How do you 'dump' a ROM? Can I do it?

General area for talk about ZSNES. The best place to ask for related questions as well as troubleshooting.

Moderator: ZSNES Mods

batfastad

How do you 'dump' a ROM? Can I do it?

Post by batfastad »

Hi everyone

I've been using ZSNES on and off for about 18 months now.
It's superb! And I'm so glad development is continuing!
I love being able to play all my old games straight off my laptop. Even though the only games I ever really play are ones I owned anyway.

But I was wondering... how do you go about dumping a SNES rom?

I'm a huge huge Mario Kart fan (if anyone wants to play me over Netplay and is prepared to tell me how to do it, then just drop me a PM :lol:) and obviously all your best times for time trials and progress in the game are stored within the cartridge.

And then playing ZSNES the progress and everything (correct me if I'm wrong) appears to go into the .srm files.

Is it possible to dump my Mario Kart cartridge contents to a rom and also my saved game progress as a .srm file?

I'm guessing you need to do some pretty cool re-wiring and kit to do it.
And I know naff all about electronics (I'd love to learn how to follow a schematic though in the future), and naff all about programming in proper languages (I only do web apps :roll: though one day I will learn proper programming).

Any ideas / suggestions?
Thanks
Joe Camacho
Devil's Advocate

Post by Joe Camacho »

Search on google for "rom copiers/dumpers".
*Sometimes I edit my posts just to correct mistakes.
Blasingame
Hazed

Post by Blasingame »

wasn't there some German guy that made a carterage eep rom re-writer? so you could erase the rom information of a game cratridge and replace it with another game?

I would totally invest in another SNES console (sold my old one for 64, back in the day)if i could exchange roms among cartridges.
Gil_Hamilton
Buzzkill Gil

Post by Gil_Hamilton »