View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Mar 24, 2019 8:55 am



Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
unable to creat executablres 
Author Message
New Member

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 9:59 pm
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post unable to creat executablres
I am nopt realy a fan of linux - but my mother uses ut -.-" and she wanted me to install Zsnes for her, so I tried my est and followed trhe readme that was added to the download, but am stuk at the command "./configure --enable-release" - it always chens a few things, and then says C: error cannot compile executeables - and I tried around with su and no su, but i am already at the end of my knowledge, which, I have to admit isnt that great since I myself still use windows -.-" I hope anyone can help me with that, thank you :3


Thu Aug 14, 2008 10:05 pm
Profile
Reply with quote
Post 
Perhaps you misspelled one of the commands used to compile the software? Just guessing here ... perhaps paste the output it's giving you, so that we have more to go on. Linux distro name and version might be helpful, too. Ubuntu ships with very little compilation tools, but then you can simply run "sudo apt-get install zsnes" and be done with it.


Thu Aug 14, 2008 11:04 pm
New Member

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 9:59 pm
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post 
jutta@jutta-laptop:~/Desktop/zsnes_1_51/src$ sudo ./configure --enable-release
[sudo] password for jutta:
checking build system type... i686-pc-linux-gnulibc1
checking host system type... i686-pc-linux-gnulibc1
checking target system type... i686-pc-linux-gnulibc1
checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
checking for gcc... gcc
checking for C compiler default output file name...
configure: error: C compiler cannot create executables
See `config.log' for more details.
jutta@jutta-laptop:~/Desktop/zsnes_1_51/src$

thats what it says.

I tried your sudo apt-get install zsnes and it did something - just not sure what it did ^^ <but I have to translate first (it had german output, weill edit it in within the next few mins).

Edit: Whatever it did it worked :) got the programm now - just need game to test now :3

Thank you alot :)

only problem left_ It doesent play any sounds so far -.-"


Fri Aug 15, 2008 12:51 pm
Profile
Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 2:01 am
Posts: 1076
Reply with quote
Post 
You need glibc, probably. But if the apt-get install was successful, you wont have to compile it.


Sat Aug 16, 2008 9:28 am
Profile WWW
New Member

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 9:59 pm
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post 
any ideas what ccould e wrong that I dont have any sound? I am guessing that this system doesent have any drivers or programms like direct X - is there anything I need for Zsnes to work properly?


Sat Aug 16, 2008 1:40 pm
Profile
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Posts: 5613
Location: PAL50, dood !
Reply with quote
Post 
Set up zsnes to use whatever sound stuff you're using... alsa, pulse, oss, arts, whatever.

Do we have that in documentation somewhere ? I'm really tired of not being able to just reply RTFM.

_________________
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Code:
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54


Sat Aug 16, 2008 2:16 pm
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
Short answer is "it's not really that good".

Beef it up and you'll get more opportunities to throw that out there.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sat Aug 16, 2008 4:45 pm
Profile
New Member

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 9:59 pm
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post 
grinvader wrote:
Set up zsnes to use whatever sound stuff you're using... alsa, pulse, oss, arts, whatever.

Do we have that in documentation somewhere ? I'm really tired of not being able to just reply RTFM.


I installed "alsa", but how do I set up Zsnes to use a certain sound stuff? I looked in the Zsnes menues (sounds etc.) but couldnt find anything.


Sat Aug 16, 2008 4:51 pm
Profile
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Posts: 5613
Location: PAL50, dood !
Reply with quote
Post 
Edit the configuration file or run zsnes from the command line with a valid parameter to the -ad switch (not expecting you to do that one).

_________________
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Code:
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54


Sun Aug 17, 2008 9:41 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.