Enix games still sound like garbage on Zsnes :lol: Blargg's S-SMP (sound core) is cycle accurate 1:1 to real hardware.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LbgXNx2q4ic
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jq7_6R_cvgw

_________________
"Just because I don't LISTEN doesn't mean I don't CARE!" -Homer Simpson


Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:23 am
Profile WWW
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:07 am
Posts: 220
Location: NH, USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
nintendo_nerd wrote:
joe_devore wrote:
odditude wrote:
joe_devore wrote:
nintendo_nerd wrote:
You can fix file associations in Windows 7 easily. Good luck playing Earthworm Jim 2 with sound effects, which are completely missing.
Or ZMZ, Snes9x core running in a Zsnes GUI.

But who am I kidding, I never convinced anyone before, no point in me trying to show my side over here.

SNES9X.. should be avoided like the plague! :evil:
as there does not appear as anyway to reverse what SNES9X has done...
short of manually hacking the registry one type at a time...

that issue was fixed years ago in the testbuilds, and is not present in the current official release.

:evil: :lol: yeah it is... I always keep my files up to date, so I have the latest SNES9X files v1.54.1 x86 and x64 files even though I don't use them loi.. both do it..


Funny, that doesn't happen on my end using Windows 7. You must be doing something wrong on your end, and for the record, Zsnes can't
even run Earthworm Jim 2 with sound effects, Star Ocean runs too fast, there's no hi-res mode 7 transparencies and also that it's not really
supported lol



http://emulation-general.wikia.com/wiki/ZSNES

Square Enix games still sound like garbage on Zsnes :lol: Blargg's S-SMP (sound core) is cycle accurate 1:1 to real hardware.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LbgXNx2q4ic
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jq7_6R_cvgw


lol... ok if u say so

but uh all I had to do was open/run SNES9X and that changed the file types associations...

_________________
(PC Specs)
CPU: AMD FX-9590 4.7GHz 8-core
CPU Instructions: MMX(+), SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, SSE4.2, SSE4A, x86-64, AMD-V, AES, AVX, XOP, FMA3, FMA4
Motherboard: Asus SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0
GPU: nVidia GTX 750Ti SC 2GB
GFX Drivers: Nvidia v384.94
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
RAM: 16GB Kingston 1866MHz DDR3

Favorite Emulators:
PS2 : PCSX2 (Auto-Builds)
SNES : ZSNES
N64 : Project64

ZSNES:
v1.51 (FuSoYa's 8MB fix R2)(Compiled Myself)


Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:43 am
Profile WWW
Official tech support dood

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:57 am
Posts: 2060
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
nintendo_nerd wrote:
joe_devore wrote:
odditude wrote:
joe_devore wrote:
nintendo_nerd wrote:
You can fix file associations in Windows 7 easily. Good luck playing Earthworm Jim 2 with sound effects, which are completely missing.
Or ZMZ, Snes9x core running in a Zsnes GUI.

But who am I kidding, I never convinced anyone before, no point in me trying to show my side over here.

SNES9X.. should be avoided like the plague! :evil:
as there does not appear as anyway to reverse what SNES9X has done...
short of manually hacking the registry one type at a time...

that issue was fixed years ago in the testbuilds, and is not present in the current official release.

:evil: :lol: yeah it is... I always keep my files up to date, so I have the latest SNES9X files v1.54.1 x86 and x64 files even though I don't use them loi.. both do it..


Funny, that doesn't happen on my end using Windows 7. You must be doing something wrong on your end [snip]
no, it was a documented issue in snes9x. snes9x uses a text file (Valid.ext) to define the file filters it uses in the ROM load dialog, a list which includes file with no extension.

unfortunately, snes9x also attempted to register itself as the default handler for all such filetypes. such ill-advised behavior has since been changed.

_________________
Why yes, my shift key *IS* broken.


Thu Mar 02, 2017 3:11 pm
Profile
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:07 am
Posts: 220
Location: NH, USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
this is what I found in the vaild.ext file
    N
    smcN
    zipY
    gzY
    swcN
    figN
    058N
    078N
    japN
    usaN
    048N
    eurN
    sfcN
    1N
    mgdN
    ufoN
    binN
    gd3N
    mghN
    gd7N
    ausN
    dx2N
    aN
    jmaY

what a bother.... u mentioned it since been changed... no not as far as I can tell... that last version v1.54.1 still does it at least for me it seems to be the case... or I in what way has it been changed?

_________________
(PC Specs)
CPU: AMD FX-9590 4.7GHz 8-core
CPU Instructions: MMX(+), SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, SSE4.2, SSE4A, x86-64, AMD-V, AES, AVX, XOP, FMA3, FMA4
Motherboard: Asus SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0
GPU: nVidia GTX 750Ti SC 2GB
GFX Drivers: Nvidia v384.94
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
RAM: 16GB Kingston 1866MHz DDR3

Favorite Emulators:
PS2 : PCSX2 (Auto-Builds)
SNES : ZSNES
N64 : Project64

ZSNES:
v1.51 (FuSoYa's 8MB fix R2)(Compiled Myself)


Thu Mar 02, 2017 4:05 pm
Profile WWW
Sir Robin the Not-Quite-So-Brave-As-Sir-Lancelot

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 415
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
joe_devore wrote:
this is what I found in the vaild.ext file
    N
    smcN
    zipY
    gzY
    swcN
    figN
    058N
    078N
    japN
    usaN
    048N
    eurN
    sfcN
    1N
    mgdN
    ufoN
    binN
    gd3N
    mghN
    gd7N
    ausN
    dx2N
    aN
    jmaY

what a bother.... u mentioned it since been changed... no not as far as I can tell... that last version v1.54.1 still does it at least for me it seems to be the case... or I in what way has it been changed?


Or use this http://helpdeskgeek.com/windows-7/remov ... windows-7/ and remove the associated program with the file types. It doesn't do that by default, it was something you did on your end.

_________________
"Just because I don't LISTEN doesn't mean I don't CARE!" -Homer Simpson


Thu Mar 02, 2017 6:19 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.