Controller Movement not smooth. Turbo like effect?

Gamepad acting up? Keyboard not responding properly? Can't get that other user to work? Read and post about it here.

Moderator: ZSNES Mods

Brian5346

Controller Movement not smooth. Turbo like effect?

Post by Brian5346 »

Hi there,

I don't think this is a ZSNES specific problem, but perhaps you can help.

I recently starting getting back in to Emulation and I'm using ZSNES to play games.

I also bought a Mayflash SNES usb controller adapter. I had problems using this on my Win 7 machine, so I gave up and tried it with my laptop which runs Vista.

It works, however when I started playing, the movement in games was kind of weird and juddering.

I checked the game pad settings in windows, and the buttons and D-pad all fire in a turbo like fashion. This is not a big problem with the controller buttons that I've noticed yet. But when trying to move with the d-pad it's a pain, it resets to centre and then the direction as you hold it down, meaning you move in small fast increments.

Here is a flash video of what I mean. I held down the right, up and a couple of buttons (B and A i think) each for a few seconds. http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5302228/Control ... r.swf.html

I don't really know how to fix it. Can anyone help?

Thanks
Last edited by Brian5346 on Wed Mar 07, 2012 9:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
paulguy
Zealot

Re: Controller Movement not smooth. Turbo like effect?

Post by paulguy »

These adapters sometimes have button combinations that enable certain features. Have you tried disconnecting it for a few seconds, then while holding no buttons on the gamepad at all, plugging it back in?
Maybe these people were born without that part of their brain that lets you try different things to see if they work better. --Retsupurae
Brian5346

Post by Brian5346 »