View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Dec 10, 2019 5:01 pm



Reply to topic  [ 156 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next
ZSNES 1.51 Released! 
Author Message
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Posts: 3902
Location: Solar powered park bench
Reply with quote
Post ZSNES 1.51 Released!
Wake your children up, it's here!

Please read: http://www.zsnes.com/index.php?page=news

The release is r4490.

If the homepage download links aren't updated by the time you read this, go directly to our page on Source Forge.

_________________
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding


Thu Jan 25, 2007 2:40 am
Profile WWW
Hero of Time
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 2:49 am
Posts: 2646
Location: In front of the monitor
Reply with quote
Post 
Congrats once again.

_________________
Try out CCleaner and other free software at Piriform
Image


Thu Jan 25, 2007 3:01 am
Profile WWW
Joystick Jedi
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:43 am
Posts: 228
Location: Portland, Oregon - USA
Reply with quote
Post 
snkcube wrote:
"Congrats once again."
Quotes for emphasis!

_________________
Image
E=mc²
"People should not be afraid of their governments, governments should be afraid of their people." -V
The Ur-Quan Masters


Thu Jan 25, 2007 3:22 am
Profile
Seen it all
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Posts: 2302
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
Post 
*downloads* :P

_________________
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list


Thu Jan 25, 2007 8:02 am
Profile WWW
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 5:24 am
Posts: 812
Location: In your garden
Reply with quote
Post 
As usual, post bugs here.


Thu Jan 25, 2007 9:05 am
Profile
Trooper

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 4:37 pm
Posts: 361
Reply with quote
Post 
Congrats on 1.51.


Thu Jan 25, 2007 9:23 am
Profile WWW
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 8:55 am
Posts: 265
Location: The Netherlands
Reply with quote
Post 
Excellent job on the new release!!

Here's my first small bug reports for 1.51:

- The last line (224) remains visible when in the menu
- 2xSai, Super 2xSai, Super Eagle and Interpolation prevent the last line from showing (although Interpolation shows it a little).

I ask myself, is the menu also updated with all the recent video changes? I tested this with Super Mario World (last line is in blue).

Thanks again :)

_________________
"Change is inevitable; progress is optional"


Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:22 pm
Profile
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 10:02 pm
Posts: 245
Reply with quote
Post 
Quote:
I'm pleased to announce the 73rd release of ZSNES - ZSNES v1.51.

This release is mostly a bunch of bug fixes for things new and altered in v1.51.

Don't you mean v1.50 the second time ?

Can't find a v1.51 link anywhere on the site, too...


Thu Jan 25, 2007 3:53 pm
Profile
Seen it all
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Posts: 2302
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
Post 
http://sourceforge.net/projects/zsnes/


EDIT: The "about" window still says that there's a "license.txt", but it's not in the release... :wink: [complaint]

_________________
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list


Thu Jan 25, 2007 4:40 pm
Profile WWW
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
EMu-LoRd wrote:
Excellent job on the new release!!

Here's my first small bug reports for 1.51:

- The last line (224) remains visible when in the menu


Intentional I think.

Quote:
- 2xSai, Super 2xSai, Super Eagle and Interpolation prevent the last line from showing (although Interpolation shows it a little).


Working on that and related things.

Quote:
I ask myself, is the menu also updated with all the recent video changes? I tested this with Super Mario World (last line is in blue).

Thanks again :)


Yes. SMW's last line is supposed to be blue.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Thu Jan 25, 2007 5:28 pm
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 5:24 am
Posts: 812
Location: In your garden
Reply with quote
Post 
I appologize for the issues people are having with 1.51 we will have a follow up release soon.

Not a bug:

224 lines are now displayed, so you may see strange lines displayed at the bottom of your screen, this is completely normal and the SNES did this as well.

Bug:

Some lines are not being rendered properly in some games, I'm currently looking into it.

Thanks again for your support.


Thu Jan 25, 2007 5:51 pm
Profile
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 8:55 am
Posts: 265
Location: The Netherlands
Reply with quote
Post 
Deathlike2 wrote:
Intentional I think.

I hope pagefault can quote on this one, I hardly believe this could be intentional.

Deathlike2 wrote:
Yes. SMW's last line is supposed to be blue.

If I look at how bsnes renders this, it should be brown... and I'm fairly sure bsnes does it accurate. Killer Instinct for example shows only a purple line, while in bsnes, the line is an actual continuation of the whole screen.

_________________
"Change is inevitable; progress is optional"


Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:16 pm
Profile
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:18 pm
Posts: 768
Reply with quote
Post 
Quick question: Is there a reason why BMP is the default screenshot output format? Shouldn't it be PNG (for space-saving reasons)?

_________________
Official ZSNES Docs | NSRT Guide | Using a Wiimote w/ emulators


Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:32 pm
Profile WWW
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
Jipcy, you cannot assume that PNG is usable under every condition. DOS 8-bit modes and/or disabling PNG support (SDL) forbids the use of PNG. Although, I think that could be addressed somewhat.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:38 pm
Profile
Reply with quote
Post 
Quote:
Quote:
Yes. SMW's last line is supposed to be blue.

If I look at how bsnes renders this, it should be brown... and I'm fairly sure bsnes does it accurate. Killer Instinct for example shows only a purple line, while in bsnes, the line is an actual continuation of the whole screen.


SMW's last line is indeed brown. It matches the ground right above the yellow wood border. We've seen this brown line on a TV capture card screenshot, but I don't care to dig that up right now. Most likely there's still some glitches with drawing that last line, however I applaud the ZSNES devs for working on this.

Anyway, many games will show garble there. The reason I render it is because it is there, and the real SNES does draw it. RTO flags still get set if there's too many sprites there, HDMA still runs during line 224's hblank period, and the PPU still outputs pixels to the TV, so I may as well show it.

For all emulators, it would be nice to add a clipping tool to chop off a few pixels (configurable by the user) from each side of the screen as a TV would. I don't know of any that have such a feature right now.


Thu Jan 25, 2007 10:27 pm
Gecko snack

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Posts: 2372
Location: Australia, QLD
Reply with quote
Post 
byuu wrote:
Quote:
Quote:
For all emulators, it would be nice to add a clipping tool to chop off a few pixels (configurable by the user) from each side of the screen as a TV would. I don't know of any that have such a feature right now.

if such a thing was added to zsnes id remove the last line... however since you brought up the issue that the last line doesn't show the correct stuff for some games in zsnes... that may be why i never noticed it before on a real tv o_O

BUT i use a pal tv and a simple av cable for it... i've never encountered a strange line at the bottom.

_________________
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64


Thu Jan 25, 2007 10:56 pm
Profile WWW
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 5:24 am
Posts: 812
Location: In your garden
Reply with quote
Post 
Using the old gfx engine displays the correct output. We are working on a fix right now.


Thu Jan 25, 2007 11:43 pm
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Posts: 3902
Location: Solar powered park bench
Reply with quote
Post 
Dumping an AVI has SMW showing a brown line on the bottom, I don't get it.

_________________
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding


Fri Jan 26, 2007 12:00 am
Profile WWW
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 2:13 am
Posts: 39
Reply with quote
Post 
The smoke GUI effect has a few graphical glitches. It's kinda hard to describe... It should be easily noticeable though. Other than that, 1.51 seems solid. Great job, devs!


Fri Jan 26, 2007 12:27 am
Profile
Seen it all
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Posts: 2302
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
Post 
jsnake wrote:
The smoke GUI effect has a few graphical glitches. It's kinda hard to describe... It should be easily noticeable though.

There're some free pixels occuring when you move the mouse cursor a bit while alt-tabbing in & out of a windowed ZSNES. Happens not always.

_________________
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list


Fri Jan 26, 2007 12:50 am
Profile WWW
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 2:13 am
Posts: 39
Reply with quote
Post 
creaothceann wrote:
jsnake wrote:
The smoke GUI effect has a few graphical glitches. It's kinda hard to describe... It should be easily noticeable though.

There're some free pixels occuring when you move the mouse cursor a bit while alt-tabbing in & out of a windowed ZSNES. Happens not always.


Well, I don't even have to do that and it sometimes happens.


Fri Jan 26, 2007 1:12 am
Profile
Trooper

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 4:37 pm
Posts: 361
Reply with quote
Post 
Jipcy wrote:
Quick question: Is there a reason why BMP is the default screenshot output format? Shouldn't it be PNG (for space-saving reasons)?


PNG is kinda slow. Taking BMP screenshots, on the other hand, is lightning fast.


Fri Jan 26, 2007 1:25 am
Profile WWW
Gecko snack

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Posts: 2372
Location: Australia, QLD
Reply with quote
Post 
pagefault wrote:
Using the old gfx engine displays the correct output. We are working on a fix right now.

thank you very much... this makes me happy :)

_________________
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64


Fri Jan 26, 2007 2:04 am
Profile WWW
Veteran

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 5:43 pm
Posts: 861
Location: Sloop
Reply with quote
Post 
byuu wrote:
Quote:
Quote:
Yes. SMW's last line is supposed to be blue.

If I look at how bsnes renders this, it should be brown... and I'm fairly sure bsnes does it accurate. Killer Instinct for example shows only a purple line, while in bsnes, the line is an actual continuation of the whole screen.


SMW's last line is indeed brown. It matches the ground right above the yellow wood border. We've seen this brown line on a TV capture card screenshot, but I don't care to dig that up right now. Most likely there's still some glitches with drawing that last line, however I applaud the ZSNES devs for working on this.

Anyway, many games will show garble there. The reason I render it is because it is there, and the real SNES does draw it. RTO flags still get set if there's too many sprites there, HDMA still runs during line 224's hblank period, and the PPU still outputs pixels to the TV, so I may as well show it.

For all emulators, it would be nice to add a clipping tool to chop off a few pixels (configurable by the user) from each side of the screen as a TV would. I don't know of any that have such a feature right now.


While testing bsnes, I noticed that most games actually use the last line to display information and very few show garbage there. And it's very, very rare that the garbage will actually prove annoying during gameplay or be a permanent neon fixation. That's simply a bug in zsnes. In my opinion, a cut off feature or anything that tries to simulate overscan is totally unnecessary. Not only because of the fact that so few games have these so called border issues, but because CRT tv technology has absolutely nothing to do with actual SNES output. Most developers were smart enough to realize that overscan varied GREATLY depending on the tv, so it was smarter to simply draw the entire area and eliminate any chance of a crt tv displaying a black border beside the image.

If people are so bothered by this crt crap in general, how about buying a tv with a composite input and running the video card to a tube? Or how about getting one of those really old crt monitors with the curved screens and manually inflating the display area to effectuate overscan? Trying to simulate this stuff on a modern flat screen, progressive computer monitor always ends up looking like shit in comparison. I don't know when this fad got started in emulation, but it's getting out of hand. Just look at the two biggest sega emulators with their annoying RF signal bullshit. The gaming experience just wouldn't be complete without emulating the most notoriously annoying tv signal, would it? And how about these emulators with the "Machine" in the menu. An emulator is not a machine. There are processes that can and should be simplified. It's just silly to have to turn on "the machine" after loading a rom. Is clicking a computer mouse twice as much somehow more nostalgic? I'm sorry, but I don't have the imagination of a six year old to pretend that I am operating a real system. Instead, I feel like I'm being faced with an "are you sure?" pop-up every time I load a rom, because I load every rom with the obvious intention of running it.


Fri Jan 26, 2007 4:09 am
Profile
Gecko snack

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Posts: 2372
Location: Australia, QLD
Reply with quote
Post 
maybe when they do fix the output of the bottom line in ZSNES i might not clip it.

_________________
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64


Fri Jan 26, 2007 4:18 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 156 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.