View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Dec 12, 2019 2:13 pm



Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Custom soundtracks replacing SPC music keeping sound FX 
Author Message
New Member

Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 4:43 am
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post Custom soundtracks replacing SPC music keeping sound FX
If it's been discussed, I'm sorry. I wasn't able to find it.

The idea is to take the fingerprint of each chunk of background music and assign it to instead play a digital music file. For example, playing a Pantera MP3 while thrashing a course in FZero.

The sound effects would still play, of course, so it's not like disabling sound and cranking the MP3. While that is easier than coding, the music doesn't change with the game.

Based on what tracks I've heard at OCRemix, it's a shame such a function hasn't been added already. That, and the fact I've yet to see someone take an SPC700 module from a broken SNES and interface it with a PC. I could be speaking too soon, though. I wish I was.


Sun Jan 18, 2009 5:02 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
That's not going to work. Music from the SPC tends to be dynamic, like in SMW while getting on and off Yoshi.

The short answer is no.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sun Jan 18, 2009 5:12 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
Additionally, sound effects can be mixed in with the music, so you can't just "separate" the two.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sun Jan 18, 2009 5:19 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 4:43 am
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post 
Thanks for the reply.

Why not just ignore the minor changes such as mount and dismount of Yoshi?

I mean, using SMW as an example: map, outdoor, underground, ghost house, castle and boss fight music are all different.

I don't understand the SPC700 all that well, but there has to be a set of commands to say "okay, Mario is riding Yoshi. Add the bongos."


Sun Jan 18, 2009 5:24 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 4:43 am
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post 
Deathlike2 wrote:
Additionally, sound effects can be mixed in with the music, so you can't just "separate" the two.


Sure you can. If you know what you're looking for in order to allow or disallow it. That's the part that could be incredibly tedious to map out.


Sun Jan 18, 2009 5:27 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
I'm not sure you paid attention to the word dynamic.

This includes fading in songs, and other examples that I can't think off the top of my head. You're assuming things are static, but that simply isn't the case.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sun Jan 18, 2009 5:31 am
Profile
Gecko snack

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Posts: 2372
Location: Australia, QLD
Reply with quote
Post 
each game handles music differently, so one method working in one game, wont in another.

_________________
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64


Sun Jan 18, 2009 5:46 am
Profile WWW
Hazed
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 1:31 pm
Posts: 52
Reply with quote
Post 
More explicitly for those that "don't know much about the SPC700" in laymans terms: It's an entire CPU, with an assembly language it's programmed with and the ability to talk with the main CPU on the SNES. It's why SPC files exist, they're emulating the SPC700 from a given fixed state in the past. It's also why SPC files don't(didn't?) work for some things like Tales of Phantasia songs very well, because some games dynamically keep re-uploading new data to the SPC700 from the main cartridge.

It's not a 'dumb audio buffer' the main game uploads to, nor is it a simple 'play music track X from this buffer' thing. It's a more-or-less fully programable computer on par with, say, the C64 but geared entirely around audio output.

_________________
Image


Sun Jan 18, 2009 6:15 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 4:43 am
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post 
Deathlike2 wrote:
I'm not sure you paid attention to the word dynamic.

This includes fading in songs, and other examples that I can't think off the top of my head. You're assuming things are static, but that simply isn't the case.


I know the difference. Just not the implementation, though I'd have liked to up to now. No big deal.

Looks like anyone with this in mind would essentially be porting the game to a different platform with a new game engine. Hard to like any game enough for that.


Sun Jan 18, 2009 6:32 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 4:43 am
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post 
WolfWings wrote:
More explicitly for those that "don't know much about the SPC700" in laymans terms: It's an entire CPU, with an assembly language it's programmed with and the ability to talk with the main CPU on the SNES. It's why SPC files exist, they're emulating the SPC700 from a given fixed state in the past. It's also why SPC files don't(didn't?) work for some things like Tales of Phantasia songs very well, because some games dynamically keep re-uploading new data to the SPC700 from the main cartridge.

It's not a 'dumb audio buffer' the main game uploads to, nor is it a simple 'play music track X from this buffer' thing. It's a more-or-less fully programable computer on par with, say, the C64 but geared entirely around audio output.


Now this is what I was looking for and it makes a lot more sense now. All posts should be this helpful.

Righty-right me droogies.


Sun Jan 18, 2009 6:36 am
Profile
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Posts: 5616
Location: PAL50, dood !
Reply with quote
Post 
WolfWings wrote:
It's also why SPC files don't(didn't?) work for some things like Tales of Phantasia songs very well

There's only one such track in ToP.
The rest were just tough to dump because the samples aren't all uploaded at the first keyon, which is used to detect tune beginning (and spc dump). Fortunately caitsith2 RE'd the code and found the 'start pointers' of sort - so you can dump the spc in the middle (after all the samples are up in the spcram) and rewind the tune by altering this value.
However, other games have all tunes need constant interaction with the 5a22, like lost vikings iinm.

_________________
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Code:
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54


Sun Jan 18, 2009 9:47 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.