View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 3:07 pm



This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 14 posts ] 
Problem with ups auto-patching 
Author Message
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 11:17 pm
Posts: 31
Post Problem with ups auto-patching
Hi,

Having a problem with ups auto-patching in bsnes (0.042, but same with earlier versions).

I'm trying to use AGTP's "Assault Suits Valken" translation patch. Took the following steps:
1. Applied the ips patch to the rom (hard patch).
2. Checked that the translated rom is working (and translated).
3. Created ups patch from original rom and translated rom.
4. Loaded up the rom in bsnes -- the status bar says "ups applied", but the game is not translated.
5. As a sanity check, hard-patching the original rom with the ups patch works fine.

Any ideas?

Thanks.


Tue Mar 31, 2009 1:42 am
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 5:38 am
Posts: 41
Post 
Isn't UPS a bi-directional patch?
Could it be applying the patch to de-translate the translated ROM?


Tue Mar 31, 2009 2:42 am
Profile
Post 
It is bi-directional.

Hmm. I don't see any problems with the patching code on my side. Pretty sure I tested recently with Der Langrisser. But I was way wrong with BS-X loading, so let me test it again and get back to you.

Thank you for the report, as well as for trying UPS :D


Tue Mar 31, 2009 2:43 am
Post 
Image

It's working, but it seems there's a slight issue with the v040+ path system that nobody noticed -> reported to me.

I keep my own "working directory" thing due to changes with Win 7, and bugs in Qt 4.4's QGtkStyle (subsequently fixed in 4.5.) I only update that path after successful game load, which is after the patching portion of code.

The net effect is if you don't select paths for UPS files, the first game load will look in the startup folder instead of the game folder for loading of UPS patches. I didn't notice as I use paths for everything.

SRM+CHT works correctly as the path is set before this point.


Tue Mar 31, 2009 5:21 pm
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 11:17 pm
Posts: 31
Post 
I'm trying UPS since I hate hard-patching and I love bsnes... :)

Hmm, this is confounding --- I tried it with the Der Langrisser translation, and sure enough it works just fine with that patch...

However, I'm still seeing the same issue with the other patches I try to make myself.
Tried it with a couple of different games and ips translation patches --
I create a ups patch (as described in my original post), and I see the "...and applied UPS patch" message on the status bar, but the games continue to load and play as if unpatched.

I've tried it with three games, all showing the same issue:
* Assault Suits Valken
* Final Fantasy IV
* Cu-On-Pa

Anything I can use for better troubleshooting?

Many thanks!

(Oh, and the path issue is probably unrelated -- I also have all of my paths explicitly defined).


Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:26 pm
Profile
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 9:32 am
Posts: 347
Location: The Netherlands
Post 
What tool did you use to make the patch? I'm pretty sure at least one of them is broken, though I can't remember in what way <.<


Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:29 pm
Profile
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 11:17 pm
Posts: 31
Post 
How I apply the original IPS patch is irrelevant -- since the resulting rom is working fine when loaded directly.

The only other tool involved is byuu's tsukuyomi UPS patcher which I use to create the UPS file.


Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:35 pm
Profile
Post 
Quote:
I'm trying UPS since I hate hard-patching and I love bsnes...


:D

Quote:
Anything I can use for better troubleshooting?


Yeah, we'll definitely figure it out.

What's the size of your patch? If it's < 30 bytes, it may be making a patch against itself which would obviously do nothing.

Can you upload the patch to megaupload.com or rapidshare.de?

I can try making one off these games if you have no luck here. Too bad I can't talk any translator peoples into distributing with UPS :(


Tue Mar 31, 2009 11:11 pm
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 11:17 pm
Posts: 31
Post 
Well, the size of the patch file seems reasonable (more-or-less like the ips patch).
Let me just say again -- the patch file is usable by tsukuyomi, and functions correctly...

One thing I noticed while playing around with it, is that even if the ups file matched by bsnes is complete garbage (i.e. random bytes, text, whatever) bsnes will not complain in any way, and it will still write the "and applied UPS patch" message.

This makes me guess that the patches I created may be somehow damaged.

Anyway, here is the patch I tried making for Final Fantasy IV: http://rapidshare.com/files/215949826/Final_Fantasy_IV__J___R1.1_.ups.html

Thanks for your help!


Tue Mar 31, 2009 11:33 pm
Profile
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 9:32 am
Posts: 347
Location: The Netherlands
Post 
nachch wrote:
How I apply the original IPS patch is irrelevant -- since the resulting rom is working fine when loaded directly.

The only other tool involved is byuu's tsukuyomi UPS patcher which I use to create the UPS file.

Yeah, I was talking about the UPS patcher. I think the one originally distributed with Der Langrisser was broken? Anyway, I'll leave you guys to it :)


Tue Mar 31, 2009 11:58 pm
Profile
Post 
Thanks, I see what's happening now. This is my fault, so I apologize for any wasted time or frustration caused.

You created the patch off of two ROMs that both had copier headers, but bsnes strips the headers before applying a UPS patch. Essentially, it's the emulator that enforces the no-header rule to get around the IPS "header vs no header" problem. The reason tsukuyomi doesn't, is because it's a generic patcher for all systems; and I've been too busy / lazy to update it to specifically detect SNES games and remove headers first. To be honest, I've been hoping someone else would make a really nice patcher, but so far no luck.

It should not be stating that the patch applied okay, unless the UPS CRC32 bypass option is enabled. I'll have to look into why it's accepting invalid patches.

Here's a working patch:
http://rapidshare.com/files/215980873/ff4.ups.html


Wed Apr 01, 2009 2:09 am
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 11:17 pm
Posts: 31
Post 
OK, so the general rule is simply to make sure the roms I use as input to tsukuyomi have no header.
Great, thanks!


Wed Apr 01, 2009 2:17 am
Profile
Post 
Yes, and I'll do my best to make sure the next version of tsukuyomi does this transparently :D


Wed Apr 01, 2009 2:20 am
Lurker

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 10:36 pm
Posts: 199
Post 
Working on Final Fantasy IV (Japan) (Rev A). Just letting you know if you using No-Intro cm. Won't work on Final Fantasy IV (Japan).

I don't know why they didn't use this part of the title.

Image

_________________
Window Vista Home Premium 32-bit / Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.40Ghz / 3.00 GB RAM / Nvidia GeForce 8500 GT


Wed Apr 01, 2009 2:14 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.   [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.