View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Nov 18, 2019 6:52 pm



Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Fraps no longer reads ZSNES 
Author Message
New Member

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:11 pm
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post Fraps no longer reads ZSNES
Hey guys, i had been using ZSNES and Fraps to capture some stuff. A few weeks ago it was recognising ZSNES in Fraps and recording perfectly. I however had to reinstall windows so i got ZSNES and Fraps again(I have the latest 2.9.4) but it will now not recognise ZSNES(but other applications work(such as pc games etc))

Any ideas?

I had a fiddle about with the resolutions of ZSNES and no luck.


Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:16 pm
Profile
"God"

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 11:24 pm
Posts: 1128
Reply with quote
Post 
update direct x?

_________________
Does [Kevin] Smith masturbate with steel wool too?

- Yes, but don’t change the subject.


Fri Apr 11, 2008 8:34 pm
Profile
New Member

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:11 pm
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post 
Installed 9.0c and still no luck. :(


Fri Apr 11, 2008 8:58 pm
Profile
Hero of Time
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 2:49 am
Posts: 2646
Location: In front of the monitor
Reply with quote
Post 
Just one question I have to ask. Why are you using FRAPS to record ZSNES? ZSNES has its own video recording feature.

_________________
Try out CCleaner and other free software at Piriform
Image


Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:56 am
Profile WWW
Gecko snack

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Posts: 2372
Location: Australia, QLD
Reply with quote
Post 
if you installed the demo of fraps before the full version then video recording wont work in fraps at all. (unless this was fixed in a recent version).

_________________
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64


Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:30 pm
Profile WWW
New Member

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:11 pm
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post 
snkcube wrote:
Just one question I have to ask. Why are you using FRAPS to record ZSNES? ZSNES has its own video recording feature.


I can't be bothered converting from .zmv and that.

Franpa, yeah i know that. I only installed the full version and it works in every other pc game except zsnes but WAS working before(as in before hard drive reformat). Don't know what changed and why its not recognising zsnes.


Sat Apr 12, 2008 3:36 pm
Profile
Hero of Time
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 2:49 am
Posts: 2646
Location: In front of the monitor
Reply with quote
Post 
GregI wrote:
snkcube wrote:
Just one question I have to ask. Why are you using FRAPS to record ZSNES? ZSNES has its own video recording feature.


I can't be bothered converting from .zmv and that.

It's not that hard. You're not really converting .zmv to anything, really.

_________________
Try out CCleaner and other free software at Piriform
Image


Sat Apr 12, 2008 11:54 pm
Profile WWW
New Member

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:11 pm
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post 
Maybe so but the problem is still grinding my gears. I've tried everything.


Sun Apr 13, 2008 1:53 am
Profile
Gecko snack

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Posts: 2372
Location: Australia, QLD
Reply with quote
Post 
try a full screen DS mode in zsnes? or a DR mode etc. just try all the full screen modes.

_________________
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64


Sun Apr 13, 2008 3:01 am
Profile WWW
New Member

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:11 pm
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post 
franpa wrote:
try a full screen DS mode in zsnes? or a DR mode etc. just try all the full screen modes.


Tried and i did have success!
The only mode that worked out of everything was 640x480 DR FULL.

Whys that LOL?
I would like a window one to work though. So i can chat on MSN aswell.


Sun Apr 13, 2008 3:14 pm
Profile
Seen it all
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Posts: 2302
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
Post 
You could also try CamStudio.

_________________
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list


Sun Apr 13, 2008 4:36 pm
Profile WWW
-Burninated-
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 11:33 pm
Posts: 871
Location: Unspecified
Reply with quote
Post 
Quick question, which codecs would be the best to use without bogging the speed down (in emulators) too much?

_________________
俺はテメエの倒す男だ! 宜しく! お前はもう死んでいる...


Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:56 pm
Profile
New Member

Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 7:24 am
Posts: 6
Reply with quote
Post Re: Fraps no longer reads ZSNES
Sorry for bumping this up, but I managed to get it to work in the past while running in Windowed mode.

I kind of forgot how I did it though. But basically fraps only recognizes "D3D" modes, or triple-buffering programs.

Triple buffering requires full screen, so that's not an option in the case of wanting to recognize it in Windowed mode. I forgot how I managed to make ZSNES act as a D3D program though.

Hopefully this might give people a clue on what to do regarding this issue. I know I had it working before, I even made a 720p video while playing. Now I wish I took notes of it. :(


Sun Apr 17, 2011 8:16 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.