ZSNES Video Dump Butterfly Effect (Help!)

General area for talk about ZSNES. The best place to ask for related questions as well as troubleshooting.

Moderator: ZSNES Mods

Berret
Rookie

ZSNES Video Dump Butterfly Effect (Help!)

Post by Berret »

Hey guys,

I'm fairly new to this process, but I am starting to get the hang of it. I am getting great audio and video quality with the xvid lossless and the settings I have. I'm pumping out a solid presentation resolution of 1280x800 which is perfect for a widescreen HD display.

Here is my very serious drawback:

I am trying to dump a very LONG video. It's a 1 hour and 48 minute 100% Speed Run of Super Metroid. The video, in total length, actually ends up being a little longer than that I believe, but within about 20 minutes I run into a probability-based issue. Occasionally, the emulator incorrectly moves the character and sets off a chain of events that has me either die or jump around aimlessly in the same area for over an hour (after having left the computer during its encoding process). I have tried to dump the long video three times, each time failing at a different spot. This is how I know it is an error in the instructions given by the emulator during the dumping process.

I know that, in hindsight, I probably should have just taken several segments of the video (such as twenty minutes each) and dumped each one, but unfortunately I can't go back now. The video is already recorded.

Is there a setting or string I can include in zmovie.cfg that will either increase the accuracy of the instructions given during the dumping (such as activating an aggressive mode, which I understand is bound to slow the process down) OR fix this problem altogether? Is it a known bug?