View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Oct 17, 2019 10:42 pm



Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Z.N.E.S 
Author Message
Rookie

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 11:24 am
Posts: 21
Reply with quote
Post Z.N.E.S
Hi, not technically related to "zsnes" but maybe someone have interest...

**** i need to use dots, because some admin believe is you write zsnes without the S... you are stupid ****




Since DOS days, i always dream to zsnes load NES/Famicom roms too... i love the GUI :D


The other day, i had some free time, and decide to (maybe too late :lol: ) make the dream true.... I compile zmz in mingw, change some small piece of code, and the fceumm libretro core is working perfectly now

I compile fceumm libretro core to support Famicom Disk System in ZMZ. Only need the bios "DISKSYS.ROM"


Sadly, because work, I almost dont have free time to fix small details




NES *.nes roms need to be uncompressed (zip is not working) inside ROMS folder, and Famicom Disk System *.fds inside FDS folder


If you change the FCEUMM core to quicknes or b.n.e.s, there no restrictions about folders, and zip work. But this cores dont support FDS



Here is the binary, and the source i change (remove the S from the zsnes name on link)

http://www.akihabara-online.com/Main/Emula/zsnes/zsnes.zip


Image



Enjoy


Last edited by theelf on Fri Aug 12, 2016 10:33 am, edited 1 time in total.



Fri Aug 12, 2016 12:12 am
Profile WWW
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4247
Reply with quote
Post Re: Z.N.E.S
"**** i need to use dots, because some admin believe is you write zsnes without the S... you are stupid ****"
It is an automated filter, because it is almost always true. And because it is funny.


You could always spell it ZedNES, like the british.

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


KHDownloads


Fri Aug 12, 2016 6:18 am
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 11:24 am
Posts: 21
Reply with quote
Post Re: Z.N.E.S
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
"**** i need to use dots, because some admin believe is you write zsnes without the S... you are stupid ****"
It is an automated filter, because it is almost always true. And because it is funny.


You could always spell it ZedNES, like the british.



yup, sure is automatic filter, but someone make it.... I can understand the joke, but really I dont see the funny thing change people posts

Anyways, i really dont care, is just I found strange. I get surprise when I read my own post :lol:


In case change the name, i will preffer to call "ZetaNES" because im spanish...


Fri Aug 12, 2016 10:33 am
Profile WWW
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4247
Reply with quote
Post Re: Z.N.E.S
theelf wrote:
Gil_Hamilton wrote:
"**** i need to use dots, because some admin believe is you write zsnes without the S... you are stupid ****"
It is an automated filter, because it is almost always true. And because it is funny.


You could always spell it ZedNES, like the british.



yup, sure is automatic filter, but someone make it.... I can understand the joke, but really I dont see the funny thing change people posts

Anyways, i really dont care, is just I found strange. I get surprise when I read my own post :lol:

I do not recall if I was responsible for that specific filter anymore, but I know I was responsible for a few idiot-shaming ones, and started the joke filter trend that gives zboard it's distinctive character.
And, well... 99.99% of the time, when someone types Z.NES, they mean ZSNES and just can't read. Correcting people got old, so we used the forum software's built-in filters to autocorrect it and subtly(or not so subtly) hint to people that they were misspelling the name.
(At least one person went on a huge page-long rant about how they weren't talking about a ZSNES they'd never heard of, and people needed to stop hacking their posts to say Z.NES . It was pretty great.)


My favorite filter remains "Top Gear 3000" to "a racing game that doesn't have a gun on the hood and therefore sucks"

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


KHDownloads


Fri Aug 12, 2016 12:21 pm
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 11:24 am
Posts: 21
Reply with quote
Post Re: Z.N.E.S
:lol: :lol: thanks for post the funny answer

I think maybe is is the "0.01%" when Z.N.E.S is correct :D in fact because i live in Japan, and i grow up with famiclones, i really want to call ZFamicom, but i realize dont make any sense :lol:


Ahh...is so great to play famicom/fds games with zsnes (btw i'm too stupid to learn the name of the emulator) gui... i will check if other cores work too, maybe master system :shock: :shock: :D


Fri Aug 12, 2016 1:21 pm
Profile WWW
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4247
Reply with quote
Post Re: Z.N.E.S
theelf wrote:
:lol: :lol: thanks for post the funny answer

I think maybe is is the "0.01%" when Z.N.E.S is correct :D in fact because i live in Japan, and i grow up with famiclones, i really want to call ZFamicom, but i realize dont make any sense :lol:

ZFC sounds really catchy, though.

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


KHDownloads


Fri Aug 12, 2016 3:56 pm
Profile
Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:31 am
Posts: 1140
Reply with quote
Post Re: Z.N.E.S
Awesome. Now you just need to publish the source code somewhere, maybe. Unless you only built this from an existing source base. I remember such a thing existing, but I don't remember where it was published. ZSNES as a libretro frontend.


Sat Aug 13, 2016 4:54 am
Profile WWW
Rookie

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 11:24 am
Posts: 21
Reply with quote
Post Re: Z.N.E.S
kode54 wrote:
Awesome. Now you just need to publish the source code somewhere, maybe. Unless you only built this from an existing source base. I remember such a thing existing, but I don't remember where it was published. ZSNES as a libretro frontend.



Hi, sorry, you are right, i forget to add the source changes in the download :roll: this is based in zmz (i did not change the icon or any reference, just put the funny new name)


I updated the zip, download again if u want to compile yourself (download fceum libretro+zmz sources and apply changes)

Have a nice day


Sat Aug 13, 2016 11:54 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.