View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Sep 16, 2019 6:34 pm



Reply to topic  [ 156 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
ZSNES 1.51 Released! 
Author Message
Inmate
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 7:47 am
Posts: 1751
Location: WA
Reply with quote
Post 
i see nothing wrong with a clipping option. why look at something you never knew existed? sure the snes drew it, but you never saw it. why see it now? just to show off the accuracy of your program?

_________________
Image


Sat Jan 27, 2007 3:07 pm
Profile
Gecko snack

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Posts: 2372
Location: Australia, QLD
Reply with quote
Post 
they say that it IS visible on a TV tho... maybe i did.... if i did i would know it, but as some have pointed out... the line is not showing correctly anyways... so maybe when the line gets fixed i wont find it annoying.

_________________
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64


Sat Jan 27, 2007 3:25 pm
Profile WWW
Rookie

Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2004 2:19 am
Posts: 19
Reply with quote
Post 
Thanks for this release!

_________________
Image


Sat Jan 27, 2007 5:34 pm
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
EMu-LoRd wrote:
Deathlike2 wrote:
Edit: Never mind, pf said it was intentional. So, it seems to work just fine then... DOS port does need more testing unfortunately...

So the garbage on the right and bottom side is intentional? Please explain :?


The filter itself overflows, so a line has to be hidden. ZSNES didn't do a really good job of that before, but now that is fixed. However, the garbage had to be dealt with separately and that is fixed as well.

However, the bottom line is not a filter related issue (unless you're talking about it having a slight black streak, but that's intentional because of how the filter works).

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sat Jan 27, 2007 5:50 pm
Profile
Seen it all
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Posts: 2302
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
Post 
Deathlike2 wrote:
However, the bottom line is not a filter related issue (unless you're talking about it having a slight black streak, but that's intentional because of how the filter works).

So the filter uses black for pixels that are outside of the source image?

Just fyi, to avoid these darker lines vSNES creates a temporary source buffer that has the array bounds [-1..239+1, -1..255+1] and fills the extra lines with the source data.

_________________
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list


Sat Jan 27, 2007 8:34 pm
Profile WWW
Rookie

Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 7:15 pm
Posts: 48
Location: France
Reply with quote
Post 
I was all happy to see that one of the new features in ZsNes 1.51 was the ability to view all 224 lines... But when I tried it, I was all disappointed because that is not true, the bottom line is still missing and appears in black. :(


Sun Jan 28, 2007 7:27 pm
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
filouk wrote:
I was all happy to see that one of the new features in ZsNes 1.51 was the ability to view all 224 lines... But when I tried it, I was all disappointed because that is not true, the bottom line is still missing and appears in black. :(


pagefault wrote:
Using the old gfx engine displays the correct output. We are working on a fix right now.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sun Jan 28, 2007 7:30 pm
Profile
Gecko snack

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Posts: 2372
Location: Australia, QLD
Reply with quote
Post 
im also using latest version from SVN all the time filouk.

_________________
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64


Sun Jan 28, 2007 11:43 pm
Profile WWW
Inmate

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:28 am
Posts: 1485
Location: Salem, Oregon
Reply with quote
Post 
great job guys, I already posted bugs in the bug thread, lots of fun, thanks for the updates and I'm looking forward to the next release, the bugfixes, and eventually the new core, can't wait :D

_________________
byuu wrote:
Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(


Mon Jan 29, 2007 8:03 am
Profile WWW
New Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 8:20 pm
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post 
thanks


Thu Feb 01, 2007 3:53 am
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 1:18 pm
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
Post 
Bah. For all those people in this thread insisting that the bottom 'garbage' line is a good thing because it's what the original SNES did; hardly. It's very annoying and sticks out a mile in certain cases, especially if you're in fullscreen with a black border. If perfect emulation were so important, graphics and sound filters wouldn't exist, nor would save states, speedup, movies, etc. There's no reason an emulator can't offer *enhancements* to the original, as well as pure emulation. Below are some examples of the 'garbage' line being annoying. I request a feature in the next ZSNES version, in the video options, to clip the bottom line (as was done in previous versions of ZSNES, by the way).

Image
Image
Image

_________________
=== Jez ===


Thu Feb 01, 2007 6:17 pm
Profile
Veteran

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 5:43 pm
Posts: 861
Location: Sloop
Reply with quote
Post 
That's an emulator bug, Jez. It should be fixed, not covered up.


Thu Feb 01, 2007 6:35 pm
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 5:24 am
Posts: 812
Location: In your garden
Reply with quote
Post 
Deathlike2 wrote:
filouk wrote:
I was all happy to see that one of the new features in ZsNes 1.51 was the ability to view all 224 lines... But when I tried it, I was all disappointed because that is not true, the bottom line is still missing and appears in black. :(


pagefault wrote:
Using the old gfx engine displays the correct output. We are working on a fix right now.


Thu Feb 01, 2007 7:29 pm
Profile
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:18 pm
Posts: 768
Reply with quote
Post 
jez wrote:
I request a feature in the next ZSNES version, in the video options, to clip the bottom line (as was done in previous versions of ZSNES, by the way).

Perhaps instead of clipping it there can be an option to mask it with a black line, or something.

_________________
Official ZSNES Docs | NSRT Guide | Using a Wiimote w/ emulators


Thu Feb 01, 2007 7:35 pm
Profile WWW
Randomness
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:01 pm
Posts: 1172
Location: UK
Reply with quote
Post 
The extra line doesn't look so bad when using a stretched 4:3 resolution like the real SNES uses, as it is right at the bottom of the screen, rather than some other aspect ratio with borders (i.e. not how it looked on the original NTSC SNES).

_________________
ZSNES Documentation Project | bsnes Fan | Official ZSNES Facebook Group


Thu Feb 01, 2007 7:42 pm
Profile WWW
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
I'm sure everyone is so glued to the bottom of the screen at all times. Seriously, it is not the end of the world.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Thu Feb 01, 2007 9:06 pm
Profile
Justice is Blind

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:33 pm
Posts: 620
Location: Test
Reply with quote
Post 
Nobody said it is or even acted so.

Honestly the overreaction is coming from the other side.


Thu Feb 01, 2007 10:44 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 1:47 pm
Posts: 37
Reply with quote
Post 
Congratulations for the latest Release in a so little time after the 1.50 version.
I must say that I agree with the previous posters about the bottom line subject.
Just as we can go for the exact emulation of Snes system as we would have on tv screen such as low resolution, no graphic filters, raw sound etc.., or we can go for a modified and modern way with more eye candy and improvements such as 2xsai,hq(x)x filters, interpolated and low-pass filtered sound ; we should just be able to disable or enable the bottom line. In order to make it more suitable for different emulation tastes.


Fri Feb 02, 2007 11:06 am
Profile
Reply with quote
Post 
Seriously, the last line is a non-issue. I've had it enabled in my emulator for about a year now, and not one person has complained about it. Given I may not have such a large userbase; but all 4,000 games were tested with it, and maybe ~1% of them show something visually distracting at the bottom scanline. When it gets fixed, nobody will even notice it. Wait for it to get fixed, and then if it still bothers you, ask for a clipping option.

And to reiterate:
pagefault wrote:
Using the old gfx engine displays the correct output. We are working on a fix right now.


Fri Feb 02, 2007 4:16 pm
Trooper
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 2:45 pm
Posts: 515
Reply with quote
Post many thanx
i would like to thank to ZSNES dev. team, you guys are awesome!

new option about save state, is great, now TH-G play better with properly with save state,
move save state 10 to 100 is great too! (though i prefer named save state)

when killing / deleting all config file, it is a good thing that ZSNES not start in "D" mode anymore, since my buggy video driver can't cope with it in windowed mode :oops:

now about (black) 1 pixel last-line in below, now snapshot doesn't include that line, so creating game's overworld map from game's snapshot has become slight simpler.

thank you for considering many of our pesky request, ZSNES is awesome!!


Sat Feb 03, 2007 7:08 am
Profile
Gecko snack

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Posts: 2372
Location: Australia, QLD
Reply with quote
Post 
byuu wrote:
Seriously, the last line is a non-issue. I've had it enabled in my emulator for about a year now, and not one person has complained about it. Given I may not have such a large userbase; but all 4,000 games were tested with it, and maybe ~1% of them show something visually distracting at the bottom scanline. When it gets fixed, nobody will even notice it. Wait for it to get fixed, and then if it still bothers you, ask for a clipping option.

And to reiterate:
pagefault wrote:
Using the old gfx engine displays the correct output. We are working on a fix right now.


i understand which is why i have stopped asking about it... if snes9x shows all lines then you are correct that the last line wont annoy me once it gets fixed up.

_________________
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64


Sat Feb 03, 2007 9:35 am
Profile WWW
Inmate

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:28 am
Posts: 1485
Location: Salem, Oregon
Reply with quote
Post 
if people really are bitching about it so much would it bet that hard to create an option either way? I really don't care, I mean, hell it's you emulator.

_________________
byuu wrote:
Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(


Sat Feb 03, 2007 9:55 am
Profile WWW
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
There will be an option. The default will be to show the last line. For the last time, stop complaining.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sat Feb 03, 2007 10:04 am
Profile
Trooper

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 4:37 pm
Posts: 361
Reply with quote
Post 
It's gonna get fixed, and then needing to clip the line won't be necessary/wanted anymore.


Sat Feb 03, 2007 10:04 am
Profile WWW
Hazed
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 6:27 am
Posts: 70
Location: Brazil
Reply with quote
Post 
Aero the Acro-Bat is OK now, thanks!!! :D

_________________
THE LAST METROID IS IN CAPTIVITY.
THE GALAXY IS AT PEACE...


Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:28 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 156 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.