View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:55 pm



Reply to topic  [ 50 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Version for 486 100? 
Author Message
Rookie

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 5:38 pm
Posts: 15
Reply with quote
Post Version for 486 100?
Would an old DOS based asm version run okay with frameskip on a 486 100? Just for Puzzle Bobble and things. For an old box.

If so, which version? If I'm wasting my time, let me know. I remember trying KGen on a 486 ages ago, and it was a joke. :)


Tue Oct 04, 2005 1:28 pm
Profile
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Posts: 5615
Location: PAL50, dood !
Reply with quote
Post 
A 486 100... running on something like MS-DOS 6.22, grab current DOS version, turn off rewinds (config->saves), video 320x240 (maybe 640x480) w/o filters, sound mono & 22050 sampling rate w/o any fancies (except maybe gaussian interpolation, it sounds like ass without).

And don't expect anything fantastic.

Edit: ah, forgot - autoframeskip on, max frameskip 9, of course. Toggle New/Old graphic engine ('8') to see which one is faster for you.

_________________
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Code:
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54


Tue Oct 04, 2005 2:07 pm
Profile
Seen it all
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Posts: 2302
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
Post 
A VESA2 mode should be faster than a ModeX/ModeQ setting, right? The card might not support it though.

_________________
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list


Tue Oct 04, 2005 5:01 pm
Profile WWW
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 2:37 am
Posts: 269
Reply with quote
Post 
i could get somewhat playable framerates without sound under ModeX/Q with some of the pre-1.40 WIPs (on a 486/66), but you might want to try V.600 (or maybe even earlier?) because the older versions were alot faster than the newer ones.

_________________
ipher's WIP Site


Tue Oct 04, 2005 6:30 pm
Profile WWW
Rookie

Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 7:36 am
Posts: 14
Reply with quote
Post 
Years n years ago I used to use snes9x on a 486 66, and it worked "alright", so I'm sure you'll do fine with Zsnes.


Wed Oct 05, 2005 7:49 am
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 5:38 pm
Posts: 15
Reply with quote
Post 
I tried version 0.991 on the system, and I got about 1-3 FPS. Not much improvement by disabling sound, about 4 FPS.

Hard to see why the readme said a 486/100 was a "somewhat recommend system".

:)


Wed Oct 05, 2005 9:57 am
Profile
Seen it all
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Posts: 2302
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
Post 
You should definitely get more. :? Are the CPU caches disabled...?

_________________
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list


Wed Oct 05, 2005 11:48 am
Profile WWW
Trooper
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 6:59 pm
Posts: 530
Location: 127.0.0.1
Reply with quote
Post 
The L1 chache shouldn't be disabled. It is possible that the mobo doesn't have an L2.

What kind of video card is in that thing? ISA? VLB? PCI? Chipset? How VRAM?

You should be getting 15-30 fps with a PCI video card in a low-res VESA 256-color mode with sound, provided you're running it outside of windows.

_________________
"It is better to have tried and failed than to have failed to try, but the result's the same." - Mike Dennison


Wed Oct 05, 2005 5:27 pm
Profile WWW
Dark Wind
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 8:58 pm
Posts: 1270
Location: Texas
Reply with quote
Post 
darkfalz wrote:
I tried version 0.991 on the system, and I got about 1-3 FPS. Not much improvement by disabling sound, about 4 FPS.

Hard to see why the readme said a 486/100 was a "somewhat recommend system".

:)


Those requirements haven't been updated in years. I'd say a Pentium 200 is a "minimum" system. P3-400 recommended, fast Athlon XP or Pentium 4 if you want to use HQxX filters.

_________________
#577451


Wed Oct 05, 2005 6:00 pm
Profile WWW
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Posts: 3534
Location: Nokia Land
Reply with quote
Post 
Noxious Ninja wrote:
darkfalz wrote:
I tried version 0.991 on the system, and I got about 1-3 FPS. Not much improvement by disabling sound, about 4 FPS.

Hard to see why the readme said a 486/100 was a "somewhat recommend system".

:)


Those requirements haven't been updated in years. I'd say a Pentium 200 is a "minimum" system. P3-400 recommended, fast Athlon XP or Pentium 4 if you want to use HQxX filters.

Yeah, a Pentium 200MHz is the minimum system for ZSNES these days. Plays all games without too much lagging, except Star Ocean and SuperFX games.

_________________
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image


Wed Oct 05, 2005 6:06 pm
Profile
Veteran

Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 12:26 am
Posts: 907
Reply with quote
Post 
So the minimum requirements are different now? I thought we agreed in this thread that the current requirements in the readme are good.


Wed Oct 05, 2005 6:31 pm
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Posts: 3902
Location: Solar powered park bench
Reply with quote
Post 
darkfalz:
Try ZSNES v0.800 good compat and speed.
Use vesa2 320x240 16b.

As for the current version, I don't think 4x86 100 will cut it. P133 is probably minimum.

_________________
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding


Fri Oct 07, 2005 4:21 am
Profile WWW
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 7:13 pm
Posts: 31
Location: 127.0.0.1
Reply with quote
Post 
Don't use Vesa mode on a 486 that will really reduce your FPS yeah the transparentcies are nice, but if you want more speed you need to have them off. i'm trying to remember what settings i had for zsnes back then.. though my memory is off. but i remember that i had to not use vesa on a 486.


Fri Oct 07, 2005 4:30 pm
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 5:38 pm
Posts: 15
Reply with quote
Post 
Yes this 486 has no L2 cache, but it doesn't seem to affect games and Windows 95 that much. I get about the same performance as I did way back in the day on a similar system with an L2 cache (I still remember benchmarks, for some reason).

I expected more than 1-3 FPS in ZSNES. Maybe I will try another version.


Sat Oct 08, 2005 2:35 am
Profile
"God"

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 11:24 pm
Posts: 1128
Reply with quote
Post 
what type of video you using on that 486. I hope it ain't ISA.


Sat Oct 08, 2005 3:47 am
Profile
Redneck Gamer-Mod
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 2:15 am
Posts: 433
Location: Pittsburgh
Reply with quote
Post 
darkfalz wrote:
Yes this 486 has no L2 cache, but it doesn't seem to affect games and Windows 95 that much. I get about the same performance as I did way back in the day on a similar system with an L2 cache (I still remember benchmarks, for some reason).

I expected more than 1-3 FPS in ZSNES. Maybe I will try another version.


L2 cache typically effects performance massively.

I had a pentium-class system with bad cache. The cache made a difference between 10-20 fps and 40 to full speed.

Anyway, with a 486 100, I'd expect about 9 at the absolute peak. With a ISA-bus video card, maybe 1

_________________
SHREIK!!!!!!! DDdddnnnnnnaaaa! GESTAHLLLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!

Steelers now officially own your ass.


Sat Oct 08, 2005 5:07 am
Profile
Trooper
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 6:59 pm
Posts: 530
Location: 127.0.0.1
Reply with quote
Post 
I used to run ZSNES playably on an AMD 486/DX4-100 with EDO memory (yes it did actually support EDO, but that doesn't make that big of a difference on a 486) and a PCI ViRGE video card. That board did have the 16kb L1 and I believe 256kb L2cache. It ran surprisingly well, around 20-30 fps, in 8-bit color with low resolution sound. I think I was using VESA display modes, but it's been quite a while since I've run on that setup, around version .7a. That setup benchmarked at the same performance as a P60 with no overclocking. Now that mobo runs a 160 MHz 486 that clocks around a P90!

An ISA video card and/or lack of L2 cache is a major bottleneck. I wouldn't expect anything playable out of your current setup. If the current version of ZSNES doesn't work, try something pre-1.0, but it probably won't make much of a difference. On a 486, you absolutely need an L2 cache and a VLB or PCI video card to get anything near playable.

_________________
"It is better to have tried and failed than to have failed to try, but the result's the same." - Mike Dennison


Sat Oct 08, 2005 9:09 am
Profile WWW
Dark Wind
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 8:58 pm
Posts: 1270
Location: Texas
Reply with quote
Post 
Ah, old copmputers.

_________________
#577451


Sat Oct 08, 2005 1:16 pm
Profile WWW
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 7:25 pm
Posts: 43
Reply with quote
Post 
I Used 0.800 on my am486 16MB Ram with VLB graphic. I got a reasonable amount a FPS but.. not enough for me to be happy.

You will definately want to run it in Pure DOS.

_________________
The pouiller the better


Sat Oct 22, 2005 9:01 pm
Profile WWW
Veteran

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 11:15 am
Posts: 970
Location: Montana, United States
Reply with quote
Post 
AntoineWG wrote:
I used to run ZSNES playably on an AMD 486/DX4-100 with EDO memory (yes it did actually support EDO, but that doesn't make that big of a difference on a 486) and a PCI ViRGE video card. That board did have the 16kb L1 and I believe 256kb L2cache. It ran surprisingly well, around 20-30 fps, in 8-bit color with low resolution sound. I think I was using VESA display modes, but it's been quite a while since I've run on that setup, around version .7a. That setup benchmarked at the same performance as a P60 with no overclocking. Now that mobo runs a 160 MHz 486 that clocks around a P90!

An ISA video card and/or lack of L2 cache is a major bottleneck. I wouldn't expect anything playable out of your current setup. If the current version of ZSNES doesn't work, try something pre-1.0, but it probably won't make much of a difference. On a 486, you absolutely need an L2 cache and a VLB or PCI video card to get anything near playable.


That sounds about right. Cept I never had a vesa compliant card. So all I could use modeq or whatever the hell it was.


Sun Oct 23, 2005 12:20 am
Profile
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 11:46 pm
Posts: 16
Location: location, location
Reply with quote
Post 
Heh, I wonder how my 486 (33 MHz, 8 MB RAM) would handle Zsnes. But at the moment I can't be bothered digging it up to check. :P

_________________
For great justice.


Sun Oct 23, 2005 7:16 pm
Profile YIM WWW
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 7:25 pm
Posts: 43
Reply with quote
Post 
MonkeyforaHead wrote:
Heh, I wonder how my 486 (33 MHz, 8 MB RAM) would handle Zsnes. But at the moment I can't be bothered digging it up to check. :P


I think you would lose 5 minutes of your life :)

_________________
The pouiller the better


Sun Oct 23, 2005 7:36 pm
Profile WWW
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 7:13 pm
Posts: 31
Location: 127.0.0.1
Reply with quote
Post 
MonkeyforaHead wrote:
Heh, I wonder how my 486 (33 MHz, 8 MB RAM) would handle Zsnes. But at the moment I can't be bothered digging it up to check. :P


i don't know about 33mhz, but it goes crappy on a 40mhz computer.. so.. i guess it will be more crappy.

_________________
Image


Mon Oct 24, 2005 1:35 pm
Profile
Simply Amazin'
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 6:37 am
Posts: 60
Reply with quote
Post Re: Version for 486 100?
I just tried ZSNES on my 486 as per grinvader's advise and it runs like shit! WTF?!

_________________
Image


Wed Jan 23, 2013 6:31 pm
Profile
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 3:46 am
Posts: 280
Location: Tromaville
Reply with quote
Post Re: Version for 486 100?
Cooljerk wrote:
I just tried ZSNES on my 486 as per grinvader's advise and it runs like shit! WTF?!

grinvader wrote:

And don't expect anything fantastic.


Also way to go with the necromancy, this thread is over seven years old.


Wed Jan 23, 2013 6:49 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 50 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.