View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Apr 01, 2020 9:45 pm



This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 15 posts ] 
NullDC 1.6 speed too fast 
Author Message
-Burninated-
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 11:33 pm
Posts: 871
Location: Unspecified
Post NullDC 1.6 speed too fast
Okay, I currently have Null DC 1.6 (which is, a very nice Dreamcast emulator) and my specs are as follows;

CPU - P4 3.2GHz
RAM - 1024MB
OS - Win XP Home w/SP2
Video - nVidia GeForce 7800 GT

The problem: the FPS count is too high (no FPS limiter..?) AND I can't make any in-game saves. BTW, I'm using ISOs for my games. Any suggestions?

Edit 10:28AM - Okay, I was changing the plugins, and decided to change the SPU plugin. Seems that thse nullDC SPU plugin has a speed limiting feature, so, the games now run normally (most 55-60FPS) but I still have the issue of not being able to save my game.

_________________
俺はテメエの倒す男だ! 宜しく! お前はもう死んでいる...


Thu Nov 22, 2007 3:27 pm
Profile
Trooper
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 9:49 pm
Posts: 443
Location: Somewhere
Post 
just guessing here , but possibly you have to make a mem card file?

I cant say for sure , since I have an actual DC...

If you cant figure it out I could see about it later , hopeing I could run off a disc , otherwise I think I could find someway to run something that uses save function

_________________
Image
360 and PS3 - ReRuss


Thu Nov 22, 2007 7:28 pm
Profile YIM WWW
Hero of Time
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 2:49 am
Posts: 2646
Location: In front of the monitor
Post 
Man, you keep on confusing me with the version numbers. They're currently on 1.0.0 beta 1.6, not 1.6.

_________________
Try out CCleaner and other free software at Piriform
Image


Thu Nov 22, 2007 7:40 pm
Profile WWW
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Posts: 3534
Location: Nokia Land
Post 
Makes sure to enable VMUs for the controller plugin you are using via Options --> Select Plugins. The memory card files themselves are already included with nullDC.

_________________
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image


Thu Nov 22, 2007 8:18 pm
Profile
Inmate

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:28 am
Posts: 1485
Location: Salem, Oregon
Post 
thanks snkcube, for a second I was having a heart attack that they had released a new version or 5.

_________________
byuu wrote:
Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(


Thu Nov 22, 2007 8:52 pm
Profile WWW
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 3:43 am
Posts: 236
Post 
You need to go into the configuration screen and format the memory card before you can use it. After you have it inserted in with the controller plugin, boot the system with out a game. To do that go to cpu>start or you can just use normal boot then press cancel. Also some games are retarded and can only read the Memory card from the first slot in port A. It's best to just leave it in there so you don't have to think about changing it all the time.


Thu Nov 22, 2007 9:49 pm
Profile
-Burninated-
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 11:33 pm
Posts: 871
Location: Unspecified
Post 
yeah, I got the needed files, so, all is well.

_________________
俺はテメエの倒す男だ! 宜しく! お前はもう死んでいる...


Thu Nov 22, 2007 10:22 pm
Profile
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 3:43 am
Posts: 236
Post 
Ah okay, cool. Guess I was a bit late as usual. : /

Annd just for the hell of it some Ikaruga screens I took.

ImageImage
ImageImage


Thu Nov 22, 2007 11:58 pm
Profile
-Burninated-
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 11:33 pm
Posts: 871
Location: Unspecified
Post 
Okay, games like Grandia 2 work almost perfectly; the only issue is the controls. Isn't there any way to use a gamepad with it?

_________________
俺はテメエの倒す男だ! 宜しく! お前はもう死んでいる...


Fri Nov 23, 2007 11:13 pm
Profile
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 3:43 am
Posts: 236
Post 
Yeah. Just change the controller plugin to joystick then select your controller in the maple menu. Also for some retarded reason I had to restart the emulator to get it to detect the button presses even when the controller was connected prior to starting it up.


Fri Nov 23, 2007 11:27 pm
Profile
-Burninated-
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 11:33 pm
Posts: 871
Location: Unspecified
Post 
Hmm...I'll try that..

Edit 3:35PM - Okay, thanks for the tip!

_________________
俺はテメエの倒す男だ! 宜しく! お前はもう死んでいる...


Fri Nov 23, 2007 11:33 pm
Profile
Trooper
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 8:12 am
Posts: 480
Location: Canada
Post 
I know this is thread necromancy but for the future keep in mind that if there is no option to limit the frame rate in whatever you can always force it. The frame rate can only go as high monitor's refresh rate while vysnc is on. So set the monitor to 60Hz and enable vsync and the frame rate will be capped at 60. You might have to set the game to full screen, I don't remember if that can work while windowed.


Sat Dec 29, 2007 10:34 pm
Profile
Post Re: NullDC 1.6 speed too fast
Tick the checkbox for Sync Audio in the NullAica audio plugin. This should limit the fps to 60.


Thu Jan 13, 2011 3:34 am
Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:31 am
Posts: 1140
Post Re: NullDC 1.6 speed too fast
Congratulations on your necropost, this topic is almost 4 years old now.


Thu Jan 13, 2011 4:41 am
Profile WWW
Buzzkill Gil

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 4259
Post Re: NullDC 1.6 speed too fast
soniku wrote:
Tick the checkbox for Sync Audio in the NullAica audio plugin. This should limit the fps to 60.

What up with Bahumat?
He was banned two years ago.

I'm PRETTY sure he's not still looking for an answer.

_________________
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
Quote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


KHDownloads


Thu Jan 13, 2011 4:41 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.   [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software.