View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:06 am



Reply to topic  [ 92 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
SVN Sound Core Replacement 
Author Message
Rookie

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 2:41 pm
Posts: 35
Reply with quote
Post 
I don't mind using the old sound core for now... except for the Chrono Trigger bugs which were fixed in a new version, after the last "good" sound build. So, is the sound core just using one file? Or can I in any way separate out the old sound core and the new timing build?


Thu Feb 22, 2007 11:20 pm
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
RealmRPGer wrote:
I don't mind using the old sound core for now... except for the Chrono Trigger bugs which were fixed in a new version, after the last "good" sound build. So, is the sound core just using one file? Or can I in any way separate out the old sound core and the new timing build?


Don't even suggest that. The fact is, the old sound core wasn't perfect and to keep using that is no less than stupid.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Thu Feb 22, 2007 11:30 pm
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 2:41 pm
Posts: 35
Reply with quote
Post 
Yeah, but, I wanna play Chrono Trigger WITH sound and WITHOUT graphical bugs.


Sat Feb 24, 2007 2:48 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
Use the last known good build or wait like everyone else.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sat Feb 24, 2007 3:00 am
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 8:39 pm
Posts: 32
Reply with quote
Post 
SVN code is for a beta release, ok... but, I don't understand why the sound is not real (zsnesw.exe only create a file named zdsp.wav)...

Is this correct? Why zsnesw.exe don't playing the sound of zdsp.wav? Is only a wav file (Signed 16bit PCM / 2 Channels / 32000 Hz). In the "final" release no, of course, but now, can you create alternative method for hear sound while playing?

For now, almost times the sound of zdsp.wav is better than the sound of revision 4538, but in other times no (in Super Metroid (E) the sound have low quality...).

Bad English :lol: I hope that you understand me :roll: .


Tue Feb 27, 2007 9:19 pm
Profile
Trooper

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 4:37 pm
Posts: 361
Reply with quote
Post 
I guess it's just set to dump to a file for testing, not for playing.


Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:22 am
Profile WWW
Gecko snack

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Posts: 2372
Location: Australia, QLD
Reply with quote
Post 
http://board.zsnes.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=9526

that explains why there is no sound being played in the windows version.

_________________
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64


Wed Feb 28, 2007 2:06 am
Profile WWW
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:18 pm
Posts: 768
Reply with quote
Post 
franpa wrote:
http://board.zsnes.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=9526

that explains why there is no sound being played in the windows version.

Impressive. You just linked to the topic in which you are posting.

_________________
Official ZSNES Docs | NSRT Guide | Using a Wiimote w/ emulators


Wed Feb 28, 2007 2:17 am
Profile WWW
Inmate
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 7:47 am
Posts: 1751
Location: WA
Reply with quote
Post 
people are that stupid, that they complain about not having sound in the topic announcing that they should shut up and not complain about no sound in the latest svn.

_________________
Image


Wed Feb 28, 2007 2:46 am
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 8:39 pm
Posts: 32
Reply with quote
Post 
sweener2001 wrote:
people are that stupid, that they complain about not having sound in the topic announcing that they should shut up and not complain about no sound in the latest svn.


if exists, what part of the source code is necessary CHANGE for have a real sound? If possible, I will wish test the new improvements of each new version of SVN (for me is better hear directly the sound in game). It's all !

If no exist this change of code... no problem! I wait the final release with the new sound core 8) .


Wed Feb 28, 2007 10:53 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
momotaro wrote:
sweener2001 wrote:
people are that stupid, that they complain about not having sound in the topic announcing that they should shut up and not complain about no sound in the latest svn.


if exists, what part of the source code is necessary CHANGE for have a real sound? If possible, I will wish test the new improvements of each new version of SVN (for me is better hear directly the sound in game). It's all !

If no exist this change of code... no problem! I wait the final release with the new sound core 8) .


What we have here is a failure to communicate. Just wait like everyone else as said before.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Wed Feb 28, 2007 11:25 am
Profile
Reply with quote
Post 
i didn't want to make a new thread, b/c i'm sort of a n00b at this so i'll just ask a quick question here

if i'm playing a game, load up a save state, and all of a sudden i don't get any sound, is that type of problem that's being addressed in the next release b/c of this thread?


thx :D


Sun Mar 04, 2007 9:06 pm
Inmate

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:28 am
Posts: 1485
Location: Salem, Oregon
Reply with quote
Post 
yellowcyclone wrote:
i didn't want to make a new thread, b/c i'm sort of a n00b at this so i'll just ask a quick question here

if i'm playing a game, load up a save state, and all of a sudden i don't get any sound, is that type of problem that's being addressed in the next release b/c of this thread?


thx :D


it all depends on what version you are using my friend, if you are a noob, which you yourself claimed. Then I DOUBT you are using the SVN, in which case you wouldn't have to worry about THESE sound bugs.

_________________
byuu wrote:
Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(


Mon Mar 05, 2007 7:48 am
Profile WWW
Reply with quote
Post 
Panzer88 wrote:
it all depends on what version you are using my friend, if you are a noob, which you yourself claimed. Then I DOUBT you are using the SVN, in which case you wouldn't have to worry about THESE sound bugs.


well i was using 1.36, and that's when i started having the problems. so i upgraded to 1.51 and nothing happened.

i guess i'll just make a new thread, thx anyway


Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:18 am
Veteran

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 11:15 am
Posts: 970
Location: Montana, United States
Reply with quote
Post 
yellowcyclone wrote:
Panzer88 wrote:
it all depends on what version you are using my friend, if you are a noob, which you yourself claimed. Then I DOUBT you are using the SVN, in which case you wouldn't have to worry about THESE sound bugs.


well i was using 1.36, and that's when i started having the problems. so i upgraded to 1.51 and nothing happened.

i guess i'll just make a new thread, thx anyway


Also, loading a savestate from a different version of zsnes than it was created with will cause problems.


Mon Mar 05, 2007 9:43 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
SquareHead wrote:
yellowcyclone wrote:
Panzer88 wrote:
it all depends on what version you are using my friend, if you are a noob, which you yourself claimed. Then I DOUBT you are using the SVN, in which case you wouldn't have to worry about THESE sound bugs.


well i was using 1.36, and that's when i started having the problems. so i upgraded to 1.51 and nothing happened.

i guess i'll just make a new thread, thx anyway


Also, loading a savestate from a different version of zsnes than it was created with will cause problems.


You shouldn't expect it to work, and this is not a valid bug anyways.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Mon Mar 05, 2007 11:03 am
Profile
Veteran

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 11:15 am
Posts: 970
Location: Montana, United States
Reply with quote
Post 
Deathlike2 wrote:
You shouldn't expect it to work, and this is not a valid bug anyways.


Yeah, but a self-proclaimed noob may not know that.


Mon Mar 05, 2007 11:55 am
Profile
Inmate
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 7:47 am
Posts: 1751
Location: WA
Reply with quote
Post 
so this thread's derailed now

_________________
Image


Tue Mar 06, 2007 2:27 am
Profile
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 8:35 pm
Posts: 271
Reply with quote
Post 
Deathlike2 wrote:
According to pf, we will have sound in the Windows port as soon as he finishes writing the Vista driver. Vista uses a different audio system, and although I suspect the sound code would be "ok" with Vista (DSound in Vista uses a wrapper to the Wave output), pagefault wants the sound code be native to Vista, so it can use Vista's sound controls as well.


So hows the progress of the Vista driver? Working out well?
Just trying to restore the topic. <_<


Tue Mar 06, 2007 4:02 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 5:24 am
Posts: 812
Location: In your garden
Reply with quote
Post 
I am focusing on the DirectSound driver since that is much more beneifical to people. But we are getting close to public demos now. Blargg is discovering a bunch of new things with byuu and getting feedback from us as well so things have been really moving along.

_________________
Watering ur plants.


Tue Mar 06, 2007 4:29 pm
Profile
Gecko snack

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Posts: 2372
Location: Australia, QLD
Reply with quote
Post 
so this new core will knock the socks off of the people that are used to the old core?

_________________
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64


Wed Mar 07, 2007 1:00 am
Profile WWW
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
Probably at, or better than SNEeSe. Although, I like TRAC too just as I like blargg.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Wed Mar 07, 2007 1:11 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 5:24 am
Posts: 812
Location: In your garden
Reply with quote
Post 
It's not a contest.

_________________
Watering ur plants.


Thu Mar 08, 2007 3:59 am
Profile
Inmate

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:28 am
Posts: 1485
Location: Salem, Oregon
Reply with quote
Post 
no, but it is kinda the bar that's been set until recently.

_________________
byuu wrote:
Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(


Thu Mar 08, 2007 4:45 am
Profile WWW
Rookie

Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 1:09 pm
Posts: 14
Reply with quote
Post 
How is it is speed wise versus the old version? I assume the reason for the inaccuracies was to speed the whole thing up.


Fri Mar 09, 2007 1:00 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 92 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.