View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Dec 14, 2019 8:21 am



This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 20 posts ] 
Star Ocean 100% English Translation...problems 
Author Message
New Member

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:01 am
Posts: 7
Reply with quote
Post Star Ocean 100% English Translation...problems
To the point. I have the Star Ocean (J) rom. I downloaded the 100% English translation directly from Dejap's site. I read the README that said to rename the IPS file to the name of the rom file and place it in the same folder the rom is in. That gives me:

Star Ocean (J).smc
Star Ocean (J).ips
SOCNSDD1 Folder w/ decompressors

All of these are within the same STAR_OCEAN folder. I followed all the directions I could.

However, when starting the game, the text during the character name screen, everything is in japanese. Also, the opening cutscene text is in japanese...which is ok though since they speak in english.

Then, the menu screens are all in Japanese. Is the chat text the only thing translated at all?


Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:08 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
It helps a lot if you actually post what emu you are using (including version and port) and the NSRT output of the ROM.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:15 am
Profile
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Posts: 3534
Location: Nokia Land
Reply with quote
Post 
1. You don't need the graphics packs. At least not if you are using the latest ZSNES or Snes9x.
2. Put the .IPS file in the same folder where your save states and .srm files are stored.

_________________
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image


Sun Dec 23, 2007 2:13 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:01 am
Posts: 7
Reply with quote
Post 
I use both ZSNES and Snes9x. I compare the two often.

I took the ISP file and placed it into where my .srm files are. Nothing has changed.


Sun Dec 23, 2007 2:54 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
Make sure the save directory is defined. Place the IPS in the folder you specified.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sun Dec 23, 2007 3:03 am
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:01 am
Posts: 7
Reply with quote
Post 
I used Snes9x now because it has an entire folder dedicated to saves. I placed the file there and placed all Star Ocean rom-related files in the Rom folder in the Snes9x main folder, tried it, and still nothing. The game still reads it as mostly japanese.

Image
Image
Image


Sun Dec 23, 2007 4:45 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
Dude, you are simply not doing what is requested of you. It also looks like you are not using the latest patch and/or using an already prepatched Star Ocean ROM.

Again, you aren't reading at all.

The decompression packs aren't required anymore.

If you got the proper patch and used it on the original Japanese ROM, you'd see this:

Image

Image

It is not the emu's fault for your screwing up.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sun Dec 23, 2007 5:16 am
Profile
Regular

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 6:43 pm
Posts: 253
Location: localhost
Reply with quote
Post 
There's a huge chance he's still using the packs by now, or softpatching a hardpatched rom. He's not posted any NSRT info either.


Sun Dec 23, 2007 3:55 pm
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:01 am
Posts: 7
Reply with quote
Post 
I'm not blaming any rom or any emulator for anything. Don't assume I am and don't get angry at me for something I'm simply not doing. I'm actually doing everything I can to communicate in a calm and professional manner about this.

I, put simply, just don't understand what to do here since this is the first time I've had to do such things.

My history with emulators and roms has been "turn on emulator, load rom, set button config, and play." I've never had to mess with translators, patches, or any such things. I've read all I could and I'm just asking for honest to goodness help. If I wanted to kick and scream about this, I would have done so long ago.


Now then, my ZSnes doesn't need the decompressor, so I will be using that. It runs the game without it.

Also, I don't know what softpatching/hardpatching is.

And finally, I don't know what NSRT is, so I can't post that right this moment either.

Just please be patient with me on this and help me one step at a time. There's no rush and there shouldn't be any arguments. I apologise for not being some kind of emulation expert to understand what this all means. I'm just following directions to the best of my ability until I learn more about what I am dealing with.


Sun Dec 23, 2007 5:06 pm
Profile
Regular

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 6:43 pm
Posts: 253
Location: localhost
Reply with quote
Post 
http://kuro-hitsuji.net/~tukuyomi/snese ... page=tools
Download the latest NSRT for you OS and probe your rom. Post the output here. That info is crucial if you want any help.


Sun Dec 23, 2007 5:33 pm
Profile
Seen it all
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Posts: 2302
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
Post 
Kagato wrote:
Also, I don't know what softpatching/hardpatching is.

Hardpatching: applying the patch to the ROM file, altering it permanently.
Softpatching: applying the patch to the ROM in the emulator (after it has been loaded into RAM), leaving the ROM file unmodified.

Kagato wrote:
I don't know what NSRT

Can be found via the forum search function. There's a recent thread with download links.

_________________
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list


Sun Dec 23, 2007 5:51 pm
Profile WWW
New Member

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:01 am
Posts: 7
Reply with quote
Post 
Alright. I opened the program and I'm not sure if this is the information you're asking for or not, but here's something:

Quote:
---------------------Internal ROM Info----------------------
File: Star Ocean (J).smc
Name: Star Ocean
Company: Enix
Header: None
Bank: LoROM
Interleaved: None
SRAM: 64 Kb
Type: S-DD1 + Batt
ROM: 48 Mb
Country: Japan
Video: NTSC
ROM Speed: 120ns (FastROM)
Revision: 1.0
Checksum: Bad 0x7E19 != 0x13B8
Game Code: ARFJ
---------------------------Hashes---------------------------
CRC32: C88D3D01
MD5: CFF0FA4014725F6C4AA84C7A10AD365D
--------------------------Database--------------------------
ROM wasn't found in the database (possible bad dump).
You can try using -fix or -findover to see if the
file has been slightly altered in a rectifiable way.


Sun Dec 23, 2007 11:06 pm
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
Kagato wrote:
Alright. I opened the program and I'm not sure if this is the information you're asking for or not, but here's something:

Quote:
---------------------Internal ROM Info----------------------
File: Star Ocean (J).smc
Name: Star Ocean
Company: Enix
Header: None
Bank: LoROM
Interleaved: None
SRAM: 64 Kb
Type: S-DD1 + Batt
ROM: 48 Mb
Country: Japan
Video: NTSC
ROM Speed: 120ns (FastROM)
Revision: 1.0
Checksum: Bad 0x7E19 != 0x13B8
Game Code: ARFJ
---------------------------Hashes---------------------------
CRC32: C88D3D01
MD5: CFF0FA4014725F6C4AA84C7A10AD365D
--------------------------Database--------------------------
ROM wasn't found in the database (possible bad dump).
You can try using -fix or -findover to see if the
file has been slightly altered in a rectifiable way.


You need to find a copy of the ROM that isn't prepatched/hardpatched. If the ROM is found in the database, it is a good original copy.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sun Dec 23, 2007 11:21 pm
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:01 am
Posts: 7
Reply with quote
Post 
Ok. I found a copy that gives slightly different information:

Quote:
---------------------Internal ROM Info----------------------
File: Star Ocean (J).smc
Name: Star Ocean
Company: Enix
Header: None
Bank: LoROM
Interleaved: None
SRAM: 64 Kb
Type: S-DD1 + Batt
ROM: 48 Mb
Country: Japan
Video: NTSC
ROM Speed: 120ns (FastROM)
Revision: 1.0
Checksum: Good 0x13B8
Game Code: ARFJ
---------------------------Hashes---------------------------
CRC32: 3DBDFDBF
MD5: D686BA6DF942084216393ADA009126DC
--------------------------Database--------------------------
Name: Star Ocean
Country: Japan
Revision: 1.0
Port 1: Gamepad
Port 2: Gamepad
Genre 1: RPG
Genre 2: Semi-Action


Sun Dec 23, 2007 11:53 pm
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
It should patch fine against the translation patch.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Sun Dec 23, 2007 11:59 pm
Profile
New Member

Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:01 am
Posts: 7
Reply with quote
Post 
Yes. I just tried it out and everything works fine.

Update: Well...everything works fine for the most part. The game seems to "black out" and freeze often. If there's a remedy to this, I'm all ears.

Everyone, thank you very much for all your help and patience. You don't know how much this means to me. Star Ocean is my favorite RPG series and SO2 is my absolute favorite game of all time, but I've always wanted to play SO1...to no avail. That is, until now.

Thank you very very much. Happy Holidays to you all.


Mon Dec 24, 2007 12:02 am
Profile
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Posts: 3534
Location: Nokia Land
Reply with quote
Post 
Use Snes9x for Star Ocean.

_________________
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image


Mon Dec 24, 2007 1:32 am
Profile
Locksmith of Hyrule
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Posts: 3634
Location: 255.255.255.255
Reply with quote
Post 
yeah, there's bugs in the game that happened even on the console.

_________________
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.


Mon Dec 24, 2007 2:56 am
Profile YIM WWW
Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 3:56 am
Posts: 844
Reply with quote
Post 
People never read the read me files of their emulators or the ones that comes with a patch.

_________________
Yes I know that my grammar sucks!


Last edited by Neo Kaiser on Mon Dec 24, 2007 6:18 am, edited 1 time in total.



Mon Dec 24, 2007 6:01 am
Profile
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Posts: 6747
Reply with quote
Post 
Neo Kaiser, you douchebag, read the entire thread progress.

_________________
Continuing FF4 Research...


Mon Dec 24, 2007 6:09 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.   [ 20 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.