View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Jan 20, 2019 12:47 am



Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Secret of Evermore freezes 
Author Message
New Member

Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 7:26 pm
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Secret of Evermore freezes
Hi, I haven't found a solution for my problem: With ZSNES 1.51 the game "Secret of Evermore" freezes (when I change a map -> black screen and no reaction!). But it doesn't depend on the location or any events in the game. Sometimes it works, sometimes not. Is there a patch for Secret of Evermore (german version) or a option I have to activate/deactivate? With the "SNES 9x"-emulator the games seems to work, but this emulator has not the great Kitchen Sync feature.

I've googled everywhere, but beside the 2 Player-Patch, I haven't found anything.

(I hope everyone understand my English ;)) - Greetz from Germany!


Wed Dec 19, 2007 7:40 pm
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
Use NSRT to scan the ROM so we can determine it is a good dump.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Wed Dec 19, 2007 7:57 pm
Profile
New Member

Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 7:26 pm
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post 
I wasn't easy to find NSRT^^.
But here is the result of the scan:

---------------------Internal ROM Info----------------------
File: Secret of Evermore-(de).smc
Name: SECRET OF EVERMORE
Company: Nintendo
Header: SWC
Bank: HiROM
Interleaved: None
SRAM: 64 Kb
Type: Normal + Batt
ROM: 24 Mb
Country: Germ/Aust/Switz
Video: PAL
ROM Speed: 120ns (FastROM)
Revision: 1.0
Checksum: Good 0x1971
Game Code: AEOD
---------------------------Hashes---------------------------
CRC32: 27F60E77
MD5: 0D131FF1D7896D6994B03FE2751D820B
--------------------------Database--------------------------
Name: Secret of Evermore
Country: Germany
Revision: 1.0
Port 1: Gamepad
Port 2: Gamepad
Genre 1: RPG
Genre 2: Action


What can I do now to make that game working (it's the only rom, that doesn't really work with ZSNES 1.51)?

EDIT: I don't know if it's important for that problem, but when the music changes in Secret of Evermore, the last second of the previous musictrack recurs before the new one starts.


Wed Dec 19, 2007 8:34 pm
Profile
Seen it all
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Posts: 2302
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
Post 
The "force NTSC" checkbox in the ROM loader is unchecked, right?

_________________
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list


Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:20 am
Profile WWW
New Member

Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 7:26 pm
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post 
Jepp, that's right. The rom runs on PAL (100 Hz with Kitchen Sync). Both, force PAL or NTSC are unchecked.

Am I the first with that problem? Could it be due to the PAL-version oder the Kitchen Sync? Or something with the sound-output (32000 Hz, gaussian interpol., low pass filter=off)?


Thu Dec 20, 2007 1:14 pm
Profile
New Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 10:53 am
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Re: Secret of Evermore freezes
Cylet wrote:
Hi, I haven't found a solution for my problem: With ZSNES 1.51 the game "Secret of Evermore" freezes (when I change a map -> black screen and no reaction!). But it doesn't depend on the location or any events in the game. Sometimes it works, sometimes not. Is there a patch for Secret of Evermore (german version) or a option I have to activate/deactivate? With the "SNES 9x"-emulator the games seems to work, but this emulator has not the great Kitchen Sync feature.

I've googled everywhere, but beside the 2 Player-Patch, I haven't found anything.

(I hope everyone understand my English ;)) - Greetz from Germany!


I have exactly the same problem, my version is the spanish one, I've tryed changing every option in sound and video prefs with no succes, the problem remains the same. I use ZSNES 1.51. Here is the NSRT dump:

---------------------Internal ROM Info----------------------
File: Secret of Evermore.sfc
Name: SECRET OF EVERMORE Company: Nintendo
Header: None Bank: HiROM
Interleaved: None SRAM: 64 Kb
Type: Normal + Batt ROM: 24 Mb
Country: Spain Video: PAL
ROM Speed: 120ns (FastROM) Revision: 1.0
Checksum: Good 0x87EC Game Code: AEOS
---------------------------Hashes---------------------------
CRC32: 7BFE934F
--------------------------Database--------------------------
Name: Secret of Evermore
Country: Spain Revision: 1.0
Port 1: Gamepad Port 2: Gamepad
Genre 1: RPG Genre 2: Action


Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:15 am
Profile
Inmate

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:28 am
Posts: 1485
Location: Salem, Oregon
Reply with quote
Post 
wow, it's been forever since a good old fashion bug has come around.

_________________
byuu wrote:
Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(


Fri Dec 28, 2007 1:16 am
Profile WWW
Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 2:01 am
Posts: 1076
Reply with quote
Post 
Does the NTSC version have this problem? I heard some PAL versions are kinda shitty and buggy.


Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:38 am
Profile WWW
New Member

Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 7:26 pm
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post 
About the NTSC version I can't say anything, but I tried some PAL roms of that game. Always the same bug. Maybe something special in that rom, what ZSNES don't like^^?


Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:26 am
Profile
Reply with quote
Post 
I can confirm this bug with both, German PAL version and US NTSC! Happens with Zsnes 1.51. Haven't tried older versions yet, but I remember it worked flawlessly in the past.


Sun Feb 10, 2008 4:13 pm
Gecko snack

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Posts: 2372
Location: Australia, QLD
Reply with quote
Post 
what did you compare the bug to? if not the original console then how can you be sure that what happens is a bug?

_________________
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64


Sun Feb 10, 2008 10:48 pm
Profile WWW
New Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 10:53 am
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post 
franpa wrote:
what did you compare the bug to? if not the original console then how can you be sure that what happens is a bug?


I've tryed the ROM with Snes9x and SnesGT, it works flawlessly every time.
It's a ZSNES bug.


Mon Feb 11, 2008 12:45 am
Profile
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 8:55 am
Posts: 265
Location: The Netherlands
Reply with quote
Post 
Deckard wrote:
franpa wrote:
what did you compare the bug to? if not the original console then how can you be sure that what happens is a bug?


I've tryed the ROM with Snes9x and SnesGT, it works flawlessly every time.
It's a ZSNES bug.

Either compare with bsnes or the original console. Comparing with other (more or less) inaccurate emulators will not provide you with proper evidence of this bug.

_________________
"Change is inevitable; progress is optional"


Mon Feb 11, 2008 9:57 am
Profile
New Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 10:53 am
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post 
ShadowFX wrote:
Deckard wrote:
franpa wrote:
what did you compare the bug to? if not the original console then how can you be sure that what happens is a bug?


I've tryed the ROM with Snes9x and SnesGT, it works flawlessly every time.
It's a ZSNES bug.

Either compare with bsnes or the original console. Comparing with other (more or less) inaccurate emulators will not provide you with proper evidence of this bug.


:? The other (more or less) inaccuarate emulators DO NOT freeze at the exact same point where ZSNES freezes again and again.

Anyway, TESTED with bsnes v0.028, it worked fine. ZSNES keep freezing.

Hope you're happy now :wink:

Regards.


Wed Feb 13, 2008 1:23 am
Profile
Reply with quote
Post 
I just played the PAL version of Evermore on zsnes 1.42 for several hours, no crashes/freezes at all.

So I guess it has to be a bug in Zsnes 1.51.


Sat Feb 16, 2008 12:57 pm
Justice is Blind
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:33 pm
Posts: 620
Location: Test
Reply with quote
Post 
It has happened on 1.42n for me. Needed to use 1.36.

Christ I cannot wait for 2.0 to have netplay...


Thu Feb 21, 2008 10:29 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Posts: 5613
Location: PAL50, dood !
Reply with quote
Post 
I hope the new netplay will make your ass explode, in an awesome non-lethal way.

At least we'll do our best to make it so. We even hired captain Picard.

_________________
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Code:
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54


Fri Feb 22, 2008 8:27 pm
Profile
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Posts: 3534
Location: Nokia Land
Reply with quote
Post 
Make it so.

_________________
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image


Fri Feb 22, 2008 8:33 pm
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 1:18 pm
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
Post 
Any progress on fixing this bug yet? I can confirm the random freezing happens for me too with the US version of SoE, ZSNES 1.51.

_________________
=== Jez ===


Sun Jul 26, 2009 11:36 pm
Profile
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Posts: 5613
Location: PAL50, dood !
Reply with quote
Post 
No news means no news.

_________________
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Code:
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54


Mon Jul 27, 2009 6:00 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 5:57 pm
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Post Re: Secret of Evermore freezes
Hey, sorry for pushing this thread, but i have the same problem. blackscreen sometimes if i try to change the map. Any help? tried it with zsnes and snes9x. Please, help me :(


Mon Oct 15, 2012 6:00 pm
Profile
Official tech support dood

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:57 am
Posts: 2075
Reply with quote
Post Re:
grinvader wrote:
No news means no news.
Deckard wrote:
TESTED with bsnes v0.028, it worked fine.

_________________
Why yes, my shift key *IS* broken.


Mon Oct 15, 2012 6:54 pm
Profile
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Posts: 5613
Location: PAL50, dood !
Reply with quote
Post Re: Re:
odditude wrote:
Deckard wrote:
bsnes

huehuehuehuehuehue

no such thing

_________________
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Code:
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54


Mon Oct 15, 2012 7:01 pm
Profile
Official tech support dood

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:57 am
Posts: 2075
Reply with quote
Post Re: Secret of Evermore freezes
i still want my z.nes with external toaster support and superfx for precise buttering calculations.

and i'm too lazy right now to circumvent the filter. ninja edit pls?

random ninja on duty #3547: sure thing bro

thx. best board ninjas ever here.

_________________
Why yes, my shift key *IS* broken.


Mon Oct 15, 2012 7:26 pm
Profile
New Member

Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 6:21 pm
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Post Re: Secret of Evermore freezes
I think I found a workaround. On my copy, the sound kept cutting out and it would freeze on a screen change.

So... under sound config, I changed Interpolation from Gaussian to none. It hasn't freezed since.


Tue Feb 19, 2013 6:24 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.