View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Oct 17, 2019 10:42 pm



Reply to topic  [ 156 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
ZSNES 1.51 Released! 
Author Message
Gecko snack

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Posts: 2372
Location: Australia, QLD
Reply with quote
Post 
Panzer88 wrote:
if people really are bitching about it so much would it bet that hard to create an option either way? I really don't care, I mean, hell it's you emulator.

who's "bitching" about it?

_________________
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64


Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:40 am
Profile WWW
Seen it all
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Posts: 2302
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
Post 
Btw. the DirectColor bug (link) is still present, but now it looks like this (pic, right one is how it looks now). Happens with both engines.

_________________
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list


Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:15 am
Profile WWW
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 5:24 am
Posts: 812
Location: In your garden
Reply with quote
Post 
Haven't had time to get to that yet, will try before next release.


Sun Feb 04, 2007 8:36 pm
Profile
Inmate

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:28 am
Posts: 1485
Location: Salem, Oregon
Reply with quote
Post 
franpa wrote:
Panzer88 wrote:
if people really are bitching about it so much would it bet that hard to create an option either way? I really don't care, I mean, hell it's you emulator.

who's "bitching" about it?


jez pretty clearly was but that is irrelevent now, since both options will be available.

_________________
byuu wrote:
Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(


Mon Feb 05, 2007 1:08 am
Profile WWW
Gecko snack

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Posts: 2372
Location: Australia, QLD
Reply with quote
Post 
Panzer88 wrote:
franpa wrote:
Panzer88 wrote:
if people really are bitching about it so much would it bet that hard to create an option either way? I really don't care, I mean, hell it's you emulator.

who's "bitching" about it?


jez pretty clearly was but that is irrelevent now, since both options will be available.

oh, sorry for that then :)

_________________
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64


Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:01 am
Profile WWW
Hazed

Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 6:30 pm
Posts: 59
Reply with quote
Post always great
Thanks again for another excellent release! ZSNES has come so far over the years and keeps getting better.


Mon Feb 05, 2007 3:53 am
Profile
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 1:54 pm
Posts: 327
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Post 
FitzRoy wrote:
Just look at the two biggest sega emulators with their annoying RF signal bullshit.

I think they do this because many Sega games have to simulate transparency by using checkerboard (Quackshot) or vertical line overlays (Sonic). The SNES has real transparency.

Quote:
Instead, I feel like I'm being faced with an "are you sure?" pop-up every time I load a rom, because I load every rom with the obvious intention of running it.

This is probably a half-thought way of being sure that you don't lose a game in progress. I wrote a NES emulator and handled this issue in a much less annoying way. If you open a ROM but never use the Save menu item, it won't bother you when you open another ROM, so you can easily try a bunch of different games without being bothered. If you have made a save file and played the game for ten or more seconds since you last saved, then opening another ROM will give you the options of canceling, saving the game before loading the ROM, or loading it without saving. In other words, it works like a normal document editing application.


Mon Feb 05, 2007 7:02 pm
Profile WWW
Inmate

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:28 am
Posts: 1485
Location: Salem, Oregon
Reply with quote
Post 
blargg wrote:
FitzRoy wrote:
Just look at the two biggest sega emulators with their annoying RF signal bullshit.

I think they do this because many Sega games have to simulate transparency by using checkerboard (Quackshot) or vertical line overlays (Sonic). The SNES has real transparency.

Quote:
Instead, I feel like I'm being faced with an "are you sure?" pop-up every time I load a rom, because I load every rom with the obvious intention of running it.

This is probably a half-thought way of being sure that you don't lose a game in progress. I wrote a NES emulator and handled this issue in a much less annoying way. If you open a ROM but never use the Save menu item, it won't bother you when you open another ROM, so you can easily try a bunch of different games without being bothered. If you have made a save file and played the game for ten or more seconds since you last saved, then opening another ROM will give you the options of canceling, saving the game before loading the ROM, or loading it without saving. In other words, it works like a normal document editing application.


nice, working out human error is good, I've lost progress numerous times because of dumb accidents.

_________________
byuu wrote:
Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(


Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:04 am
Profile WWW
Seen it all
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Posts: 2302
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
Post 
The Super Metroid ending shows some garbled tiles in the first row. (picture, zst)
Is this a known bug? It's been there for a while, afaik...

Code:
File: Super Metroid (J,U).zip Header: No
Super Metroid             TYPE:NORMAL   
INTERLEAVED:No               CHKSUM:OK 
VIDEO:NTSC    BANK:Lo     CRC32:D63ED5F8

_________________
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list


Fri Feb 16, 2007 9:39 pm
Profile WWW
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 5:24 am
Posts: 812
Location: In your garden
Reply with quote
Post 
It's been fixed already.


Fri Feb 16, 2007 9:50 pm
Profile
Seen it all
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Posts: 2302
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
Post 
Great, thanks :)

_________________
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list


Fri Feb 16, 2007 11:02 pm
Profile WWW
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 5:24 am
Posts: 812
Location: In your garden
Reply with quote
Post 
Yeah it was caused by a problem in the timing of scanline 0 combined with how gfx engine cashes lines. But it should be all good now.


Fri Feb 16, 2007 11:26 pm
Profile
Trooper
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 11:08 pm
Posts: 376
Location: DFW area, TX USA
Reply with quote
Post 
FitzRoy wrote:

While testing bsnes, I noticed that most games actually use the last line to display information and very few show garbage there. And it's very, very rare that the garbage will actually prove annoying during gameplay or be a permanent neon fixation. That's simply a bug in zsnes. In my opinion, a cut off feature or anything that tries to simulate overscan is totally unnecessary. Not only because of the fact that so few games have these so called border issues, but because CRT tv technology has absolutely nothing to do with actual SNES output. Most developers were smart enough to realize that overscan varied GREATLY depending on the tv, so it was smarter to simply draw the entire area and eliminate any chance of a crt tv displaying a black border beside the image.

If people are so bothered by this crt crap in general, how about buying a tv with a composite input and running the video card to a tube? Or how about getting one of those really old crt monitors with the curved screens and manually inflating the display area to effectuate overscan? Trying to simulate this stuff on a modern flat screen, progressive computer monitor always ends up looking like shit in comparison. I don't know when this fad got started in emulation, but it's getting out of hand. Just look at the two biggest sega emulators with their annoying RF signal bullshit. The gaming experience just wouldn't be complete without emulating the most notoriously annoying tv signal, would it? And how about these emulators with the "Machine" in the menu. An emulator is not a machine. There are processes that can and should be simplified. It's just silly to have to turn on "the machine" after loading a rom. Is clicking a computer mouse twice as much somehow more nostalgic? I'm sorry, but I don't have the imagination of a six year old to pretend that I am operating a real system. Instead, I feel like I'm being faced with an "are you sure?" pop-up every time I load a rom, because I load every rom with the obvious intention of running it.


Amen!

I feel exactly the same way and I grew up on bubble-screen crt's with inflated image scanning. I'd also like to point out that way back when I used to play on a real NES and SNES, I had a Sony Trinitron TV. I found the service code that allowed me to change the scanning size from within the set, and indeed the NES DID in fact send all 240 scanlines in an NTSC format. That's why I always force 240 scanlines in NES emulators like nestopia. As for the SNES, I simply adjusted the set's scanning size to exactly fit the image. I was a big fan of Sony TV's after learning how to use the service code from the remote.


Wed Mar 14, 2007 3:31 pm
Profile WWW
Hazed
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 2:11 am
Posts: 64
Location: NZ
Reply with quote
Post 
Thanks Zsnes team. :D

_________________
HunterKiller
<========]----+


Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:03 am
Profile YIM WWW
Rookie

Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:37 am
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
Post 
:lol: With each release, new bugs fixed :P :shock: :roll:

_________________
Hyrule is cool.


Wed Apr 04, 2007 3:15 pm
Profile
Retrosexual
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 2:09 am
Posts: 1011
Location: Rapture
Reply with quote
Post 
for shame! hath no one tried zelda 3 yet? when the three spinning triforces come together, they stop spinning and slowly join together while not rotating. try it, I've never seen an emu with such a disgrace to zelda!

p.s. I still love zsnes, even if it's not perfect.

p.p.s. I would vote to remove the last line. even though the snes shows it, tvs would crop it. I have never seen a solid line at the bottom of my snes while playing it. only 0.0001% of people would ever even ask that it be shown, while the rest would rather it not be drawn.

<3 <3 <3

_________________
ultimate immortality
Image


Fri Apr 06, 2007 6:43 am
Profile
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 8:55 am
Posts: 265
Location: The Netherlands
Reply with quote
Post 
phOnYmIkE wrote:
p.p.s. I would vote to remove the last line. even though the snes shows it, tvs would crop it. I have never seen a solid line at the bottom of my snes while playing it. only 0.0001% of people would ever even ask that it be shown, while the rest would rather it not be drawn.

Try bsnes, or any other snes emulator for that matter. Many games I tried do show a continuation of the screen in that line.

_________________
"Change is inevitable; progress is optional"


Fri Apr 06, 2007 9:15 am
Profile
Gecko snack

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Posts: 2372
Location: Australia, QLD
Reply with quote
Post 
phOnYmIkE wrote:
for shame! hath no one tried zelda 3 yet? when the three spinning triforces come together, they stop spinning and slowly join together while not rotating. try it, I've never seen an emu with such a disgrace to zelda!

http://board.zsnes.com/phpBB2/viewtopic ... ight=zelda

and that last line is going to eventually be fixed =) 'nuff said.

_________________
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64


Fri Apr 06, 2007 9:58 am
Profile WWW
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Posts: 3901
Location: Solar powered park bench
Reply with quote
Post 
creaothceann wrote:
EDIT: The "about" window still says that there's a "license.txt", but it's not in the release... :wink: [complaint]


Y'Know, I just noticed this. WTH are you talking about? Of course it's in the release. If you can't find it, you either need glasses, or learn how to navigate a zip file.

_________________
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding


Wed Apr 11, 2007 11:36 am
Profile WWW
Seen it all
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Posts: 2302
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
Post 
I asked in that thread if the content was different from "\zsnesw151\docs\readme.htm\index.htm\Navigation\License" ...

Q-Marine wrote:
Yes, the license.htm is about one third longer.


Didn't check that though.

_________________
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list


Wed Apr 11, 2007 5:02 pm
Profile WWW
Reply with quote
Post 
EMu-LoRd wrote:
Try bsnes, or any other snes emulator for that matter. Many games I tried do show a continuation of the screen in that line.


Thanks, but you're wasting your time. If he didn't read the explanation of why the line should be there the first twelve times we all went over it, he won't read your response either. Or perhaps he is reading it, but just not processing it at all. Who knows.

However, lucky for us he knows how everyone in the world feels, and can tell us exactly how many people would and would not benefit from seeing the extra line. Since he clearly indicates that literally only one in a million people will appreciate the extra line, we may as well remove it, right? Problem solved.


Wed Apr 11, 2007 6:32 pm
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Posts: 3901
Location: Solar powered park bench
Reply with quote
Post 
creaothceann wrote:
I asked in that thread if the content was different from "\zsnesw151\docs\readme.htm\index.htm\Navigation\License" ...

Q-Marine wrote:
Yes, the license.htm is about one third longer.


Didn't check that though.


\zsnesw151\docs\readme.txt\license.txt has the same content as \zsnesw151\docs\readme.htm\license.htm The HTML one is 30% larger in file size due to added markup.

_________________
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding


Wed Apr 11, 2007 10:36 pm
Profile WWW
Seen it all
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Posts: 2302
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
Post 
I see.

Well, sorry for much ado about nothing then.

_________________
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list


Wed Apr 11, 2007 10:45 pm
Profile WWW
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 8:55 am
Posts: 265
Location: The Netherlands
Reply with quote
Post 
byuu wrote:
However, lucky for us he knows how everyone in the world feels, and can tell us exactly how many people would and would not benefit from seeing the extra line. Since he clearly indicates that literally only one in a million people will appreciate the extra line, we may as well remove it, right? Problem solved.
Either that, or add the line properly like you have, and then nobody would probably even notice. I'm all for the line 8)

_________________
"Change is inevitable; progress is optional"


Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:08 am
Profile
Inmate

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:28 am
Posts: 1485
Location: Salem, Oregon
Reply with quote
Post 
I don't even see why people call it "adding" and "extra 'line'" honestly, you are just displaying the entire screen area, why not? a lot of games there is no such 'line' it just continues the last segment of the game screen.

_________________
byuu wrote:
Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(


Thu Apr 12, 2007 7:37 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 156 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.