View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Feb 24, 2017 4:37 am



Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Running ZSNES On Android 
Author Message
New Member

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 8:30 pm
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Running ZSNES On Android
I know this topic has been broached before, but this is not a "zsnes 4 android plzkthxbai!!11" thread. This is a discussion on how to make things work. (Hence "running" in the subject, and not specifically "port")

Firstly, I've seen mentioned in other threads that doing an android port would be extremely difficult. Despite this, there is already a Linux port, and essentially Android IS Linux. So why not use that port as the basis for an android port?

That aside, let's say an android port is impossible and will never come to exist. While a direct port would obviously be the optimal way to play zsnes (btw i'm too stupid to learn the name of the emulator) on android, it is by no means the only option. ZSNES was originally designed to run on computers with significantly inferior specs to the average android device in 2017. As such, there is enough of a gap that we could simply emulate the type of hardware ZSNES requires. Ie. simply design a loader to run ZSNES on android by either interpolating between the hardware in an android device and the hardware ZSNES is looking for, or through a shell of Windows, DOS, or Linux.

Using a shell is a method that just about any user can go with right now. There's already a port of DosBox for android, so you can just run the DOS version of ZSNES on android with that. Currently there are old DOS games available on Steam, (and probably other sources), that are packed with a DOSBox loader that the developers setup to automatically run the game through DosBox when you click the game's shortcut. All it takes to set this up is a little batch macro.

These other options are certainly inefficient compared to a direct port, (particularly the option of using shells), but I believe there's enough horsepower in today's android devices to still run ZSNES smoothly this way.


Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:06 pm
Profile
Official tech support dood

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:57 am
Posts: 2056
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
...but why? i can't think of a single practical purpose for this - only for novelty reasons.

_________________
Why yes, my shift key *IS* broken.


Thu Feb 16, 2017 3:15 am
Profile
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4142
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
Startropic1 wrote:
I know this topic has been broached before, but this is not a "zsnes 4 android plzkthxbai!!11" thread. This is a discussion on how to make things work. (Hence "running" in the subject, and not specifically "port")

Firstly, I've seen mentioned in other threads that doing an android port would be extremely difficult. Despite this, there is already a Linux port, and essentially Android IS Linux. So why not use that port as the basis for an android port?

Because the Linux version still requires an x86 processor. It won't run on Linux for ARM, PowerPC, SPARC, or any other processor.
ZSNES contains large swaths of non-portable assembly code that only works on x86 processors. Very few phones contain such parts. THAT is the problem.


Quote:
That aside, let's say an android port is impossible and will never come to exist. While a direct port would obviously be the optimal way to play zsnes (btw i'm too stupid to learn the name of the emulator) on android, it is by no means the only option. ZSNES was originally designed to run on computers with significantly inferior specs to the average android device in 2017. As such, there is enough of a gap that we could simply emulate the type of hardware ZSNES requires. Ie. simply design a loader to run ZSNES on android by either interpolating between the hardware in an android device and the hardware ZSNES is looking for, or through a shell of Windows, DOS, or Linux.

Using a shell is a method that just about any user can go with right now. There's already a port of DosBox for android, so you can just run the DOS version of ZSNES on android with that. Currently there are old DOS games available on Steam, (and probably other sources), that are packed with a DOSBox loader that the developers setup to automatically run the game through DosBox when you click the game's shortcut. All it takes to set this up is a little batch macro.

These other options are certainly inefficient compared to a direct port, (particularly the option of using shells), but I believe there's enough horsepower in today's android devices to still run ZSNES smoothly this way.

Yes, you could run ZSNES through DOSBox, but... why not run an actual Android-based Super Nintendo emulator instead? Less complexity, better battery life, and no jumping through hoops.

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


Thu Feb 16, 2017 6:17 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 8:30 pm
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
Yes, you could run ZSNES through DOSBox, but... why not run an actual Android-based Super Nintendo emulator instead? Less complexity, better battery life, and no jumping through hoops.


ZSNES has the highest percentage of game compatibility. Snes9x comes pretty close, and does have an android port, but it's still a bit short of ZSNES.


Thu Feb 16, 2017 10:24 pm
Profile
Sir Robin the Not-Quite-So-Brave-As-Sir-Lancelot

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 407
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
Startropic1 wrote:
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
Yes, you could run ZSNES through DOSBox, but... why not run an actual Android-based Super Nintendo emulator instead? Less complexity, better battery life, and no jumping through hoops.


ZSNES has the highest percentage of game compatibility. Snes9x comes pretty close, and does have an android port, but it's still a bit short of ZSNES.


Wrong. Snes9x has the higher compatibility, not sure where you got that information from. Snes9x is second only to Higan in terms of no. of games launched, Zsnes is dead last. But okay. Not sure
where you've been, but Zsnes is ten years old, Snes9x 1.54.1 is only two months old, and has Byuu's S-SMP/DSP core, I think you got that backwards.

_________________
"Just because I don't LISTEN doesn't mean I don't CARE!" -Homer Simpson


Thu Feb 16, 2017 11:51 pm
Profile WWW
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4142
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
What he said. ZSNES and SNES9x used to be neck and neck, but time moves on. At this point ZSNES is like NESticle: recommended based on info several years outta date.

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


Fri Feb 17, 2017 1:56 am
Profile
Sir Robin the Not-Quite-So-Brave-As-Sir-Lancelot

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 407
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
What he said. ZSNES and SNES9x used to be neck and neck, but time moves on. At this point ZSNES is like NESticle: recommended based on info several years outta date.


I've done many empirical tests to prove how superior Snes9x but people hold on to Zsnes like Internet Explorer 6; ambiguous, popular, but horrendously outdated.

_________________
"Just because I don't LISTEN doesn't mean I don't CARE!" -Homer Simpson


Fri Feb 17, 2017 2:39 am
Profile WWW
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4142
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
nintendo_nerd wrote:
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
What he said. ZSNES and SNES9x used to be neck and neck, but time moves on. At this point ZSNES is like NESticle: recommended based on info several years outta date.


I've done many empirical tests to prove how superior Snes9x but people hold on to Zsnes like Internet Explorer 6; ambiguous, popular, but horrendously outdated.

ZSNES is still my favorite. It isn't what I use to run games usually, but I like it best.

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


Fri Feb 17, 2017 6:18 am
Profile
Official tech support dood

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:57 am
Posts: 2056
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
ZSNES is still my favorite. It isn't what I use to run games usually, but I like it best.

agreed on both counts.

_________________
Why yes, my shift key *IS* broken.


Fri Feb 17, 2017 2:17 pm
Profile
Lurker
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:07 am
Posts: 190
Location: NH, USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
odditude wrote:
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
ZSNES is still my favorite. It isn't what I use to run games usually, but I like it best.

agreed on both counts.

me too I only use ZSNES to play SNES games these days... I haven't bothered to setup my actual SNES anymore it just sits in an old box collecting dust loi :wink:

_________________
(PC Specs)
CPU: AMD FX-9590 4.7GHz 8-core
CPU Instructions: MMX(+), SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, SSE4.2, SSE4A, x86-64, AMD-V, AES, AVX, XOP, FMA3, FMA4
Motherboard: Asus SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0
GPU: nVidia GTX 750Ti SC 2GB
GFX Drivers: Nvidia v378.66
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
RAM: 16GB Kingston 1866MHz DDR3

Favorite Emulators:
PS2 : PCSX2 (Auto-Builds)
SNES : ZSNES
N64 : Project64

ZSNES:
v1.51 (FuSoYa's 8MB fix R2)(Compiled Myself)


Fri Feb 17, 2017 6:41 pm
Profile WWW
Official tech support dood

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:57 am
Posts: 2056
Reply with quote
Post Re: Running ZSNES On Android
joe_devore wrote:
odditude wrote:
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
ZSNES is still my favorite. It isn't what I use to run games usually, but I like it best.

agreed on both counts.

me too I only use ZSNES to play SNES games these days... I haven't bothered to setup my actual SNES anymore it just sits in an old box collecting dust loi :wink:

...that is not what either Gil or I said.

_________________
Why yes, my shift key *IS* broken.


Sat Feb 18, 2017 12:37 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.