View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Jul 17, 2019 6:25 am



Reply to topic  [ 120 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Current Status FAQ 
Author Message
Lurker

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 9:10 pm
Posts: 152
Location: Virginia
Reply with quote
Post 
Unsuccessfully.

_________________
Athlon XP 2800+
765MB DDR-333
AGP Geforce 6200

Took me, what, a year to update this info?
And meh, screw legs.
Oh... puns. I get it. Shame on me.


Fri Jan 04, 2008 2:35 am
Profile YIM WWW
Locksmith of Hyrule
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Posts: 3634
Location: 255.255.255.255
Reply with quote
Post 
byuu wrote:
Quote:
..you mean there's REALLY a TCPM chip in the mac hardware?


Yes, there absolutely is.

Quote:
We *are* talking about the same TCPM chip that supposedly doesn't allow free and open source apps to run, doesn't allow Linux to be used, controls what we can and cannot do with the computer, has 2048-bit encryption, etc etc, right?


It can do all of that, but Apple is only using it to prevent their OS from running on non-Mac hardware. So far.


Heh, and here I was about to post three franpa alerts regarding that if it were false :P

I guess the rumors about the TCPM chip doing all these things were indeed true.. guess we need to put an end to this, right?

_________________
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.


Fri Jan 04, 2008 5:35 am
Profile YIM WWW
Lurker

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 9:10 pm
Posts: 152
Location: Virginia
Reply with quote
Post 
Er, you do know you can install OSX on a non-mac computer, right?

Why am I ignored? T_T I don't fail THAT much, do I? Did I not pass some initation?

_________________
Athlon XP 2800+
765MB DDR-333
AGP Geforce 6200

Took me, what, a year to update this info?
And meh, screw legs.
Oh... puns. I get it. Shame on me.


Fri Jan 04, 2008 9:28 am
Profile YIM WWW
"God"

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 11:24 pm
Posts: 1128
Reply with quote
Post 
Rydian wrote:
Er, you do know you can install OSX on a non-mac computer, right?

Why am I ignored? T_T I don't fail THAT much, do I? Did I not pass some initation?


you make it sound easier than it actually is - most of the work arounds involved in getting OSX running on non-mac hardware involve the TCPM to begin with.

with one visit to Apple's update site and the install goes poof.

_________________
Does [Kevin] Smith masturbate with steel wool too?

- Yes, but don’t change the subject.


Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:06 am
Profile
Hazed

Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 11:02 am
Posts: 76
Reply with quote
Post 
byuu wrote:
Quote:
..you mean there's REALLY a TCPM chip in the mac hardware?


Yes, there absolutely is.


Actually, Intel Macs haven't come with TPM chips since October 2006 (search for "October 2006"). I have a Core 2 Duo based MacBook right here, and it doesn't have a TPM chip.

That page also points out that even when Macs did come with TPM chips, OS X didn't use it for anything - it didn't even come with a driver for the chip (observe the author of the page linking to a driver he wrote himself to get the TPM chip to do anything).


Fri Jan 04, 2008 1:08 pm
Profile
Reply with quote
Post 
Quote:
Actually, Intel Macs haven't come with TPM chips since October 2006 (search for "October 2006").


Oh wow, they finally got rid of the Infineon chip, huh? Good to hear.

Quote:
That page also points out that even when Macs did come with TPM chips, OS X didn't use it for anything


Very interesting. Then the ~10 or so articles I've read about people breaking OS X to run on non-Mac hardware were all full of misinformation.

Makes me wonder how exactly Apple locked down their OS X platform. Perhaps by relying on their EFI (or whatever) BIOS? And I know the kernel itself uses SSE3 instructions, which locks out many older processors.

And yes, I'm obviously aware that each version thus far has been cracked. At any rate, if Apple doesn't want me to run their OS on my hardware, then I won't. Problem solved. I have another great OS here that not only wants me to use it on whatever hardware I choose, it wants me to make copies to give away to friends, free of charge, too.

Apple's decision only hurts their own users, as I would otherwise purchase their OS, and even develop applications for it, that would benefit many of their users. And I'm sure I'm not alone.


Fri Jan 04, 2008 6:01 pm
Locksmith of Hyrule
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Posts: 3634
Location: 255.255.255.255
Reply with quote
Post 
byuu wrote:
Apple's decision only hurts their own users, as I would otherwise purchase their OS, and even develop applications for it, that would benefit many of their users. And I'm sure I'm not alone.


As would I, actually.

I was kinda hoping that the OSx86 would come in retail packaging and be able to be used on any x86 CPU, as long as it meets the requirements.

_________________
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.


Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:06 pm
Profile YIM WWW
Lurker

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 9:10 pm
Posts: 152
Location: Virginia
Reply with quote
Post 
Then apple would be swamped with support requests.

_________________
Athlon XP 2800+
765MB DDR-333
AGP Geforce 6200

Took me, what, a year to update this info?
And meh, screw legs.
Oh... puns. I get it. Shame on me.


Sat Jan 05, 2008 1:52 am
Profile YIM WWW
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:05 pm
Posts: 637
Reply with quote
Post 
Rydian wrote:
Then apple would be swamped with support requests.


And money. Not that they need more, apparently.


Sat Jan 05, 2008 3:26 pm
Profile
Lurker

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 9:10 pm
Posts: 152
Location: Virginia
Reply with quote
Post 
Nah, then they'd have a big problem with software piracy, and would be losing the profits they get from buying computer parts from the manufacturers and reselling them at a markup.

At least with normal computer manufacturers, what you pay for is the support, and not the $250 of (totally kickass for normal computer users) production softwares macs come with.

That said, anybody checked out alienware's prices? I mean, I've always heard they were overpriced, but never bothered checking out any of their setups. Then I found their base $1,200 laptop had one gig of ram and a 1.5ghz core 2 duo.

Disappointing, expecially because I can find laptops with turion X2 2ghz processor and 2 gigs of ram with XP on newegg. Or, at least I could when I last checked a month and a half ago.

_________________
Athlon XP 2800+
765MB DDR-333
AGP Geforce 6200

Took me, what, a year to update this info?
And meh, screw legs.
Oh... puns. I get it. Shame on me.


Sat Jan 05, 2008 11:25 pm
Profile YIM WWW
-Burninated-
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 11:33 pm
Posts: 871
Location: Unspecified
Reply with quote
Post 
What the..!? $1200 for that!? You gotta be kidding.

_________________
俺はテメエの倒す男だ! 宜しく! お前はもう死んでいる...


Sat Jan 05, 2008 11:55 pm
Profile
Locksmith of Hyrule
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Posts: 3634
Location: 255.255.255.255
Reply with quote
Post 
Rydian wrote:
Nah, then they'd have a big problem with software piracy, and would be losing the profits they get from buying computer parts from the manufacturers and reselling them at a markup.


As if they don't already have a big problem with software piracy, heh.

_________________
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.


Sun Jan 06, 2008 8:21 am
Profile YIM WWW
Lurker

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 9:10 pm
Posts: 152
Location: Virginia
Reply with quote
Post 
bahamut: Default setup of $1,600 laptop. Notice how the processor is 1.6ghz and it's only got a gig of ram. It's got an 8700M. But only a gig of ram and a <2ghz processor. ... do they hire little girls to set these things up?

link: I meant like, other software. Not the OS. No use pirating the iLife suite if you're on windows.

_________________
Athlon XP 2800+
765MB DDR-333
AGP Geforce 6200

Took me, what, a year to update this info?
And meh, screw legs.
Oh... puns. I get it. Shame on me.


Sun Jan 06, 2008 12:03 pm
Profile YIM WWW
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:14 am
Posts: 15
Location: York,PA USA
Reply with quote
Post 
I don't know if anyone cares anymore but there is a SNES XBAND modem on eBay right now wil very few bids but it only has 15 hours left. I would bid for the good of the community but they only take PayPal and I can't put anything on my card for a few more weeks. Still recovering from Christmas spending :P

Link:
http://cgi.ebay.com/Super-Nintendo-XBAND-modem-based-online-gaming-SNES-NR_W0QQitemZ160207955933QQihZ006QQcategoryZ62053QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

_________________
Im iN uR EmULatuR. chAnGiN' aLL uR diReCtoReeZ.
Image


Mon Feb 18, 2008 2:20 pm
Profile
Seen it all
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Posts: 2302
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
Post 
useful link

_________________
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list


Mon Feb 18, 2008 4:50 pm
Profile WWW
Regular

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 6:43 pm
Posts: 253
Location: localhost
Reply with quote
Post 
It's very low priced.


Tue Feb 19, 2008 3:56 am
Profile
New Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 6:36 am
Posts: 3
Location: Henderson NC
Reply with quote
Post 
Rydian wrote:
bahamut: Default setup of $1,600 laptop. Notice how the processor is 1.6ghz and it's only got a gig of ram. It's got an 8700M. But only a gig of ram and a <2ghz processor. ... do they hire little girls to set these things up?

link: I meant like, other software. Not the OS. No use pirating the iLife suite if you're on windows.


You could get A better lap to for 300$

_________________
Sagitarius Nov. 23 - Dec 21 The possibility of trouble in your future suggests you should be armed to the teeth at all times. Your lucky numbers are .45 .357 and 9mm


Tue Feb 26, 2008 7:17 am
Profile WWW
Inmate

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:28 am
Posts: 1485
Location: Salem, Oregon
Reply with quote
Post 
what portion of zsnes is currently being worked on?

_________________
byuu wrote:
Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(


Sat Jul 05, 2008 5:43 pm
Profile WWW
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Posts: 5615
Location: PAL50, dood !
Reply with quote
Post 
Core(s).

_________________
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Code:
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54


Sun Jul 06, 2008 11:44 am
Profile
Zealot

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 7:03 am
Posts: 1325
Reply with quote
Post 
Awesome. :D

How is work on the new gui going?


Sun Jul 06, 2008 11:47 am
Profile
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Posts: 5615
Location: PAL50, dood !
Reply with quote
Post 
That would have been a good question if my previous post was
grinvader wrote:
GUI.

_________________
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Code:
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54


Sun Jul 06, 2008 11:58 am
Profile
Zealot

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 7:03 am
Posts: 1325
Reply with quote
Post 
I'll rephrase: How was it going before y'all switched to working on the core/s?


Sun Jul 06, 2008 12:00 pm
Profile
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:05 pm
Posts: 637
Reply with quote
Post 
grinvader wrote:
That would have been a good question if my previous post was
grinvader wrote:
GUI.


lulz.

_________________
I bring the trouble.


Sun Jul 06, 2008 2:08 pm
Profile
New Member

Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 8:06 am
Posts: 6
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Reply with quote
Post 
I think the link in the OP is broken


Mon Nov 24, 2008 10:53 am
Profile WWW
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Posts: 5615
Location: PAL50, dood !
Reply with quote
Post 
That's some serios mastery of the obvious right there.

_________________
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Code:
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54


Mon Nov 24, 2008 7:47 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 120 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.