View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Oct 20, 2019 3:03 am



Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound core? 
Author Message
New Member

Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 7:00 am
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound core?
I mean, I'm just sayin' that this should be done, as it is as close to a better sound core for a ZSNES release as we're going to get, as 1.53 won't be seeing the light of the day soon, and 2.0 is pretty much like a myth at this point. Oh yeah, I'm new here, BUT I have been using this emulator for a long time, and I have always wanted to see it with a better sound core, so I just wanted to see if anyone has ever bothered with this task.

p.s. On an unrelated note, you can find me at starmen.net forums. I made the Radiation's EarthBound Halloween Hack Redone, of which my custom title screen I put in it was featured in a MatPat (The Game Theorists) video only a few days after I initially released the thing. My starmen account (will list in my sig later) can be found here.


Sun May 15, 2016 7:23 am
Profile
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4247
Reply with quote
Post Re: Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound cor
Why not just use a better emulator? You know, so you get emulation improvements on all fronts instead of just sound.

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


KHDownloads


Mon May 16, 2016 3:10 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 7:00 am
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Re: Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound cor
Umm...
I really like ZSNES, and I only have a tick with its sound core. Everything else is fine.


Tue May 17, 2016 6:59 am
Profile
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Posts: 3534
Location: Nokia Land
Reply with quote
Post Re: Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound cor
the_ally235 wrote:
Everything else is fine.

No, everything else is not really fine at all. Just because you can't see the issues clearly, doesn't mean that they aren't there.

Just use something like Snes9x or Higan for now, you'll be much happier.

_________________
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image


Tue May 17, 2016 10:23 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 7:00 am
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Re: Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound cor
I could tell with that as well. And I do sometimes use Snes9x, but the thing that bothers me with that is having to get the cheats from one rom over to another for that emulator. And some things that it has on it bothers me sometimes. Also, if someone modified ZSNES to support 8 MB roms now, can't we just have someone change its sound core so the sound isn't so... weird...

Eh, but I guess we'll just have to wait for the official release of v1.53 or whatever.


Sat May 21, 2016 7:48 pm
Profile
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4247
Reply with quote
Post Re: Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound cor
the_ally235 wrote:
I could tell with that as well. And I do sometimes use Snes9x, but the thing that bothers me with that is having to get the cheats from one rom over to another for that emulator. And some things that it has on it bothers me sometimes. Also, if someone modified ZSNES to support 8 MB roms now, can't we just have someone change its sound core so the sound isn't so... weird...

Eh, but I guess we'll just have to wait for the official release of v1.53 or whatever.

Be nice if someone modified it to have something resembling accurate timing, too. And to block illegal VRAM writes. And to... etc etc

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


KHDownloads


Sun May 22, 2016 5:50 am
Profile
Sir Robin the Not-Quite-So-Brave-As-Sir-Lancelot

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 442
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound cor
There's always that version of Snes9x that uses a Libretro code with a Zsnes GUI, called ZMZ I think.

_________________
"Just because I don't LISTEN doesn't mean I don't CARE!" -Homer Simpson


Sun May 22, 2016 7:32 am
Profile WWW
Rookie

Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 1:56 am
Posts: 13
Reply with quote
Post Re: Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound cor
the_ally235 wrote:
I could tell with that as well. And I do sometimes use Snes9x, but the thing that bothers me with that is having to get the cheats from one rom over to another for that emulator. And some things that it has on it bothers me sometimes. Also, if someone modified ZSNES to support 8 MB roms now, can't we just have someone change its sound core so the sound isn't so... weird...

Eh, but I guess we'll just have to wait for the official release of v1.53 or whatever.


there's a special FuSoYa version of ZSNES from his web site that supports 8Mb snes roms (released Dec. 25, 2015). I use that version of zsnes on most of my Windows PCs instead of the normal zsnes versions.


Tue May 24, 2016 12:20 am
Profile
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4247
Reply with quote
Post Re: Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound cor
epman6 wrote:
the_ally235 wrote:
I could tell with that as well. And I do sometimes use Snes9x, but the thing that bothers me with that is having to get the cheats from one rom over to another for that emulator. And some things that it has on it bothers me sometimes. Also, if someone modified ZSNES to support 8 MB roms now, can't we just have someone change its sound core so the sound isn't so... weird...

Eh, but I guess we'll just have to wait for the official release of v1.53 or whatever.


there's a special FuSoYa version of ZSNES from his web site that supports 8Mb snes roms (released Dec. 25, 2015). I use that version of zsnes on most of my Windows PCs instead of the normal zsnes versions.

Hooray for propping up glitchy emulators and encouraging their use in new software development!

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


KHDownloads


Tue May 24, 2016 2:16 am
Profile
Zealot

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 8:36 pm
Posts: 1142
Location: Place.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound cor
It's like Nesticle in 2016. The more things change, the more they stay the same...

_________________
Procrastination.
Hard Work Often Pays Off After Time, but Laziness Always Pays Off Now.


Wed May 25, 2016 3:39 pm
Profile
Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 2:01 am
Posts: 1076
Reply with quote
Post Re: Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound cor
The SMW ROM hacking community has quite a bit of legacy cruft, including specific hacks but also tools that people probably still use, which depends on zsnes.

_________________
Maybe these people were born without that part of their brain that lets you try different things to see if they work better. --Retsupurae


Wed May 25, 2016 7:17 pm
Profile WWW
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4247
Reply with quote
Post Re: Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound cor
paulguy wrote:
The SMW ROM hacking community has quite a bit of legacy cruft, including specific hacks but also tools that people probably still use, which depends on zsnes.

And attempts to wean people off them and migrate them to doing things that actually work on a Super Nintendo just result in a lot of bitching about how ZSNES is the better emulator and everyone is a bunch of self-important haters.

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


KHDownloads


Wed May 25, 2016 11:39 pm
Profile
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:07 am
Posts: 251
Location: NH, USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound cor
I love ZSNES ^_^ :mrgreen: and will always prefer it..
I don't really like SNES9x much... :(

_________________
(PC Specs)
CPU: AMD FX-9590 4.7GHz 8-core
CPU Instructions: MMX(+), SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, SSE4.2, SSE4A, x86-64, AMD-V, AES, AVX, XOP, FMA3, FMA4
Motherboard: Asus SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0
GPU: nVidia GTX 1070 Ti 8GB
GFX Drivers: Nvidia v436.15
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
RAM: 32GB Kingston 1866MHz DDR3

Favorite Emulators:
PS2 : PCSX2 (Auto-Builds)
SNES : ZSNES
N64 : Project64

ZSNES:
v1.51 (FuSoYa's 8MB fix R2)(Compiled Myself)


Thu May 26, 2016 12:46 am
Profile WWW
Sir Robin the Not-Quite-So-Brave-As-Sir-Lancelot

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 442
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound cor
joe_devore wrote:
I love ZSNES ^_^ :mrgreen: and will always prefer it..
I don't really like SNES9x much... :(


Try ZMZ, it Snes9x with the Zsnes GUI, using Libretro cores, so it's the best of both worlds; Zsnes has horrendously inaccurate S-SMP emulation ><
http://www.smwcentral.net/?p=viewthread&t=67700

You can't even play Earthworm Jim 2 on Zsnes with full sound effects lol.

_________________
"Just because I don't LISTEN doesn't mean I don't CARE!" -Homer Simpson


Fri Jun 03, 2016 4:57 pm
Profile WWW
Zealot

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 8:36 pm
Posts: 1142
Location: Place.
Reply with quote
Post Re: Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound cor
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
paulguy wrote:
The SMW ROM hacking community has quite a bit of legacy cruft, including specific hacks but also tools that people probably still use, which depends on zsnes.

And attempts to wean people off them and migrate them to doing things that actually work on a Super Nintendo just result in a lot of bitching about how ZSNES is the better emulator and everyone is a bunch of self-important haters.

I stand corrected, it's worse than nesticle ever was.

_________________
Procrastination.
Hard Work Often Pays Off After Time, but Laziness Always Pays Off Now.


Sat Jun 04, 2016 5:09 pm
Profile
Sir Robin the Not-Quite-So-Brave-As-Sir-Lancelot

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 442
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound cor
blackmyst wrote:
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
paulguy wrote:
The SMW ROM hacking community has quite a bit of legacy cruft, including specific hacks but also tools that people probably still use, which depends on zsnes.

And attempts to wean people off them and migrate them to doing things that actually work on a Super Nintendo just result in a lot of bitching about how ZSNES is the better emulator and everyone is a bunch of self-important haters.

I stand corrected, it's worse than nesticle ever was.


That's one helluva accomplishment, and yeah, for a while, people on ROM hacking sites got all defensive because I compared Zsnes to Snes9x and Higan.

_________________
"Just because I don't LISTEN doesn't mean I don't CARE!" -Homer Simpson


Mon Jun 06, 2016 7:16 pm
Profile WWW
Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:31 am
Posts: 1140
Reply with quote
Post Re: Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound cor
Someone should totally take that ZSNES hack and publish it into some ROM hacks of actual games, and have it only trigger in ZSNES.


Tue Jun 07, 2016 1:08 am
Profile WWW
New Member

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 1:33 am
Posts: 6
Reply with quote
Post Re: Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound cor
nintendo_nerd wrote:

Try ZMZ, it Snes9x with the Zsnes GUI, using Libretro cores, so it's the best of both worlds; Zsnes has horrendously inaccurate S-SMP emulation ><
http://www.smwcentral.net/?p=viewthread&t=67700

You can't even play Earthworm Jim 2 on Zsnes with full sound effects lol.


I've read a lot of people saying that Snes9x has bad input lag, I don't know if there is any truth to that. They say Super Mario World suffers badly with lag that you notice even more if you've ever played the game on a real snes.


Tue Jun 07, 2016 1:49 am
Profile
Sir Robin the Not-Quite-So-Brave-As-Sir-Lancelot

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 442
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound cor
Stillmatic wrote:
nintendo_nerd wrote:

Try ZMZ, it Snes9x with the Zsnes GUI, using Libretro cores, so it's the best of both worlds; Zsnes has horrendously inaccurate S-SMP emulation ><
http://www.smwcentral.net/?p=viewthread&t=67700

You can't even play Earthworm Jim 2 on Zsnes with full sound effects lol.


I've read a lot of people saying that Snes9x has bad input lag, I don't know if there is any truth to that. They say Super Mario World suffers badly with lag that you notice even more if you've ever played the game on a real snes.


I personally never had that issue, I use an Xbox 360 controller without any issues, be that as it may, the amount is negligible. Snes9x shares the same S-SMP core Bsnes/Higan uses, which was programmed by Blargg, it's very accurate and spot on to the real machine IMHO. Oddly enough, injecting Earthworm Jim 2 into a Wii U virtual console ROM has the same issues as Zsnes, missing sound effects.

_________________
"Just because I don't LISTEN doesn't mean I don't CARE!" -Homer Simpson


Thu Jun 09, 2016 12:38 am
Profile WWW
New Member

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 1:33 am
Posts: 6
Reply with quote
Post Re: Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound cor
nintendo_nerd wrote:

I personally never had that issue, I use an Xbox 360 controller without any issues, be that as it may, the amount is negligible. Snes9x shares the same S-SMP core Bsnes/Higan uses, which was programmed by Blargg, it's very accurate and spot on to the real machine IMHO. Oddly enough, injecting Earthworm Jim 2 into a Wii U virtual console ROM has the same issues as Zsnes, missing sound effects.


Good to hear. Do you prefer using an Xbox 360 controller over a snes joypad? Do you think the snes pad would cause lag? So you can't see any difference between Snes9x and zsnes in regards to lag, btw I presume you have played SMW on a real snes?

The only game I've tried on zsnes is Super Probotector and I did notice some of the sound effects being off. I've owned the Earthworm Jim games since they were first released but I don't remember the second one other then it having a bit of Beethoven music lol.


Wed Jun 15, 2016 1:12 am
Profile
Sir Robin the Not-Quite-So-Brave-As-Sir-Lancelot

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 442
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound cor
Stillmatic wrote:
nintendo_nerd wrote:

I personally never had that issue, I use an Xbox 360 controller without any issues, be that as it may, the amount is negligible. Snes9x shares the same S-SMP core Bsnes/Higan uses, which was programmed by Blargg, it's very accurate and spot on to the real machine IMHO. Oddly enough, injecting Earthworm Jim 2 into a Wii U virtual console ROM has the same issues as Zsnes, missing sound effects.


Good to hear. Do you prefer using an Xbox 360 controller over a snes joypad? Do you think the snes pad would cause lag? So you can't see any difference between Snes9x and zsnes in regards to lag, btw I presume you have played SMW on a real snes?

The only game I've tried on zsnes is Super Probotector and I did notice some of the sound effects being off. I've owned the Earthworm Jim games since they were first released but I don't remember the second one other then it having a bit of Beethoven music lol.


Not for a very long time, most my Snes games' batteries died out and I can't be arsed to order more and install them myself, too much trouble. There might be lag, but it's so minuscule to not make any difference. Snes9x isn't as bad as people say it is, and actually runs games at their properly-timed speeds, esp special chip games. I can't go back to Zsnes, the inaccurate audio is just...painful. Xbox 360 controller works fine.

_________________
"Just because I don't LISTEN doesn't mean I don't CARE!" -Homer Simpson


Thu Jun 16, 2016 11:47 pm
Profile WWW
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Posts: 5615
Location: PAL50, dood !
Reply with quote
Post Re: Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound cor
To answer the original question: Yes, we tried.
It didn't go as nicely as expected.
Tracking the causes led to the choice of rebuilding from scratch, and a minor peak in brain bleach stocks.

We got a build that output really good audio to a file. Cough. That was before other emus switched to blargg's core, btw.

_________________
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Code:
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54


Sun Jul 17, 2016 10:01 pm
Profile
can't make up their mind
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 7:51 pm
Posts: 79
Location: England
Reply with quote
Post Re: Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound cor
About the input lag discussion:

I notice it in the NTSC version of Super Mario Kart on Snes9x, and I use a keyboard to play (since PS3 controllers aren't natively supported by Windows, and I haven't bought an Xbox to USB cable yet). However in ZSNES, I barely noticed any input lag and generally have better Time Trial times in that emulator, so the input lag issue in Snes9x seriously needs to be addressed.

However discussing the issue here and not on the Snes9x forum isn't going to do much tbh. How many of you people are on the Snes9x forums, before I come and register there...

_________________
Dell XPS M1530 PP28L | Intel Core 2 Duo T7250 (2.00GhZ) | NVIDIA GeForce 8600M | 4GB RAM | Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit
Gaminable - sadly doesn't have a snazzy UI like ZSNES's


Sun Oct 30, 2016 11:07 am
Profile WWW
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4247
Reply with quote
Post Re: Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound cor
Cammygirl192 wrote:
About the input lag discussion:

I notice it in the NTSC version of Super Mario Kart on Snes9x, and I use a keyboard to play (since PS3 controllers aren't natively supported by Windows, and I haven't bought an Xbox to USB cable yet). However in ZSNES, I barely noticed any input lag and generally have better Time Trial times in that emulator, so the input lag issue in Snes9x seriously needs to be addressed.

A comparison between two emulators is not useful, especially when one is known to have significant errors in timing.


This leads to people filing bug reports because Star Fox plays choppy and Bomberman runs slowly in multiplayer, when in actuality said games were behaving as on a real system and the "right" behavior according to the bug report was actually very wrong. Those are real examples I've personally witnessed, not hypothetical scenarios.




Lag is also a very difficult thing to measure accurately, in part because your brain lies to you about reality and is hardwired to hide lag-like issues from your perception. So I am always skeptical of lag claims.

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


KHDownloads


Sun Oct 30, 2016 11:48 am
Profile
Sir Robin the Not-Quite-So-Brave-As-Sir-Lancelot

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 442
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Has anyone tried to modify ZSNES with a better sound cor
Cammygirl192 wrote:
About the input lag discussion:

I notice it in the NTSC version of Super Mario Kart on Snes9x, and I use a keyboard to play (since PS3 controllers aren't natively supported by Windows, and I haven't bought an Xbox to USB cable yet). However in ZSNES, I barely noticed any input lag and generally have better Time Trial times in that emulator, so the input lag issue in Snes9x seriously needs to be addressed.

However discussing the issue here and not on the Snes9x forum isn't going to do much tbh. How many of you people are on the Snes9x forums, before I come and register there...


Did you even try Snes9x 1.54? It slaughters Zsnes in the timing department.

_________________
"Just because I don't LISTEN doesn't mean I don't CARE!" -Homer Simpson


Sun Oct 30, 2016 5:25 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.