View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Sep 17, 2019 2:54 am



Reply to topic  [ 106 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
NETPLAY IS BROKEN - Complete Re-write Upcoming 
Author Message
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 5:24 am
Posts: 812
Location: In your garden
Reply with quote
Post NETPLAY IS BROKEN - Complete Re-write Upcoming
As of 1.40 it's broken, use at your own risk. I have had no problems playing some games over a LAN but your milage may vary. Please use 1.36 until the problem is solved. Check back here for further updates.

-edit- Updated for better clarification.

Update: Try using 1.42n. It can be downloaded here: http://nsrt.edgeemu.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=448


Last edited by pagefault on Fri Jan 21, 2005 2:16 am, edited 1 time in total.



Thu Jan 20, 2005 10:39 pm
Profile
Hazed
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 1:25 pm
Posts: 84
Reply with quote
Post LOL................................
Which release are you talking about? 1.40, or 1.41?


Fri Jan 21, 2005 1:06 am
Profile
What?
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 1:32 pm
Posts: 177
Location: You'd want to know, wouldn't you?
Reply with quote
Post 
Logically, he's talking about 1.40+.

_________________
Everything I say is a lie.


Fri Jan 21, 2005 1:47 am
Profile
Hazed
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 1:25 pm
Posts: 84
Reply with quote
Post 
If that's the case, then this is the part where I say to everyone:




I told you so.


Fri Jan 21, 2005 2:43 am
Profile
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 8:47 am
Posts: 23
Location: hollywood
Reply with quote
Post 
i guess i'm a survivor.

_________________
you're born, you die, and you get to fuck around in between.


Fri Jan 21, 2005 7:18 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 5:24 am
Posts: 812
Location: In your garden
Reply with quote
Post 
If you have netplay working fine I would really be interested in what game you are playing and what settings you are using. Also your system specs and internet connection would be useful. Plus if you are using UDP or TCP mode. I am just trying to get an idea of what works and what doesn't. I had no problems playing in a LAN environment with Super Mario World in both UDP and TCP mode.


Fri Jan 21, 2005 6:36 pm
Profile
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 8:47 am
Posts: 23
Location: hollywood
Reply with quote
Post 
mario kart...1.36-1.42 but i had desync problems when i reset the game in 1.4x.

2.6 ghz p4
256mb ram
geforce fx 5200
windows xp sp2
3mbps cable, no router, 300k upload, stable thoroughput

_________________
you're born, you die, and you get to fuck around in between.


Sat Jan 22, 2005 2:34 am
Profile
Reply with quote
Post 
Netplay seems to work for me, with 1.40.

Game: Seiken Densetsu 3 (J) [T+Eng[1].01_Various]
Mode: TCP
Resolution: 800x600 DR Full and Windowed

Specs: 2.6 GHz p4
512MB RAM
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Windows XP SP2
100mbps cable, no router.

It occasionally desyncs, but only if one of the players tab out of ZSNES. This is easily fixed by simply loading a save point (F4).

Everything seems to be in working order. In fact... it seems to me that netplay has been very much improved. With v1.36, it wouldn't load Seiken Densetsu 3 half the time.


Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:29 pm
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 8:54 am
Posts: 603
Reply with quote
Post 
Soga wrote:
...This is easily fixed by simply loading a save point (F4).

For many, this feature has never worked reliably, if at all.


Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:33 pm
Profile
Redneck Gamer-Mod
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 2:15 am
Posts: 433
Location: Pittsburgh
Reply with quote
Post 
between my sister and I, we had no desyncs with Super Kario Kart, but we had tons and tons with SD3 2 days later....

She (client, so the routers would know to port foward) is running a:
2.4Ghz P4
512 DDR (not sure what speed) RAM
Saphirre Radeon 9200 128Meg
onboard sound
XP SP2
Intel motherboard w/ 845PE chipset
1500/385 ADSL through 802.911B

My machine is very similar, only it runs Celeron 3.02 with an Audigy and 2k SP4...

The save state thing behaves really odd... Once I saved and restored, and it sent the OLD one (that was there before we netplayed) to her, and restored the NEW one to me, another time it was the other way around. We are gonna try 1.36 next week.

My internet connection is my school's, and we use TCP/IP. I ping her at about 60ms, but have a 3% packet loss...

_________________
SHREIK!!!!!!! DDdddnnnnnnaaaa! GESTAHLLLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!

Steelers now officially own your ass.


Sat Jan 22, 2005 9:34 pm
Profile
Reply with quote
Post 
UPDATE: Metal Warriors and BattleToads && Double Dragons both work over netplay for me, tested with two different people (other than me). I'm getting the feeling Netplay isn't broken, not in that sense of the word, at least...

Perhaps, this calls for close scrutiny of the netcode?


Mon Jan 24, 2005 2:16 am
Hazed
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 1:25 pm
Posts: 84
Reply with quote
Post 
um, shouldn't the people that experience bad netplay also be reporting in this thread? Why just the people it works for?


Mon Jan 24, 2005 4:57 pm
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Posts: 3901
Location: Solar powered park bench
Reply with quote
Post 
FistOfFury wrote:
um, shouldn't the people that experience bad netplay also be reporting in this thread? Why just the people it works for?


So why don't you be the first. You seem to be doing everything but what is asked for.

Did you ever post anything we wanted? Did you test a single test build I made when I wanted to help you?

_________________
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding


Mon Jan 24, 2005 7:19 pm
Profile WWW
Reply with quote
Post wanna do net play
im trying to conncet to my friends computer for net play but it isnt working. we both have computers with identical specs. and we both use a cable connection for the internet any help would be apreciated. thank you.


Wed Jan 26, 2005 9:17 am
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 5:24 am
Posts: 812
Location: In your garden
Reply with quote
Post 
AntoineWG used to have a good guide on netplay anyone know where it went?


Wed Jan 26, 2005 8:35 pm
Profile
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Posts: 5615
Location: PAL50, dood !
Reply with quote
Post 
Down the drain with the rest of the forum upon last hijack.

_________________
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Code:
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54


Wed Jan 26, 2005 10:12 pm
Profile
Hero of Time
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 2:49 am
Posts: 2646
Location: In front of the monitor
Reply with quote
Post 
It went here.

_________________
Try out CCleaner and other free software at Piriform
Image


Wed Jan 26, 2005 10:16 pm
Profile WWW
Justice is Blind

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:33 pm
Posts: 620
Location: Test
Reply with quote
Post 
And here, without credit. Scumbags.

http://www.emualliance.com/zsnes/


Wed Jan 26, 2005 10:26 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Mugwump
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 9:05 pm
Posts: 824
Reply with quote
Post 
Metatron wrote:
And here, without credit. Scumbags.

http://www.emualliance.com/zsnes/

Pricks.


Thu Jan 27, 2005 2:10 pm
Profile
Hazed
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 1:25 pm
Posts: 84
Reply with quote
Post 
Nach wrote:
FistOfFury wrote:
um, shouldn't the people that experience bad netplay also be reporting in this thread? Why just the people it works for?


So why don't you be the first. You seem to be doing everything but what is asked for.

Did you ever post anything we wanted? Did you test a single test build I made when I wanted to help you?



.......

I was going to help out by posting my info and stuff, I just haven't had the time man. I've been doing other more important stuff, and was gonna do it later, which is the whole reason why I asked in this thread whether desyncers should post info..................I've already posted in other threads which games weren't working for me, I've used zsnes 1.40 netplay a grand total of twice since it's been out, and I still haven't gotten around to 1.42 or any of the new WIP's, or test builds. And the test builds couldn't have come at a worse time, it came out when I was busy with other stuff. Not like I can test them out now anyway, no one on my buddy list seems to have the patience to want to sit down and test different versions and games with me (or even message me anymore lol), no one wants to help me the countless times I've asked on the various incarnations of this forum for anyone to PM me if they were intereseted in helping me....and I can't find anyone else because zbattle is down. Gimme a break


Fri Feb 04, 2005 9:55 pm
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Posts: 3901
Location: Solar powered park bench
Reply with quote
Post 
Sure, I'll give you a break. Stop by the dev channel, and you'll find people willing to do tests on various versions.

_________________
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding


Sat Feb 05, 2005 5:45 pm
Profile WWW
Reply with quote
Post 
Yeah I've just gotten onto the whole netplay thing , still kinda trying to find ways around the whole 2 player only deal. But afraid I've been outta the whole emulator deal for too long. Anyways I'm running the newest version , and I haven't had much of a problem playing everything from Super Puyo-Puyo -2- Mario Kart -2- Secret of Mana...Granted the save states don't work so you have to use old fashion saves....Also the identical versions of every game were used....


Fri Feb 25, 2005 3:05 am
Devil's Advocate
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:51 pm
Posts: 2293
Location: Hmo. Son.
Reply with quote
Post 
MagickalSupaKaK wrote:
Yeah I've just gotten onto the whole netplay thing , still kinda trying to find ways around the whole 2 player only deal. But afraid I've been outta the whole emulator deal for too long. Anyways I'm running the newest version , and I haven't had much of a problem playing everything from Super Puyo-Puyo -2- Mario Kart -2- Secret of Mana...Granted the save states don't work so you have to use old fashion saves....Also the identical versions of every game were used....


Using Savestates during Netplay is not recommended.

_________________
*Sometimes I edit my posts just to correct mistakes.


Fri Feb 25, 2005 3:49 am
Profile
New Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 9:38 am
Posts: 5
Location: Tetha'alla
Reply with quote
Post 
Yea I couldnt get Netplay to work I was using 1.36 and my friend had just downloaded 1.41 I thought it was because we had different versions so I upgraded.... would have been nice to have a warning or something about this in the help/FAQ/Readme...

_________________
Image


Mon Feb 28, 2005 9:53 am
Profile
New Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 9:38 am
Posts: 5
Location: Tetha'alla
Reply with quote
Post 
Ok even in 1.36 we cant connect in UDP it just sits IDLE for 15 minutes not doing anything on both sides and on TCP it says COuld Not connect to other side

we both have linksys routers BEFSR41 with port 7845 forwarded on both of our filters he has his Windows Firewall disabled and I dont have a software firewall it doesnt make sense, I used to play with my other friend Tash online Sun Set Riders alot why wont it work now?

_________________
Image


Mon Feb 28, 2005 10:23 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 106 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.