Tech question.

Strictly for discussing ZSNES development and for submitting code. You can also join us on IRC at irc.libera.chat in #zsnes.
Please, no requests here.

Moderator: ZSNES Mods

Post Reply
mog123
Hazed
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 11:33 pm

Tech question.

Post by mog123 »

Some emulators I tried with FF6 have one problem, they can't display the backgrounds in FF6 battles - so what is responsible for displaying/loading the backgrounds? Here's a screen of what it looks like: It looks almost the same on every early stage snes emu:

http://img150.imageshack.us/i/ff6.png/
My general dev blog:
http://mog123x.blogspot.com
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

This is a guess (since I don't work on the rendering), but it's something between RTO and HDMA. If you've ever turned off layers when you see a proper picture, there's a lot of behind-the-scenes junk that goes on into rendering it. I'm sure there's a lot more to what I've said.

Edit: Oh yes, there's certainly a lot of windowing that goes on there too.
Continuing [url=http://slickproductions.org/forum/index.php?board=13.0]FF4[/url] Research...
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5632
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

holy shit that's some nice bg fuckup right there.

@Deathlike: RTO affects oam, not bgs.
HDMA issues wouldn't cause THAT sort of stuff (since hdma means "affect some registers every hblank", you usually end up with per-line issues).
Windowing issues might be the cause, but that would affect all games, not just ff6 battles...

Nah, that just looks like completely wrong tilemap/charmap addressing.
Maybe mode 1 without BG3 high priority support ?
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)
Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
mog123
Hazed
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 11:33 pm

Post by mog123 »

forced mode 1 and disabled bg3, still looks the same.
My general dev blog:
http://mog123x.blogspot.com
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5632
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

mog123 wrote:forced mode 1 and disabled bg3, still looks the same.
... because that would be the issue. BG3 priority 1 goes in front of everything with $2105.3 ('BG3 high priority') set. Disabling BG3 wouldn't fix that at all (and would break the picture if it got rendered properly).
However, note that was just a wild guess. It could be many, many things. That's why you don't want to use early stage emus.

How did you 'force' mode 1 btw ?
Anyway; forcing a different mode than intended can only break display. Palette entries will likely get fumbled.

From what pf can remember, ff6 battles use mode 4. So, it's not high priority issues. Maybe OPT ?
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)
Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
mog123
Hazed
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 11:33 pm

Post by mog123 »

grinvader wrote:Maybe OPT ?
And that's?
My general dev blog:
http://mog123x.blogspot.com
creaothceann
Seen it all
Posts: 2302
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by creaothceann »

Offset-Per-Tile mode. Can be used in BG modes 2, 4 and 6 to scroll tiles individually. (see Black Omen fade-in)

From what I can see FF6 uses BG mode 1, but that might be incorrect because of the status bars at the bottom.
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list
Jonas Quinn
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 9:51 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Jonas Quinn »

It's HDMA. If you disable it in ZSNES you will see a similar screen.
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5632
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

Jonas once again saves the day.
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)
Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
Post Reply