View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Jul 19, 2019 4:31 pm



This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 504 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21  Next
(old) ZMV to AVI video conversion [[archive me]] 
Author Message
Hazed

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 9:31 pm
Posts: 55
Post 
Welcome to page 19.

To record a video you need one of the latest work in progress builds of ZSNES. Get them here: http://zsnes.ipherswipsite.com/

You will need a copy of mencoder. For Windows users, I recommend getting mencoder here: http://oss.netfarm.it/mplayer-win32.php
Place mencoder.exe in the same location as zsnesw.exe, you do not need any codecs or other movie programs installed.
Linux users, having mencoder in your path is fine.

If you want to compress the outputted audio, or compress it before it goes into the video as opposed to during, you will need a copy of LAME.
If you use Windows, you must get LAME from here: http://geocities.com/joecool22us/lame.zip
Any other copy of LAME for Windows will not work due to a bug in LAME.

Before you are able to dump an AVI, you must have recorded a movie first, it converts movies, it does not just dump video on the fly.

To play back movies, you'll either need the proper codecs or a video player with built in decoding of the video mode you selected.
I recommend getting mplayer which decodes anything created with mencoder. For Windows, you can get mplayer here: http://oss.netfarm.it/mplayer-win32.php You can download the GUI version.

Advanced users can edit zmovie.cfg and tweak the settings if they want, and even use something other than mencoder and LAME as long as it supports encoding via stdin and you set it up properly.

________
Can the quality of the xvid output be adjusted? All the movies I create are looking like they were recorded using a 2-head Audiovox VCR from 1985.


Fri Nov 30, 2007 2:41 am
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 5:42 am
Posts: 18
Post 
Quote:
Can the quality of the xvid output be adjusted? All the movies I create are looking like they were recorded using a 2-head Audiovox VCR from 1985.


look at the mplayer documentation

this should be for "-ovc xvid" http://www.mplayerhq.hu/DOCS/HTML/en/me ... e-settings

and this one is for "-ovc lavc" http://www.mplayerhq.hu/DOCS/HTML/en/me ... e-settings

also there's an unavoidable quality loss with respect of the zsnes real-time graphics because the zmv2avi conversion does a lossy colorspace conversion (RGB to YV12/BGR to YV12 and so) thats needed when encoding to any lossy video codec such as Xvid and H.264


Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:46 pm
Profile
Hazed

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 9:31 pm
Posts: 55
Post 
Thanks for the help :)

All this would be much simpler though if zsnes was configured to use whatever encoder the user has installed on the OS. Nestopia's current method works pretty well. Perhaps this will change in time.


Mon Dec 03, 2007 12:10 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Post 
denzilla wrote:
Thanks for the help :)

All this would be much simpler though if zsnes was configured to use whatever encoder the user has installed on the OS. Nestopia's current method works pretty well. Perhaps this will change in time.


It can, but you have to figure out zmovie.cfg first.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Mon Dec 03, 2007 12:15 am
Profile
Hazed

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 9:31 pm
Posts: 55
Post 
Wouldn't it be simpler to just configure it that way from the start? From a support perspective, it would seem like the way to go. The user would only need to select the encoder type from within Zsnes and if it not there, they get an error telling them the selected encoder isn't installed on the host OS.


Mon Dec 03, 2007 12:42 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 10:04 am
Posts: 8
Post 
I tried using 1.51 to record video, but when I press the record button nothing happens, the status remains inactive. Has recording been taken out in .151?

I had to go back to 1.43 and recording and dumping work fine, but 1.43 is missing other options I want like vsync.

What's the story with recording in 1.51? Everything I read tells me it should work fine.


Tue Dec 04, 2007 1:52 pm
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Post 
You have to use one of the more recent mencoder SVN builds... check the topmost post for that info.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Tue Dec 04, 2007 4:13 pm
Profile
Hero of Time
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 2:49 am
Posts: 2646
Location: In front of the monitor
Post 
Alexander_Q wrote:
I tried using 1.51 to record video, but when I press the record button nothing happens, the status remains inactive. Has recording been taken out in .151?

I had to go back to 1.43 and recording and dumping work fine, but 1.43 is missing other options I want like vsync.

What's the story with recording in 1.51? Everything I read tells me it should work fine.

There is no 1.43.

_________________
Try out CCleaner and other free software at Piriform
Image


Wed Dec 05, 2007 5:59 am
Profile WWW
New Member

Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 10:04 am
Posts: 8
Post 
Yes there is. One of the developers provided the link in a thread about zSnes's video capabilities.

Nevermind. I have solved my problem.


Tue Dec 11, 2007 8:04 am
Profile
Hero of Time
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 2:49 am
Posts: 2646
Location: In front of the monitor
Post 
Alexander_Q wrote:
Yes there is. One of the developers provided the link in a thread about zSnes's video capabilities.

Nevermind. I have solved my problem.

That's just a WIP or work in progress version. Please read it carefully next time.

_________________
Try out CCleaner and other free software at Piriform
Image


Tue Dec 11, 2007 8:09 am
Profile WWW
Post 
Hi there! I have just converted a few movies from the zsnes movie file to avi and then I tried to import them into Adobe Premiere and it is saying it is unable to import it because of the type of compression used in the file :S does anyone know how to fix this because this was the main reason for making movies in the zsnes so I could make nice gaming movies out of them!

If someone could please help it would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks! :D


Tue Jan 08, 2008 8:43 am
Post 
Boy, this feels like a weird thing to have to ask.

edgeemu.com has expired as of 12/31/07 (or so says the page I'm redirected to when I visit nsrt.edgeemu.com). As such, I can't get the fixed version of LAME to encode audio from there. Where else might I find it?


Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:14 am
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Posts: 3901
Location: Solar powered park bench
Post 
The domain has already been updated, your ISP is behind.

You can bypass your ISP's DNS if you add this to your hosts file:
Code:
69.50.240.226 nsrt.edgeemu.com


On Windows XP, the hosts file is located at C:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts or wherever you installed Windows to.

_________________
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding


Tue Jan 08, 2008 12:27 pm
Profile WWW
Locksmith of Hyrule
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Posts: 3634
Location: 255.255.255.255
Post 
and in linux and bsd, it's in /etc/hosts

of course you will need to seperate the IP and host by a tab instead of a space

_________________
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.


Tue Jan 08, 2008 12:28 pm
Profile YIM WWW
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Posts: 3901
Location: Solar powered park bench
Post 
adventure_of_link wrote:
of course you will need to seperate the IP and host by a tab instead of a space

What?

_________________
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding


Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:08 pm
Profile WWW
Post 
Ah, thank you so much!


Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:50 pm
Seen it all
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Posts: 2302
Location: Germany
Post 
azuma wrote:
Hi there! I have just converted a few movies from the zsnes movie file to avi and then I tried to import them into Adobe Premiere and it is saying it is unable to import it because of the type of compression used in the file :S does anyone know how to fix this because this was the main reason for making movies in the zsnes so I could make nice gaming movies out of them!

If someone could please help it would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks! :D

You should be able to open it in VirtualDubMod.

Btw. get the k-Lite codec pack (or another one).

_________________
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list


Tue Jan 08, 2008 5:09 pm
Profile WWW
Locksmith of Hyrule
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Posts: 3634
Location: 255.255.255.255
Post 
Nach wrote:
adventure_of_link wrote:
of course you will need to seperate the IP and host by a tab instead of a space

What?

Huh. that must've been when I was in gentoo, sorry. I forgot they changed the format since then

disregard that I am stupid

_________________
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.


Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:15 pm
Profile YIM WWW
Post 
Cauchy wrote:
Boy, this feels like a weird thing to have to ask.

edgeemu.com has expired as of 12/31/07 (or so says the page I'm redirected to when I visit nsrt.edgeemu.com). As such, I can't get the fixed version of LAME to encode audio from there. Where else might I find it?


Same question. I can't find a version of LAME that will work with windows. That link is dead.


Thu Jan 24, 2008 4:50 am
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Posts: 3901
Location: Solar powered park bench
Post 
Nightshade3D wrote:
Cauchy wrote:
Boy, this feels like a weird thing to have to ask.

edgeemu.com has expired as of 12/31/07 (or so says the page I'm redirected to when I visit nsrt.edgeemu.com). As such, I can't get the fixed version of LAME to encode audio from there. Where else might I find it?


Same question. I can't find a version of LAME that will work with windows. That link is dead.

If you read the posts between yours and the one you quoted, it tells you how to make the link work.

_________________
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding


Thu Jan 24, 2008 7:00 am
Profile WWW
Post 
Nach wrote:
Nightshade3D wrote:
Cauchy wrote:
Boy, this feels like a weird thing to have to ask.

edgeemu.com has expired as of 12/31/07 (or so says the page I'm redirected to when I visit nsrt.edgeemu.com). As such, I can't get the fixed version of LAME to encode audio from there. Where else might I find it?


Same question. I can't find a version of LAME that will work with windows. That link is dead.

If you read the posts between yours and the one you quoted, it tells you how to make the link work.


Thank you. I had to do more researching since I didn't even know what it ment to add a host IP to my host file. >.> I figured it out, though. Thanks.


Thu Jan 24, 2008 7:38 pm
Rookie

Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 5:42 am
Posts: 18
Post 
dissociative wrote:
Quote:
Can the quality of the xvid output be adjusted? All the movies I create are looking like they were recorded using a 2-head Audiovox VCR from 1985.


look at the mplayer documentation

this should be for "-ovc xvid" http://www.mplayerhq.hu/DOCS/HTML/en/me ... e-settings

and this one is for "-ovc lavc" http://www.mplayerhq.hu/DOCS/HTML/en/me ... e-settings

also there's an unavoidable quality loss with respect of the zsnes real-time graphics because the zmv2avi conversion does a lossy colorspace conversion (RGB to YV12/BGR to YV12 and so) thats needed when encoding to any lossy video codec such as Xvid and H.264


well I learned that XviD isnt true lossless, that's because the movies that you create with XviD dont look so good, use x264 or FFV1 if you want true lossless quality zsnes movies but these video codecs should be harder to manipulate with some applications like virtualdub, also these settings presented in the MPlayer manual are valid only for lossy encoding, they are useless for lossless encoding


Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:50 pm
Profile
Post 
The link to the LAME fix isn't working.


Thu Feb 21, 2008 5:22 am
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Post 
Nach wrote:
You add
69.50.240.226 nsrt.edgeemu.com
To your hosts file, at this point you may need to reset your browser, then you navigate to http://nsrt.edgeemu.com, this is not complicated.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Thu Feb 21, 2008 6:52 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 4:07 am
Posts: 1
Post 
I am Edgar. I was wondering which programs everyone uses to edit their movies and also do you need to change the compression or anything before or after editing?

I would appreciate any help you can give


Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:58 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.   [ 504 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.