View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Jul 23, 2019 7:47 pm



Reply to topic  [ 106 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
NETPLAY IS BROKEN - Complete Re-write Upcoming 
Author Message
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 3:17 am
Posts: 26
Reply with quote
Post 
i get terrible desync with 1.42n, UDP or TCP, but not 1.42, either protocol.

i'm running linux and my girlfriend is running XP. if i can provide any other info, i would be glad to help get this issue resolved :D


Wed Sep 07, 2005 8:15 pm
Profile
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Posts: 5615
Location: PAL50, dood !
Reply with quote
Post 
aminalshmu wrote:
i get terrible desync with 1.42n, UDP or TCP, but not 1.42, either protocol.

i'm running linux and my girlfriend is running XP

Both of you must run the same version. Is that the case ? (just asking)

_________________
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Code:
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54


Wed Sep 07, 2005 9:25 pm
Profile
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 3:17 am
Posts: 26
Reply with quote
Post 
yes. we have had no problems with desync running 1.36 or 1.42, but when we tried switching to the new netplay build to support games that had problems in 1.42, games are anything but playable.


Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:07 pm
Profile
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Posts: 5615
Location: PAL50, dood !
Reply with quote
Post 
Did you try games that worked in 1.42 too ?

_________________
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Code:
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54


Wed Sep 07, 2005 11:20 pm
Profile
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 3:17 am
Posts: 26
Reply with quote
Post 
okay, this is strange.

we played top gear 2 last night for maybe 45 minutes with no desync at all, when it was previously completely unplayable. i thought this may have been due to us talking over skype while we were trying to play it the first time, and it was causing net congestion, but this is not a problem in 1.42 as we do this all the time - with other games, i mean, since top gear 2 does not work in 1.42.

however, secret of mana and uniracers, which both work flawlessly over netplay in 1.42, refuse to load in 1.42n and just freeze the emulator. no messages in the console; it just stops responding on both machines, regardless of protocol.


Thu Sep 08, 2005 3:02 pm
Profile
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Posts: 5615
Location: PAL50, dood !
Reply with quote
Post 
aminalshmu wrote:
however, secret of mana and uniracers, which both work flawlessly over netplay in 1.42, refuse to load in 1.42n and just freeze the emulator. no messages in the console; it just stops responding on both machines, regardless of protocol.

Please retry these games after setting the save setting to NONE (not 'local' nor 'remote') in the chat window.

_________________
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Code:
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54


Thu Sep 08, 2005 5:12 pm
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 9:37 pm
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post 
I'm using the official release of 1.42, and I have very few problems with it when I play it over our LAN. Except for the following:

Secret of Evermore dysyncs so much that it's practically unplayable. It seems to do this most often when enemies or moving people are in the area. Its been doing this as far back as 1.36.

Tetris Attack dysyncs sometimes during gameplay, but it's fairely rare.

Kirby's Dream Land 3 dysyncs when you reset, I think. Not sure about this, but I noticed that all our dysyncs started after a game reset.

I've tried playing a LAN game using 1.42n, but ZSNES always freezes when we load a game or change the latency. Odd.


Sun Sep 11, 2005 9:58 pm
Profile
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 3:17 am
Posts: 26
Reply with quote
Post 
grinvader wrote:
Please retry these games after setting the save setting to NONE (not 'local' nor 'remote') in the chat window.


kirby, try this... the save files from 1.42 are obviously not compatible with the 1.42n based on newer WIP's. (at least not in netplay - they load in single player just fine...)

or am i misinterpreting this and the way zsnes 1.42/1.42n handle saves is the same? is it just a problem with 1.42n loading save data period? hmm... experiment time.


Mon Sep 12, 2005 6:17 pm
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 9:37 pm
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post 
Same error. When I load a game or change the latency, the screen goes black and it says on the ZSNES 1.42n window "NO MOVIE PROCESSING." Any ideas?


Tue Sep 13, 2005 3:35 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Posts: 3901
Location: Solar powered park bench
Reply with quote
Post 
Oh grr, if that means what I think it means...

_________________
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding


Tue Sep 13, 2005 6:34 am
Profile WWW
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Posts: 5615
Location: PAL50, dood !
Reply with quote
Post 
Nach wrote:
Oh grr, if that means what I think it means...

Hahaha, the old movie stuff is coming back with a vengeance...

_________________
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Code:
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54


Tue Sep 13, 2005 9:26 am
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 4:46 am
Posts: 12
Reply with quote
Post 
So, with 1.42n...sounds nice...does it support quicksaving over the Internet? That never worked for me with 1.42...on a LAN, sometimes, but not over the atlantic ocean.


Tue Sep 13, 2005 6:40 pm
Profile
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 3:17 am
Posts: 26
Reply with quote
Post 
quicksaves still freeze ZSNES 1.42n for me... and setting save data to "none" allows SoM to load, but as we are unable to continue our game, it doesn't really help... back to 1.42 for now.


Thu Sep 15, 2005 2:36 am
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 4:46 am
Posts: 12
Reply with quote
Post 
yeah, quicksave didn't work....damn it >_< The one feature I wanted....oh well. *roots for developers to get it working*


Thu Sep 15, 2005 3:11 pm
Profile
Devil's Advocate
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:51 pm
Posts: 2293
Location: Hmo. Son.
Reply with quote
Post 
AFAIK, using savestates is something that's frown upon during netplay, usually causing desyncs. So I don't really think that's a feature that's on the priority list.

_________________
*Sometimes I edit my posts just to correct mistakes.


Thu Sep 15, 2005 6:09 pm
Profile
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Posts: 5615
Location: PAL50, dood !
Reply with quote
Post 
Well, there's no reason not to make it work in the new netplay code.

We would probably compress the states so that transfers won't be long...

_________________
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Code:
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54


Thu Sep 15, 2005 7:39 pm
Profile
Seen it all
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Posts: 2302
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
Post 
grinvader wrote:
We would probably compress the states so that transfers won't be long...

JMA? :wink:

_________________
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list


Thu Sep 15, 2005 7:42 pm
Profile WWW
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Posts: 5615
Location: PAL50, dood !
Reply with quote
Post 
creaothceann wrote:
grinvader wrote:
We would probably compress the states so that transfers won't be long...

JMA? :wink:

Nah, plain GZ. JMA is slower on compression for files as small as these.

_________________
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Code:
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54


Thu Sep 15, 2005 7:45 pm
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 4:46 am
Posts: 12
Reply with quote
Post 
Doesn't always even transfer for me...sometimes it just like auto presses escape, taking me to the chat menu, and when I try to go back it freezes....;_;


*roots for developers to fix this*


Fri Sep 16, 2005 1:34 am
Profile
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 11:46 pm
Posts: 16
Location: location, location
Reply with quote
Post 
Weird thing, when I try to use savestates during netplay (1.42), they transfer just fine and don't freeze Zsnes or anything, but they don't load on my end. They load on the other player's end though, and thus cause about the most incredible de-synching imaginable. :roll: Fun.

_________________
For great justice.


Wed Oct 19, 2005 6:36 pm
Profile YIM WWW
Reply with quote
Post 
Can't help but notice this, but is this still a persisting problem? My friends and I never experienced too many problems on Netplay. It desyncs here and there, but nothing a state reload can't fix. Other than that, it wokrs perfectly fine, both on UDP AND TCP/IP (and I have to use the latter with another friend with dial-up because we can't get the UDP to work with her for some reason)

Just about all the games work (with exception to all the Super Bomberman games, which I find strange. When we bring up the latency it works fine, but then my controls are lagged by a second)

Is there any kind of system information I should post to help on this situation?

I just found it odd that after literally months of no problems with Netplay, I get on here and find out "Netplay is dead" after noticing the latest WIP has no netplay.

And yes, we're using version 1.42


Thu Dec 01, 2005 3:09 am
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 2:15 pm
Posts: 207
Reply with quote
Post 
I believe Netplay is dead in the WIP versions.


Thu Dec 01, 2005 3:24 am
Profile
Locksmith of Hyrule
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Posts: 3634
Location: 255.255.255.255
Reply with quote
Post 
Image

You can always download the 1.42n, which is based off 2/12/2k5 though...

_________________
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.


Thu Dec 01, 2005 6:10 am
Profile YIM WWW
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 2:15 pm
Posts: 207
Reply with quote
Post 
I was referring to the post above mine, which mentioned Netplay works in Not-WIP. And then ... I overlooked the last sentence. My bad.

What I should have said:

Netplay is dead because an overhaul was necessary. The devs know the details of what has to be done and tested. While it is being worked on, I believe the devs will ask for specific info themselves.


Thu Dec 01, 2005 5:28 pm
Profile
Reply with quote
Post 
ok im not very good with this emulator stuff but this is what happened and i need some help

first i was on 56k and my friend was on wireless on v1.42 and it worked fine except that i probably lagged from my 56k

then i get on my wireless and my friend was on his wireless and all of the sudden it didnt work when we use udp connection it just sat there and when we used tcp/ip connection it said Could Not Connect To The Other side or something like that. We checked our ip's and they were right but for some reason it didnt work.

Could someone please help me?


Fri Dec 30, 2005 5:55 am
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 106 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.