View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Jul 23, 2019 5:46 pm



Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
ZSNES freezes when I click set keys 
Author Message
New Member

Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:20 pm
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post ZSNES freezes when I click set keys
I ran into one other thread about this but didn't see a working solution.

Basically, I start up ZSNES, get to the configure inputs menu, press set keys, and freeze. It doesn't matter if I select "none" or "keyboard/gamepad," or if I press "set" first, it asks me which button I want to use for Up and freezes there. I have to alt+F4 to quit.

I'm on Windows XP with 512mb RAM. Not sure what the video card is; this is an old computer. I'm running Skype, PowerISO, Steam and Avast antivirus on startup. I've also been running soulseek when I try this, but it hasn't worked without soulseek running anyway.

So far I've just tried rebooting my computer, which hasn't helped any.

Any ideas?


Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:25 pm
Profile
New Member

Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:20 pm
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post 
Also, when I click on a box to assign a button, it automatically gets assigned to what I assume is left-click. I'm running the most recent version (v1.51.)


Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:38 pm
Profile
New Member

Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:20 pm
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post 
I'll also note that my input device (sixaxis controller) is working perfectly with Project64 right now, so it's definitely a ZSNES issue.


Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:56 pm
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
Do things work when you don't have a gamepad plugged in?

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Thu Mar 04, 2010 10:52 pm
Profile
New Member

Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:20 pm
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post 
Why was this moved to controller help? This isn't a problem with my controller, it's a problem with ZSNES. The emulator itself freezes when I do this.

And no, it does not work when I don't have a gamepad plugged in. Can I get this moved back to bug reports?


Sat Mar 13, 2010 7:46 am
Profile
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4240
Reply with quote
Post 
COOLGUY wrote:
Why was this moved to controller help? This isn't a problem with my controller, it's a problem with ZSNES. The emulator itself freezes when I do this.

And no, it does not work when I don't have a gamepad plugged in. Can I get this moved back to bug reports?

Actually, it IS a problem with your controller.
If I recall, the PS3 controllers report a whole fucking shit-ton of analog axes instead of proper buttons.

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


KHDownloads


Sat Mar 13, 2010 8:24 am
Profile
Retrosexual
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 2:09 am
Posts: 1011
Location: Rapture
Reply with quote
Post 
yeah try not having the controller plugged in. what's the operating system? if windows, press F8 a bunch of times before windows starts and run zsnes in safe mode, it might be other gay software causing problems. try these two things please and report back to us before a fortnight.

_________________
ultimate immortality
Image


Sat Mar 13, 2010 5:54 pm
Profile
New Member

Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:20 pm
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post 
I did say that I tried this without my controller plugged in. In the post you quoted, actually. It is not my controller. I'll try safe mode now.

Edit: OK, now we're getting somewhere - but now I actually do have a controller issue. I uninstalled PPjoy, which I didn't need anyway, and I can now map inputs to my keyboard. This works whether I have the controller plugged in or not. Problem is, ZSNES doesn't recognize the controller. It still works in Project64 and ePSXe, so I know the controller itself isn't the problem. Any ideas?

Edit: I literally just closed and reopened ZSNES and it started working. Fucking computers. Thanks for your time.


Sun Mar 14, 2010 1:18 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 3:13 am
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Post Re: ZSNES freezes when I click set keys
Are you running a small program called network lights ? I've been trying to figure out what was causing the same problem as you..And it turns out shutting down this program fixed it. If you aren't using this program then I'd check out any other programs that may be using you're keyboard or mouse. If you can't find anything that's causing the problem try unplugging you're keyboard then use the controller to put in the keys then when you are done plug the keyboard back in.

This may help you or it may not. just a couple options.I know I was freaking out when I couldn't play NHL 94 lol


Mon Oct 04, 2010 3:27 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:13 pm
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Post Re: ZSNES freezes when I click set keys
I'm having sort of a similar problem:
Yesterday I configured Zsnes to work with my ps4 and my two ps3 controllers.
Everything worked perfectly.


So today I boot up my PC, download a Sega emulator to try that out and I had no problems configuring my controller to that emulator too.

Now I want to go back to play on the Zsnes emulator and suddenly I find that the emulator doesn't react to me pressing the buttons, so I take a look at the controller config and try to remap the buttons, but now as soon as I press set keys the entire thing freezes. Pressing Esc on the keyboard doesn't skip mapping keys and it doesn't react to anything so I have to alt+F4 it like the other guy said.

Anyone know what the problem is? Shall I attempt a clean install? Or did anyone else have this problem and found a solution?

It's strange because yesterday it worked perfectly and all of a sudden today it freezes when I want to configure the keys.


EDIT:
I now rebooted the PC without any of the controllers connected and now I can map my keyboard as a controller, so I thought it was fixed. However, as soon as I connected the PS4 controller it froze. Still strange that it used to work 2 days ago. So that means for some reason now Zsnes rejects the controllers or something? Because the controller still works with the Sega emulator.

EDIT 2: found a solution. I deleted all the files except for zsnes.exe then I reopened zsnes and it works again (for now).


Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:23 pm
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sun May 21, 2017 5:28 pm
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Re: ZSNES freezes when I click set keys
I have this same problem with XBOX 360 USB controller running on windows 7.

It always starts working good, then some random day I start zsnes (btw i'm too stupid to learn the name of the emulator) and it's not recognizing the controller anymore and it freezes in the set keys button.

Resetting .cfg files have no effect. By coincidence I was going to format my pc the next day due to unrelated stuff. After I did it, zsnes (btw i'm too stupid to learn the name of the emulator) worked good for a while, until the issue came back again.

All other games and emulators in my system work just fine with the controller and keyboard, so I doubt it's a hardware or driver issue.

edit: as Ichinisan suggested in another topic, I went to windows control panel to check if all the axis were centered. In fact in one of the controllers it wasn't. So I adjusted it and started zsnes again and it worked. That's the solution. The next day didn't work again, but I just had to go back to control panel and adjust the axis once more. Other programs seems to ignore the axis not being perfectly centered, but for zsnes you have to adjust it yourself.


Sun May 21, 2017 5:31 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.