Super NES Programming Tips

Strictly for discussing ZSNES development and for submitting code. You can also join us on IRC at irc.libera.chat in #zsnes.
Please, no requests here.

Moderator: ZSNES Mods

Post Reply
Modano
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 9:42 pm
Location: Montpellier, France
Contact:

Super NES Programming Tips

Post by Modano »

Hello, everybody, pleased to be there in this forum I've been watching since some days :)

I've been gathering around the net tons and tons of doc about the Super NES 65c816 assembly programming, tutorials, technical references, instructions references, examples, demos...etc...

Very very interesting, as I'm motivated in taking some long time learning the 65816 assembly language, out of curiosity and all.

Although MarcTheMer assembly tutorial seems pretty good, it is incomplete :s
( http://snescentral.edgeemu.com/Developm ... ntents.htm )
Has anybody this full tutorial, or an equivalent ?

Anyway, the most important follows.
I'm looking for a SNES debugger (to follow traces, internal registers, step by step...)...I saw a customized Snes9X version...for Windows.
Unfortunately (this must be the first kind of program I don't see for Linux), i'm on Linux :op
So, is there a customized Zsnes version, or another tool, to see the 65c816 in action ? :(

Anyway, again, thanks everybody !
Modano@jabber.org
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

You can run ZSNES DOS in DOSBox, or Snes9x tracer version or Super Sleuth in WINE.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
byuu

Post by byuu »

You can run ZSNES DOS in DOSBox
Wow, I should try that sometime.
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

byuusan wrote:
You can run ZSNES DOS in DOSBox
Wow, I should try that sometime.
I find it the easiest way to test changed with the DOS port when I'm in Linux.
Unfornetly I can't test the Windows port in Linux or the Linux port in Windows.

Hence on multiple occasions I had to switch from one machine to another to make sure some changes stayed compatible between all OSs.

I really should get VMWare setup at some point at home, or perhaps I should just make use of my multiple machines :P
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
Noxious Ninja
Dark Wind
Posts: 1271
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 8:58 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by Noxious Ninja »

Have you ever tried with with QEMU? It would probably be faster than DosBox, and you could run Windows on it, as well.
[u][url=http://bash.org/?577451]#577451[/url][/u]
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

Never heard of QEMU.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
Noxious Ninja
Dark Wind
Posts: 1271
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 8:58 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by Noxious Ninja »

[u][url=http://bash.org/?577451]#577451[/url][/u]
Modano
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 9:42 pm
Location: Montpellier, France
Contact:

Post by Modano »

OK thanks a lot :), so DOSEMU runs pretty fine for debugging purposes (not for emulation , PIV 1.7GHz ~ 386/25) :)
I don't like Wine very much (fonts problems, for instance).
QEMU seems interesting, but it needs an image of the hard disk, so for DOS, it can be a freedos, but for Win, I suppose you need to install a win ? (does it act like VMWare ? )

Anyway, thanks again :) And if you have any extra doc, clues, you're welcome :)
Modano@jabber.org
Noxious Ninja
Dark Wind
Posts: 1271
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 8:58 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by Noxious Ninja »

QEMU is much like VMWare, just not as polished. It should be faster than DosBox, because it doesn't try to implement all the quirks of ancient PCs like DosBox does.
[u][url=http://bash.org/?577451]#577451[/url][/u]
Modano
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 9:42 pm
Location: Montpellier, France
Contact:

Post by Modano »

Hello all, I finally use VMWare with a SuperSleuth and another program.
I was wondering if a 65816 debugger exist ? A pure debugger, like nasm (iirc), a command line tool, when you enter your instructions, and see for instance the registers, etc ?
A small step in 65816 assembly, without going directly on SuperNes tools.
I was thinking on Apple 2 GS tools, but I just can't find one.
I'm using Linux or Windows 2k on vmware.

Thanks a lot :)
Modano@jabber.org
creaothceann
Seen it all
Posts: 2302
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by creaothceann »

Super Sleuth
The site seems to be down. Btw. is 1.03 the most recent version?
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list
Clements
Randomness
Posts: 1172
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Clements »

Site is now here:

http://users.tpg.com.au/advlink/spx/

The latest version available is 1.04 Preview Build 4.
creaothceann
Seen it all
Posts: 2302
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by creaothceann »

Thanks. :wink:
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

Clements wrote:Site is now here:

http://users.tpg.com.au/advlink/spx/

The latest version available is 1.04 Preview Build 4.
Seems the site's frameset was placed in the head, and thus most web browsers don't render it.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
Jonas Quinn
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 9:51 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Jonas Quinn »

Nach wrote:
Clements wrote:Site is now here:

http://users.tpg.com.au/advlink/spx/

The latest version available is 1.04 Preview Build 4.
Seems the site's frameset was placed in the head, and thus most web browsers don't render it.
It is not rendered in Firefox because of Adblock.
I don't know if that causes Adblock to block it. I think that this should be fixed to check if it works afterwards.

It is more likely blocked because of the advlink in the url.
Post Reply