Movie Dumping settings

General area for talk about ZSNES. The best place to ask for related questions as well as troubleshooting.

Moderator: ZSNES Mods

Marscaleb

Movie Dumping settings

Post by Marscaleb »

First of all, I am told that for sound I need a particular LAME program to run in windows, but every link I can find for it is broken.

But I can record audio through other means if I really need it. What I really want some information on is the settings for dumping the video.

Of the encoding options that come with the program, the only thing I can actually play is the Xvid codec, but my video editing software can't read those, making it useless to me.
How can I set up new options for video formats/codecs to use? I have a HuffyUV codec that would work great, but even something more standard like mpeg or even uncompressed AVI would be more useful to me.

I have never worked with mencoder or mplayer before, so I have no idea where to begin.

The next thing I'd like to set are options for the video itself. When I made a video file, it was a 256 pixel wide capture of the source game. I would like to be able to render out footage using the scaling settings I have set within ZSNES. For this immediate project I actually want a pixilated image (no filtering) rendered to a much higher resolution. If I use the native resolution my editing software will blur the footage to scale it to a high resolution. I want to retain the sharp pixelated look for this video, so I want to record a high-resolution video with no scaling/smoothing effects.

And in the future I may very easily want to record footage with some smoothing effects, so I want to know how to achieve this.
paulguy
Zealot

Re: Movie Dumping settings

Post by paulguy »

I think -sws 3 -vf scale=1024,896