View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Jan 18, 2019 11:42 am



Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Crackling Sound in ZSNES v1.51 
Author Message
New Member

Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 3:04 am
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Crackling Sound in ZSNES v1.51
Hi, I am here to report a sound bug in ZSNES version 1.51. Today I was playing Super Empire Strikes Back and I kept hearing static-like crackling at
certain parts of the game that are not supposed to be there! In the 2nd level when you walk around, there is a loud obnoxious ''ksst!" sound! It's
really annoying me. :( Can you guys please fix this? Thanks!


Mon Jun 08, 2015 3:17 am
Profile
"Your thread will be crushed."
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 1:49 am
Posts: 1233
Location: Not in Winnipeg
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crackling Sound in ZSNES v1.51
You are going to need to give us more information. Which operating system are you on, for instance?

Also, keep in mind that the sound emulation in 1.51 is not perfect.

_________________
<pagefault> i'd break up with my wife if she said FF8 was awesome


Tue Jun 09, 2015 7:23 pm
Profile WWW
New Member

Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 3:04 am
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crackling Sound in ZSNES v1.51
I'm using a Windows 8.1, and the ROM is "Super Star Wars - The Empire Strikes Back (USA)".
The sound bug never happened with the first Super Star Wars game. :?


Wed Jun 10, 2015 7:07 am
Profile
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Posts: 5613
Location: PAL50, dood !
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crackling Sound in ZSNES v1.51
Iirc, nothing you can do about it. Iiarc, Return of the Jedi has the same issues. Old sound core not up to scratch.

_________________
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Code:
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54


Wed Jun 10, 2015 7:02 pm
Profile
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4229
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crackling Sound in ZSNES v1.51
ZSNES is a sith lord. It can't stand against the light of the force.

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


KHDownloads


Wed Jun 10, 2015 11:04 pm
Profile
New Member

Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 3:04 am
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crackling Sound in ZSNES v1.51
Is there a alternative way, like a patch or something? I really want to play these games again... Stupid audio bug! :x


Wed Jun 17, 2015 4:58 am
Profile
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 3:46 am
Posts: 278
Location: Tromaville
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crackling Sound in ZSNES v1.51
Beta wrote:
Is there a alternative way, like a patch or something? I really want to play these games again... Stupid audio bug! :x

Your best bet is to either use snes9x or bsnes, which have more accurate sound emulation.


Wed Jun 17, 2015 6:33 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 3:04 am
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crackling Sound in ZSNES v1.51
I tried SNES9x, however the latest version has a different audio bug. All 3 Super Star Wars games have endless buzzing, and I can't get it to stop.

BSNES I never tried, but I think I should first ask and see if the guys at the SNES9x forum might know how to deal with the 2nd audio bug.

BTW, the 1st audio bug is gone in SNES9x, but the 2nd audio bug makes that moot.


Wed Jun 17, 2015 7:16 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2015 1:01 am
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crackling Sound in ZSNES v1.51
I am having this same problem. I tried in zSNES and SNES9x. Horrible buzzing sound makes it unplayable. Tried a few different version of the ROM too. Anyone know if any solution has been found for this?


Sun Nov 15, 2015 1:03 am
Profile
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4229
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crackling Sound in ZSNES v1.51
captainkoloth wrote:
I am having this same problem. I tried in zSNES and SNES9x. Horrible buzzing sound makes it unplayable. Tried a few different version of the ROM too. Anyone know if any solution has been found for this?

Has the emulator been updated in the last six months? No, it hasn't.

The answer is still "Try bsnes, AKA higan. "

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


KHDownloads


Sun Nov 15, 2015 10:29 am
Profile
can't make up their mind
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 7:51 pm
Posts: 79
Location: England
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crackling Sound in ZSNES v1.51
lol higan doesn't even bother to recognise my .sfc files for no pparant reason.

_________________
Dell XPS M1530 PP28L | Intel Core 2 Duo T7250 (2.00GhZ) | NVIDIA GeForce 8600M | 4GB RAM | Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit
Gaminable - sadly doesn't have a snazzy UI like ZSNES's


Sat Dec 12, 2015 11:26 pm
Profile WWW
Rookie

Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 1:56 am
Posts: 13
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crackling Sound in ZSNES v1.51
Termingamer2-JD wrote:
lol higan doesn't even bother to recognise my .sfc files for no pparant reason.


what version of higan are you using?

v095 of higan runs only on 64bit Windows while the previous version (v094) can be used on either 32bit or 64bit edition of Windows.


Thu Dec 17, 2015 1:31 am
Profile
can't make up their mind
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 7:51 pm
Posts: 79
Location: England
Reply with quote
Post Re: Crackling Sound in ZSNES v1.51
epman6 wrote:
Termingamer2-JD wrote:
lol higan doesn't even bother to recognise my .sfc files for no pparant reason.


what version of higan are you using?

v095 of higan runs only on 64bit Windows while the previous version (v094) can be used on either 32bit or 64bit edition of Windows.

v095 on Windows Vista x64 using performance core.
ROM in question: DONKEY KONG COUNTRY 2 - DIDDY'S KONG QUEST (E) (M2) [!].SFC

_________________
Dell XPS M1530 PP28L | Intel Core 2 Duo T7250 (2.00GhZ) | NVIDIA GeForce 8600M | 4GB RAM | Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit
Gaminable - sadly doesn't have a snazzy UI like ZSNES's


Sun Dec 20, 2015 5:22 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.