View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Nov 17, 2019 9:48 am



This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
tsukuyomi problem 
Author Message
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 10:55 pm
Posts: 43
Reply with quote
Post tsukuyomi problem
Image

Picture speaks for it self. :P

In short I'm trying the use the new (.ups) patch for Der Langrisser, but I keep getting this error.

Nsrt checks the rom as ok.



---------------------Internal ROM Info----------------------
File: Der Langrisser (J) (V1.0).smc
Name: デア・ラングリッサー Company: NCS
Header: None Bank: LoROM
Interleaved: No SRAM: 64 Kb
Type: Normal + Batt ROM: 16 Mb
Country: Japan Video: NTSC
ROM Speed: 120ns (FastROM) Revision: 1.0
Checksum: Good 0x0560 CRC32: 7AEDD703
MD5: E5BC92BCCD1F5DE77C41A9838B7D1F1B
--------------------------Database--------------------------
Name: Der Langrisser
Country: Japan Revision: 1.0
Port 1: Gamepad Port 2: Gamepad
Genre 1: Strategy Genre 2: RPG


:( :( :(

Btw I am trying to play this on bsnes.

_________________
BLARGH!


Thu Jul 31, 2008 7:12 am
Profile
Reply with quote
Post 
You're using V1.0, but you need V1.1 without a header.


Thu Jul 31, 2008 7:30 am
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 10:55 pm
Posts: 43
Reply with quote
Post 
Oh ok, thank man. :) :)

_________________
BLARGH!


Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:29 pm
Profile
Trooper
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 2:45 pm
Posts: 515
Reply with quote
Post 
i also haveing problem with tsukuyomi, or to precise with hiro (win) libs...
erm, these problem were OS related as it only shows on my win98se machine, while on other XP machine it show no problem whatsoever.

first i got this:
    Image
after recommenting the SetLayeredWindowAttributes() function then recompiling it, i managed into this:
    Image
however, when i click "Browse" nothing happened...
anyway i decided to type the filenames directly then hit "Apply", luckly it works.

anyway, thanks for the excelent Der Langrisser patch, i can understand the story. :D


Fri Aug 01, 2008 7:00 am
Profile
Reply with quote
Post 
None of my software is compatible with Windows 98 anymore, sorry. It's too old, and I want features that are only in NT variants.

Glad you got it working anyway, though.


Fri Aug 01, 2008 12:45 pm
Romhacking God

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 11:27 pm
Posts: 922
Reply with quote
Post 
What kind of NT specific features are you using in a 'seemingly simple' application out of curiosity?

_________________
[url=http://transcorp.romhacking.net]TransCorp[/url] - Home of the Dual Orb 2, Cho Mahou Tairyku Wozz, and Emerald Dragon SFC/SNES translations.
[url=http://www.romhacking.net]ROMhacking.net[/url] - The central hub of the ROM hacking community.


Fri Aug 01, 2008 2:02 pm
Profile WWW
Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:31 am
Posts: 1140
Reply with quote
Post 
Possibly uses Unicode functions, which require Windows NT. Windows 9x implements them, but they don't really work.

There's also layered windows, which require Windows 2000 or newer, but that's probably a poor excuse.


Fri Aug 01, 2008 8:36 pm
Profile WWW
New Member

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 2:53 am
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
Post help pls
I am having trouble patching the der langrisser file. I am using the ups file, and the der langrisser v1.1. I dont know how to eliminate the header, but i dont think its the issue with this. When i try to apply the patch i get this message...

To directly patch source file, a temporary file is being made.
Upon successful patching, the target file will be replaced with this.

Applying patch file 'C:\Users\Choch\Desktop\dl.ups' ...
Reading file 'C:\Users\Choch\Desktop\Der Langrisser (1.1) (ja-JP).smc' ...
Target file is 'C:\Users\Choch\Desktop\Der Langrisser (1.1) (ja-JP).smc.utm' ...
Patch application will take approximately 0 minute(s), 2 second(s).
Please be patient ... UI will not be responsive during this time.

Failed! Input file is invalid.


Please byuu help me! lol


Sat Aug 02, 2008 2:56 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
Use NSRT to remove the header. It's more important if the file is a valid dump.. which you could use NSRT for as well.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:05 am
Profile
Reply with quote
Post 
Quote:
What kind of NT specific features are you using in a 'seemingly simple' application out of curiosity?


It's not the application, it's the library underneath.

1) SHBrowseForFolder / OpenFile parameters that are NT-specific
2) UTF-8 (automatically converted to UTF-16) -- should work on Win98SE, but not on Win95 without Unicode for Windows
3) Alpha translucency (on Linux as well! Much better looking there as the controls retain full alpha.)
4) I use AlphaBlend which is only available OOTB on Win98+
5) I do a lot of things that Win9x doesn't like due to underlying API differences, like invoke window procedures directly, rather than through that indirect wrapper thing.

For the most part, as you've seen, you can make it work with some minor changes. But I:
A) don't have Win98 to test for regressions on
and
B) don't care to develop for yet another platform, one which is over ten years old now.

I really don't mind if people want to keep using Win9x for whatever reason, but I unfortunately don't have the resources to support them.

This isn't directed at anyone specific -- but please don't complain about the work I do provide everyone free of charge and to the public domain just because it doesn't have something you personally want. Anyone is welcome to add back Win98 support and release their own version if they like.

Quote:
Please byuu help me! lol


You don't have the right DL v1.1 ROM. I'd recommend trying NSRT to scan the ROM, it can also remove headers. Is Nach's page back up with that without needing to edit HOSTS yet? Or does anyone know of another good place to get it?


Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:05 am
Zealot

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 7:03 am
Posts: 1325
Reply with quote
Post 
Romhacking.net has NSRT in its' utilities section.


Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:09 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
Try: http://snesemu.black-ship.net/index.php?page=tools

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:10 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 2:53 am
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
Post 
the problem is i am running vista, is that going to work on vista? Im still fairly new to the rom hacking scene, i dont want anyone to go out of thier way, but i need some step by step help if it can be offered...


Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:23 am
Profile
Trooper
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 3:11 am
Posts: 394
Location: Space
Reply with quote
Post 
It works on Vista just fine.

_________________
Kega Fusion Supporter | bsnes Supporter | Regen Supporter


Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:43 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 2:53 am
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
Post 
well, i dont know what i did, but i did it, ty for the help because all the feedback helped me find the right site. Im off to play!! ty again!


Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:44 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
It actually helps to try it out before wondering whether or not it doesn't work. You want to be running the frontend (nf.exe) for your own good.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:44 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 2:53 am
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
Post 
ok so i have one more question, i played the gen version of langrisser 2, and there was a cheat that let you use all the spells and move infinite amount of times, is there a cheat like that for this one? I only ask because the last time i was playing a lvl i got stuck because one of the girls that had to stay alive kept walking into the range of lava flow and dying i had to start over, so just to have a back up, does it exist?


Sat Aug 02, 2008 4:41 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
There are cheats included in the zip file with the translation...

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sat Aug 02, 2008 4:49 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 2:53 am
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
Post 
i didnt see them till now, but how do get them to work?


Sat Aug 02, 2008 4:55 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 2:53 am
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
Post 
i tried putting the file into the game file, but it still didnt show up when i ran the game.


Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:01 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
There's a cheat menu accessible after the game is load, and it helps a lot when you rename the cheat file to match the game's filename.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:05 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 2:53 am
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
Post 
how do i apply the cheat file to the game file? Again im still new to this kind of stuff. Any help would be much appreciated.


Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:06 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
1) Rename the cht file to match the original game. "Der Lang.smc" expects "Der Lang.cht".
2) Put this file in the save directory, and if there isn't one, put it in the same folder the game is in.
3) Load up the game as normal, then goto the Cheat->Add Code.
4) Hit the Load button. If nothing appears, most likely you didn't do the first two steps correctly. When the stuff does appear, you should toggle the stuff on if you want those cheats to operate.

It also helps to RTFM for the answers your seek.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:14 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 2:53 am
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
Post 
well i tried the method, and i couldnt get it work work, and i read the manuel and it has nothing on how to apply the cheat file. I appreciate the help death. Ill keep trying, if you have anything else to add that may be helpful id appreciate it.


Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:26 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 2:53 am
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
Post 
omg so why is it that everytime i say i cant get it to work, it suddenly works? lol


Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:28 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.   [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.