View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 21, 2019 9:52 pm



Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
The ZSNES GUI 
Author Message
New Member

Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 6:19 pm
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post The ZSNES GUI
This is pretty straightforward. The GUI for ZSNES is my all time favorite GUI for anything ever. I could possibly be obsessed with it.

I'm curious if anyone else feels this way or if anybody has found ZSNES themes for other things. I wish the GUI existed thematically on Retropie or other apps I use regularly. I even recently spotted it in the credits of Terminal Montage (YouTube) videos.


Mon May 28, 2018 6:30 pm
Profile
Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:31 am
Posts: 1140
Reply with quote
Post Re: The ZSNES GUI
Two things I know off-hand, that you may find when searching this forum, or not, depending on how well the search works:

1) Prior to becoming Higan, BSNES had an April Fools version called BZSNES, which had a fork of its Qt UI designed to mimic ZSNES, and also had some of its emulation accuracy turned off, allegedly. Dead in the water, one-off joke that went nowhere fast, and was never maintained, as far as I know.

2) There is a ZSNES-based RetroArch front-end somewhere on this forum, that lets you basically have almost complete control of the ZSNES UI and input binding system and such, only running any RetroArch core you think will work with it. Primarily designed to run the Snes9x or Higan cores, since those will produce the correct video resolution to match the UI. Dunno if this thing is still working, or actively developed. Maybe it's still live somewhere?


Tue May 29, 2018 10:38 am
Profile WWW
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4231
Reply with quote
Post Re: The ZSNES GUI
kode54 wrote:
1) Prior to becoming Higan, BSNES had an April Fools version called BZSNES, which had a fork of its Qt UI designed to mimic ZSNES, and also had some of its emulation accuracy turned off, allegedly. Dead in the water, one-off joke that went nowhere fast, and was never maintained, as far as I know.

As I recall, the one and only emulation change was disabling the VRAM-write-outside-VBlank check. And you're right, it saw the single release and was never touched again.

It also wasn't a particularly GOOD imitation of the ZSNES interface, to my eternal dismay.

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


KHDownloads


Tue May 29, 2018 12:17 pm
Profile
New Member

Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 6:19 pm
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Re: The ZSNES GUI
kode54 wrote:

2) There is a ZSNES-based RetroArch front-end somewhere on this forum, that lets you basically have almost complete control of the ZSNES UI and input binding system and such, only running any RetroArch core you think will work with it.


Thanks for the reply. Would love to try and get this onto my Raspberry Pi, but searching these threads via "retroarch" verbiage is no good so far. Any idea when you bumped into that so that I can narrow my search?


Thu May 31, 2018 4:52 am
Profile
Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:31 am
Posts: 1140
Reply with quote
Post Re: The ZSNES GUI
Nope, looks like you get bupkiss for a ZSNESW frontend, because I didn't bookmark it, and I can't find it. I can only find myself mentioning it last year. Maybe it was really a false memory?


Thu May 31, 2018 8:20 am
Profile WWW
Sir Robin the Not-Quite-So-Brave-As-Sir-Lancelot

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 439
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: The ZSNES GUI
Only thing I can think that's close is ZMZ, a libretro core running with a Zsnes GUI?
https://www.smwcentral.net/?p=section&a=details&id=5681

_________________
"Just because I don't LISTEN doesn't mean I don't CARE!" -Homer Simpson


Sun Jun 03, 2018 4:45 pm
Profile WWW
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4231
Reply with quote
Post Re: The ZSNES GUI
nintendo_nerd wrote:
Only thing I can think that's close is ZMZ, a libretro core running with a Zsnes GUI?
https://www.smwcentral.net/?p=section&a=details&id=5681

Pretty sure that's what he was thinking of.

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


KHDownloads


Mon Jun 04, 2018 1:55 am
Profile
Sir Robin the Not-Quite-So-Brave-As-Sir-Lancelot

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 4:44 am
Posts: 439
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Post Re: The ZSNES GUI
In other news, Snes9x 1.56 officially released today.

_________________
"Just because I don't LISTEN doesn't mean I don't CARE!" -Homer Simpson


Thu Jun 07, 2018 7:57 pm
Profile WWW
New Member

Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 6:38 pm
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Re: The ZSNES GUI
kode54 wrote:
Two things I know off-hand, that you may find when searching this forum, or not, depending on how well the search works:

1) Prior to becoming Higan, BSNES had an April Fools version called BZSNES, which had a fork of its Qt UI designed to mimic ZSNES, and also had some of its emulation accuracy turned off, allegedly. Dead in the water, one-off joke that went nowhere fast, and was never maintained, as far as I know.

2) There is a ZSNES-based RetroArch front-end somewhere on this forum, that lets you basically have almost complete control of the ZSNES UI and input binding system and such, only running any RetroArch core you think will work with it. Primarily designed to run the Snes9x or Higan cores, since those will produce the correct video resolution to match the UI. Dunno if this thing is still working, or actively developed. Maybe it's still live somewhere?


Some people actually use bZSNES.

http://www.emutopia.com/index.php/emula ... 380-bzsnes


Thu Jun 21, 2018 3:03 pm
Profile
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4231
Reply with quote
Post Re: The ZSNES GUI
007 wrote:

People actually USE it? WTF?

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


KHDownloads


Fri Jun 22, 2018 4:04 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.