View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Jan 20, 2019 12:52 am



Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
ZSNES issue if XBONE controller plugged in 
Author Message
New Member

Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2016 6:20 pm
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Post ZSNES issue if XBONE controller plugged in
I used to use a wired XBOX 360 controller with the emulator, but it recently stopped working so I bought an XBOX One USB controller to replace it. It works fine for the other emulators I use (VirtuaNES, Fusion, ePSXe), and the controller is detected fine and configured without issue. However, when I try to use it with ZSNES the mouse becomes unresponsive inside the emulator and stuck in the upper left corner of the window.

Minimizing ZSNES allows the mouse to function normally, but if I return to the program the mouse is still stuck.

Any ideas on what I can do to further troubleshoot and/or fix this issue?


Tue Mar 08, 2016 6:38 pm
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 4:58 am
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Re: ZSNES issue if XBONE controller plugged in
I have been meddling with this problem all day today. Almost went as far as reinstalling windows before one of my kids unplugged the controller by mistake and everything started working again. Looks like we will be stuck with keyboard controls for a bit...


Sun Mar 13, 2016 5:03 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 1:19 am
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Mouse not working when Xinput is activated
I finally got a micro-usb cable today, to make my XB1 controller work as a PC joypad. Thing is, whenever I launch ZSNES with my controller plugged in, it won't read my mouse movements. When I unplug my controller, the mouse works fine. What's happening and how do I fix this?

I have to navigate the menus, input my controls, and load the ROM somehow, so I'll need my mouse to work while the controller is plugged in. Unless the mouse itself isn't needed and I can just use the controller for the menus, which I doubt.


Thu Mar 17, 2016 1:26 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 1:19 am
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Re: ZSNES issue if XBONE controller plugged in
I've had the exact same issue too. Can someone please find a fix?

I cannot play an SNES game on the keyboard, it's just too awkward.


Thu Mar 17, 2016 1:47 am
Profile
Official tech support dood

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:57 am
Posts: 2075
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mouse not working when Xinput is activated
you can use a keyboard or a controller to navigate the menus - just make sure "ESC to Game Menu" and "Ctrl GUI w/Gpad1" are checked in Misc -> GUI Opts. the former option makes sure you don't ESC back to an unexpanded menu from in-game, which you can't navigate without a mouse.

edit: merged similar topics

_________________
Why yes, my shift key *IS* broken.


Thu Mar 17, 2016 1:38 pm
Profile
New Member

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 1:19 am
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mouse not working when Xinput is activated
odditude wrote:
you can use a keyboard or a controller to navigate the menus - just make sure "ESC to Game Menu" and "Ctrl GUI w/Gpad1" are checked in Misc -> GUI Opts. the former option makes sure you don't ESC back to an unexpanded menu from in-game, which you can't navigate without a mouse.

edit: merged similar topics

I did as you said. Now I'm having another issue. ZSNES won't read my Xbox One controller at all now. Pretends like it doesn't exist.

It's not the controller or its connection with the computer. I tested it with other emulators and it still works fine. What's ZSNES's problem with Xinput?


Fri Mar 18, 2016 11:30 am
Profile
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4229
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mouse not working when Xinput is activated
zRexx wrote:
odditude wrote:
you can use a keyboard or a controller to navigate the menus - just make sure "ESC to Game Menu" and "Ctrl GUI w/Gpad1" are checked in Misc -> GUI Opts. the former option makes sure you don't ESC back to an unexpanded menu from in-game, which you can't navigate without a mouse.

edit: merged similar topics

I did as you said. Now I'm having another issue. ZSNES won't read my Xbox One controller at all now. Pretends like it doesn't exist.

It's not the controller or its connection with the computer. I tested it with other emulators and it still works fine. What's ZSNES's problem with Xinput?

Maybe that the last release of ZSNES was before XInput existed?

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


KHDownloads


Fri Mar 18, 2016 11:42 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2016 1:19 am
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mouse not working when Xinput is activated
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
zRexx wrote:
odditude wrote:
you can use a keyboard or a controller to navigate the menus - just make sure "ESC to Game Menu" and "Ctrl GUI w/Gpad1" are checked in Misc -> GUI Opts. the former option makes sure you don't ESC back to an unexpanded menu from in-game, which you can't navigate without a mouse.

edit: merged similar topics

I did as you said. Now I'm having another issue. ZSNES won't read my Xbox One controller at all now. Pretends like it doesn't exist.

It's not the controller or its connection with the computer. I tested it with other emulators and it still works fine. What's ZSNES's problem with Xinput?

Maybe that the last release of ZSNES was before XInput existed?

I doubt it. A friend recommended me getting an Xbone controller for emulator use, since those generic third-party controllers are ridiculously fragile. So I asked him about whether it works on ZSNES, he confirmed it does. He never experienced an issue like this either, when I went to ask him for help.

It's clearly a bug or something. If it works for him, it should work for me.


Fri Mar 18, 2016 1:05 pm
Profile
Official tech support dood

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:57 am
Posts: 2075
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mouse not working when Xinput is activated
zRexx wrote:
It's clearly a bug or something. If it works for him, it should work for me.
is your friend using the same version of Windows with all of the same input devices?

_________________
Why yes, my shift key *IS* broken.


Fri Mar 18, 2016 3:49 pm
Profile
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4229
Reply with quote
Post Re: Mouse not working when Xinput is activated
zRexx wrote:
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
zRexx wrote:
odditude wrote:
you can use a keyboard or a controller to navigate the menus - just make sure "ESC to Game Menu" and "Ctrl GUI w/Gpad1" are checked in Misc -> GUI Opts. the former option makes sure you don't ESC back to an unexpanded menu from in-game, which you can't navigate without a mouse.

edit: merged similar topics

I did as you said. Now I'm having another issue. ZSNES won't read my Xbox One controller at all now. Pretends like it doesn't exist.

It's not the controller or its connection with the computer. I tested it with other emulators and it still works fine. What's ZSNES's problem with Xinput?

Maybe that the last release of ZSNES was before XInput existed?

I doubt it. A friend recommended me getting an Xbone controller for emulator use, since those generic third-party controllers are ridiculously fragile. So I asked him about whether it works on ZSNES, he confirmed it does. He never experienced an issue like this either, when I went to ask him for help.

It's clearly a bug or something. If it works for him, it should work for me.

Behold the miracle of the intermittent error.

Also, ZSNES has longstanding input issues due to it's vintage, particularly on controllers with >2 analog axes. Even proper, standards-compliant gamepads. Throw in some crazy proprietary interface that the emulator doesn't know how to speak and who KNOWS what can happen.



BTW, there's not really such a thing as first-party controllers for an IBM clone. Hell, the actual SYSTEM isn't even first-party hardware(as the phrase "IBM clone" implies). That said, all my standards-compliant recommended gamepads are out of production, as are the few proprietary XInput devices I'd care to use.

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


KHDownloads


Sat Mar 19, 2016 5:41 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 4:48 pm
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Post Re: ZSNES issue if XBONE controller plugged in
Hi All:

I'm on Windows 10 and also having the same exact issue with ZSNES and a XB1 controller wired and with using the wireless PC adapter. I bought the adapter specifically for emu gaming using the wireless controller so my kids don't trip over the wire. The controller is recognized and responsive in other areas of Windows and Steam games but no dice in ZSNES. I'm a little surprised this issue isn't all over the net. Not much info about it out there. Anyways +1 to the victims list. I'm open to any suggestions lol.


Wed Mar 23, 2016 5:25 pm
Profile
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4229
Reply with quote
Post Re: ZSNES issue if XBONE controller plugged in
illnutty wrote:
I'm a little surprised this issue isn't all over the net.

Spoilers: ZSNES is dead, or at least in a deep coma.

Quote:
I'm open to any suggestions lol.

snes9x
higan

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


KHDownloads


Thu Mar 24, 2016 8:08 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.