View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Oct 23, 2019 2:19 am



Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ] 
Various Puyo Puyo games all broken + Pad 2 Config not saving 
Author Message
Randomness
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:01 pm
Posts: 1172
Location: UK
Reply with quote
Post Various Puyo Puyo games all broken + Pad 2 Config not saving
A severe bug was introduced in SVN (post ipher's latest WIP) that causes all the Banpresto Puyo Puyo games (possibly others) to not make it to the title screen.

Using ZSNESW 1.43 Pre r3587

Games known to be affected:

Code:
NSRT v3.3 - Nach's SNES ROM Tools

---------------------Internal ROM Info----------------------
       File: Super Nazo Puyo - Ruruu no Ruu (J).sfc
       Name: スーパーナゾプヨルルーノルー      Company: Banpresto
     Header: None                      Bank: LoROM
Interleaved: No                        SRAM: 64 Kb
       Type: Normal + Batt              ROM: 8 Mb
    Country: Japan                    Video: NTSC
  ROM Speed: 120ns (FastROM)       Revision: 1.0
   Checksum: Good 0x03CC              CRC32: BA1DBA22
        MD5: BF4658E6AB66EC4F5388E17D63B33157
--------------------------Database--------------------------
   Name: Super Nazo Puyo - Lulu no Lu
Country: Japan                  Revision: 1.0
 Port 1: Gamepad                  Port 2: Gamepad
Genre 1: Puzzle                  Genre 2: Logic


Code:
---------------------Internal ROM Info----------------------
       File: Super Nazo Puyo Tsuu - Ruruu no Tetsuwan Hanjouki (J).sfc
       Name: スーパーナゾプヨツウ          Company: Square
     Header: None                      Bank: LoROM
Interleaved: No                        SRAM: 64 Kb
       Type: Normal + Batt              ROM: 12 Mb
    Country: Japan                    Video: NTSC
  ROM Speed: 120ns (FastROM)       Revision: 1.0
   Checksum: Good 0x4840              CRC32: D8C0E0BE
        MD5: 68A7F453DDEE511365CCBB62C25A125F
--------------------------Database--------------------------
   Name: Super Nazo Puyo Tsuu - Lulu no Tetsuwan Hanjouki
Country: Japan                  Revision: 1.0
 Port 1: Gamepad                  Port 2: Gamepad
Genre 1: Puzzle                  Genre 2: Logic


Code:
---------------------Internal ROM Info----------------------
       File: Super Puyo Puyo (J) (V1.2) [!].sfc
       Name: SUPER PUYOPUYO         Company: Banpresto
     Header: None                      Bank: LoROM
Interleaved: No                        SRAM: 0 Kb
       Type: Normal                     ROM: 8 Mb
    Country: Japan                    Video: NTSC
  ROM Speed: 120ns (FastROM)       Revision: 1.2
   Checksum: Good 0x40C6              CRC32: 3ADDBA0B
        MD5: DB8F24C5D9F49317914C8216E0A818D7
--------------------------Database--------------------------
   Name: Super Puyo Puyo
Country: Japan                  Revision: 1.2
 Port 1: Gamepad                  Port 2: Gamepad
Genre 1: Puzzle                  Genre 2: Matching


Code:
---------------------Internal ROM Info----------------------
       File: Super Puyo Puyo 2 (J).sfc
       Name: スーパープヨプヨツウ          Company: Square
     Header: None                      Bank: LoROM
Interleaved: No                        SRAM: 0 Kb
       Type: Normal                     ROM: 16 Mb
    Country: Japan                    Video: NTSC
  ROM Speed: 120ns (FastROM)       Revision: 1.0
   Checksum: Good 0x903A              CRC32: 271E1F3F
        MD5: D19486B22C8A4F11AA969671AE1967B2
--------------------------Database--------------------------
   Name: Super Puyo Puyo 2
Country: Japan                  Revision: 1.0
 Port 1: Gamepad                  Port 2: Gamepad
Genre 1: Puzzle                  Genre 2: Matching


Code:
---------------------Internal ROM Info----------------------
       File: Super Puyo Puyo 2 Remix (J).smc
       Name: スーパープヨプヨツウ リミックス    Company: Square
     Header: None                      Bank: LoROM
Interleaved: No                        SRAM: 0 Kb
       Type: Normal                     ROM: 16 Mb
    Country: Japan                    Video: NTSC
  ROM Speed: 120ns (FastROM)       Revision: 1.0
   Checksum: Good 0xD80C              CRC32: 61F903F8
        MD5: 0DC4EFAC96B9E965009E9C613913C6F8
--------------------------Database--------------------------
   Name: Super Puyo Puyo 2 Remix
Country: Japan                  Revision: 1.0
 Port 1: Gamepad                  Port 2: Gamepad
Genre 1: Puzzle                  Genre 2: Matching


Code:
---------------------Internal ROM Info----------------------
       File: Kirby's Avalanche (U) [!].sfc
       Name: Kirby's Avalanche      Company: Nintendo
     Header: None                      Bank: LoROM
Interleaved: No                        SRAM: 0 Kb
       Type: Normal                     ROM: 8 Mb
    Country: USA                      Video: NTSC
  ROM Speed: 120ns (FastROM)       Revision: 1.0
   Checksum: Good 0xEF27              CRC32: 21E658B8
        MD5: BDDD943215857AD77EA48D2A1A138EC8
--------------------------Database--------------------------
   Name: Kirby's Avalanche
Country: USA                    Revision: 1.0
 Port 1: Gamepad                  Port 2: Gamepad
Genre 1: Puzzle                  Genre 2: Matching


[FIXED] In an unrelated issue, ZSNES does not save the buttons I assign to Gamepad 2 in the Input menu (in Tab 2). You have to input these every time, seems like a psr issue. This has as far as I know, never worked since the new config was introduced.

_________________
ZSNES Documentation Project | bsnes Fan | Official ZSNES Facebook Group


Last edited by Clements on Fri Aug 25, 2006 3:52 pm, edited 2 times in total.



Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:35 pm
Profile WWW
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
IIRC, I think pagefault had an update regarding player 2 controls... and then eventually concluded that the code for it must be rewritten.

As for the player 2 config not saving, I will look into it.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:56 pm
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
It seems fine.. you might want to start fresh by deleting the cfg file and see if that makes a difference.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:29 pm
Profile
Randomness
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:01 pm
Posts: 1172
Location: UK
Reply with quote
Post 
Still does not save Player 2 gamepad inputs, even after a config wipe. Perhaps I did not clarify that this is after you close ZSNES the config does not save to the cfg file, so you must re-enter the keys each time you use ZSNES.

Procedure went though:

1) Player 1, configured keys to my 1st gamepad in Tab 1. (Highlight Keyb/Gamepad, Set > Set Keys.)

2) Player 2, configured keys to my 2nd gamepad in Tab 2. (Highlight Keyb/Gamepad, Set > Set Keys.)

3) Exit menu.

4) Exit ZSNES completely.

5) Re-open ZSNES.

6) Open Input menus. Player 1 controls are saved as they should. Player 2 controls are wiped out (i.e. ---) except for the R button oddly. Using the keyboard produces similarly odd results.

ipher WIP works perfectly with the old CFG file.

_________________
ZSNES Documentation Project | bsnes Fan | Official ZSNES Facebook Group


Thu Jul 13, 2006 8:02 pm
Profile WWW
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
Ok.. this is joypad related... I'll take a look at what might be causing it.. but I'm not a joypad wiz...

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Thu Jul 13, 2006 8:10 pm
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
Have you tried forcing the cfg file to be made? Hopefully that helps the situation....

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Thu Jul 13, 2006 8:55 pm
Profile
Randomness
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:01 pm
Posts: 1172
Location: UK
Reply with quote
Post 
Yep (Misc > Save CFG).

I've also tried manually editing key inputs in the cfg file, and the same thing happens.

The only way to use my second gamepad is to enter the buttons everytime. All my other emulators including ipher's ZSNES WIP have no issue with my Gamepads. There is definitely a bug in the code somewhere. It's very frustrating.

_________________
ZSNES Documentation Project | bsnes Fan | Official ZSNES Facebook Group


Thu Jul 13, 2006 9:08 pm
Profile WWW
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
Ok, grinvader says he has a pretty good idea what is causing this issue. Thanks for pointing it out.

Hopefully there will be some obvious issues pointed out since the removal of cfgload (which was removed soon after ipher's WIP)... the PSR config file is not at fault.. it's just that there are alignment issues at work (references to alignment means there is evil at work).

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Thu Jul 13, 2006 9:27 pm
Profile
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Posts: 5615
Location: PAL50, dood !
Reply with quote
Post 
Yeah, basically the old input keys were laid out in memory such as they would all be accessible from the first, like an array. The PSR update broke that peculiar alignment, and I fixed the displaying code... but not the input.

Now that I think about it, that's prolly why several keys got weird names on recent builds... hehe ^^;

Will be done as soon as I can get around to do it.

No idea about that puyo bug, though.

_________________
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Code:
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54


Thu Jul 13, 2006 10:05 pm
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Posts: 3901
Location: Solar powered park bench
Reply with quote
Post 
I'm aware a bunch of games don't work in SVN at the moment.

Examples include ToP not playing all channels, and Battlemaniacs freezing after the first level.

Basically pagefault commited first half of a patch. Be patient for second half.

_________________
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding


Thu Jul 13, 2006 11:27 pm
Profile WWW
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
This is an update to the Pad 2 issue. I'm gonna release a new update in a moment that will fix the set button that was broken some revisions ago...

Can someone with a gamepad/joystick please see if the recent changes have fixed the Gampad 2/Input #2 issue?

Edit: I've uploaded the last of the input fixes. The current revision as of this post is r3711.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Fri Aug 25, 2006 5:32 am
Profile
Randomness
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:01 pm
Posts: 1172
Location: UK
Reply with quote
Post 
The Input #2 problem is definitely fixed now.

_________________
ZSNES Documentation Project | bsnes Fan | Official ZSNES Facebook Group


Fri Aug 25, 2006 3:49 pm
Profile WWW
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
Ok, thanks. This issue became nastier than the time it was initially reported (when you really notice the issue crop up in a different from, it's became woefully evil). At the time of your earlier post Clements, I couldn't really reproduce your issue (didn't test enough apparently) and I'm fairly sure this is fixed across all ports.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Fri Aug 25, 2006 4:26 pm
Profile
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 8:55 am
Posts: 265
Location: The Netherlands
Reply with quote
Post 
The only bug that remains here (r3713), is that the Turbo buttons of Input #1 are not saved when inputed via Gamepad. In Input #2, everything works ok.


Fri Aug 25, 2006 8:25 pm
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
Looking into it...

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Fri Aug 25, 2006 9:12 pm
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 9:51 pm
Posts: 115
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
Post 
EMu-LoRd wrote:
The only bug that remains here (r3713), is that the Turbo buttons of Input #1 are not saved when inputed via Gamepad. In Input #2, everything works ok.

Fixed.


Sat Aug 26, 2006 12:45 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
Jonas Quinn wrote:
EMu-LoRd wrote:
The only bug that remains here (r3713), is that the Turbo buttons of Input #1 are not saved when inputed via Gamepad. In Input #2, everything works ok.

Fixed.


Turbo is fixed, but 1PDiagonals aren't though. Also, Most of Player 2's config is reborked like I hadn't made any changes...

Hmm.. I think I have an idea on fixing this.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sat Aug 26, 2006 2:26 am
Profile
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 8:55 am
Posts: 265
Location: The Netherlands
Reply with quote
Post 
Maybe I should have posted this elsewhere, but I discovered that Mouse Click enters/exits GUI doesn't save either after ZSNES restart. As always, latest SVN.


Sat Aug 26, 2006 11:17 pm
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
EMu-LoRd wrote:
Maybe I should have posted this elsewhere, but I discovered that Mouse Click enters/exits GUI doesn't save either after ZSNES restart. As always, latest SVN.


"Latest SVN" is vague. Always state the revision #.

In any case, this issue is fixed.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sun Aug 27, 2006 4:25 am
Profile
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 8:55 am
Posts: 265
Location: The Netherlands
Reply with quote
Post 
Deathlike2 wrote:
EMu-LoRd wrote:
Maybe I should have posted this elsewhere, but I discovered that Mouse Click enters/exits GUI doesn't save either after ZSNES restart. As always, latest SVN.


"Latest SVN" is vague. Always state the revision #.

In any case, this issue is fixed.

Apologies, I should have indeed mentioned the Revision number. Say, hasn't this issue been resolved before by Jonas Quinn?


Sun Aug 27, 2006 7:26 pm
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
EMu-LoRd wrote:
Apologies, I should have indeed mentioned the Revision number. Say, hasn't this issue been resolved before by Jonas Quinn?


Pay attention to what was written+quoted.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:15 pm
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
This looks to really be fixed... the Input #2/Joypad #2 issue. Thank Jonas_Quinn for the fix.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:15 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
This is the first reported instance of the change. I havce moved it so people are aware of the issue.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sat Jan 27, 2007 9:17 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 23 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.