Windows XP Service Pack 2 ZSNES Report

General area for talk about ZSNES. The best place to ask for related questions as well as troubleshooting.

Moderator: ZSNES Mods

Joe Camacho
Devil's Advocate
Posts: 2293
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:51 pm
Location: Hmo. Son.

Post by Joe Camacho »

LDAWG wrote:Doom 3 Worry Free Specs:
- 3 Ghz Intel Pentium 4 chip or AMD Athlon 64 3000+.
- 1 gigabyte of memory.
- Two gigabytes of hard drive space.
- An nVidia 6800 graphics card or an ATI X800XT
- 6.1 surround sound audio


Amm... In my computer's defence I would only like to add that I just hope I can run it. :oops:
*Sometimes I edit my posts just to correct mistakes.
Bent
Lurker
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 5:16 am

Post by Bent »

Actually it's available already today.

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en

Beware the large size, dial up users should wait for it to come out on Windows Update.
~Bent
Kagerato
Lurker
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 1:40 am
Contact:

Post by Kagerato »

Yeah, and microsoft doesn't want home users wasting their servers' bandwidth to get SP2 a few days early.

Despite Windows Update using the horrid programming technology known as ActiveX (essentially, it inherits from COM, that now seemingly totally outdated model), it does a decent job of figuring out what components are actually updates. Total download size ends up being singificantly reduced from full packages like the one linked.

For a broadband user with unlimited bandwidth, though, the difference is generally negligable.
rage46
Lurker
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:02 am
Location: nowhere special

Post by rage46 »

The SP2 will have multiple bugs found in it, Microsoft will spend the next two years patching it, then they will release longhorn and discontinue support for XP in the next four years, so yes SP2 is irrelevent because SP1 was supposed to be the greatest thing since sliced bread, but thats the price you pay for pumping out new software to the masses without first making sure the holes are plugged.
Some people are like slinky's not really good for anything but you can't help smile when one falls down the stairs.
Bent
Lurker
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 5:16 am

Post by Bent »

rage46 wrote:The SP2 will have multiple bugs found in it, Microsoft will spend the next two years patching it, then they will release longhorn and discontinue support for XP in the next four years, so yes SP2 is irrelevent because SP1 was supposed to be the greatest thing since sliced bread, but thats the price you pay for pumping out new software to the masses without first making sure the holes are plugged.


What are you talking about? SP1 was basically just fixes. SP2 has major rewrites of a lot of code. There are always going to be bugs, there are millions of lines of code. You try debugging that much code and making it 100% bug free. Support for XP is going to be no different than support for Win98, which is still being supported even though it is becoming quite outdated.
~Bent
Joe Camacho
Devil's Advocate
Posts: 2293
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:51 pm
Location: Hmo. Son.

Post by Joe Camacho »

rage46 wrote:The SP2 will have multiple bugs found in it, Microsoft will spend the next two years patching it, then they will release longhorn and discontinue support for XP in the next four years, so yes SP2 is irrelevent because SP1 was supposed to be the greatest thing since sliced bread, but thats the price you pay for pumping out new software to the masses without first making sure the holes are plugged.


The only real way to find bugs is to let the general public use it, nothin' can be perfect. There is always someone capable of doing diferent stuff, maybe things that the guys in MS can't imagine.

Its like a car, the people who invented the car didn't add safety belts until someone hurt himself AFAIK.

Also, you use Linux, why are you whining about something you don't need?
*Sometimes I edit my posts just to correct mistakes.
kode54
Zealot
Posts: 1140
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:31 am
Contact:

Post by kode54 »

Please do not feed the troll.
Nightcrawler
Romhacking God
Posts: 922
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 11:27 pm
Contact:

Post by Nightcrawler »

Bent wrote:
rage46 wrote:The SP2 will have multiple bugs found in it, Microsoft will spend the next two years patching it, then they will release longhorn and discontinue support for XP in the next four years, so yes SP2 is irrelevent because SP1 was supposed to be the greatest thing since sliced bread, but thats the price you pay for pumping out new software to the masses without first making sure the holes are plugged.


What are you talking about? SP1 was basically just fixes. SP2 has major rewrites of a lot of code. There are always going to be bugs, there are millions of lines of code. You try debugging that much code and making it 100% bug free. Support for XP is going to be no different than support for Win98, which is still being supported even though it is becoming quite outdated.


Right.. MS did the exact OPPOSITE of what Rage64 said. They actually DID delay SP2 many many times to patch all holes that could be found. Sure, there will probably be SOME discovered bugs later because it's IMPOSSIBLE to code a program as large as windows XP 100% bug free. Anyone who has ever done any programming could tell you that. So, even though there will still be some issues, It's pretty safe to say there probably won't many, if any, major holes in the future. And any issues that are discovered will be few and far between rather than weekly as it seems these days.

This may be the first time ever that MS actually took the time required to make a serious attempt at a patch/release.

I commed MS for finally getting their act together and saving face with a quality release. I'm definitely looking forward to SP2 and hopefully it will live up to what it seems to be. I look forward to the most stable/secure Windows release yet.
[url=http://transcorp.romhacking.net]TransCorp[/url] - Home of the Dual Orb 2, Cho Mahou Tairyku Wozz, and Emerald Dragon SFC/SNES translations.
[url=http://www.romhacking.net]ROMhacking.net[/url] - The central hub of the ROM hacking community.
rage46
Lurker
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:02 am
Location: nowhere special

Post by rage46 »

I re-read my post and it did seem harsh, but I do use windoze for gaming because it obviously beats linux in the gaming department. As for SP2, what I meant to say was yes it will fix holes now but will eventually be hacked like all software.
Some people are like slinky's not really good for anything but you can't help smile when one falls down the stairs.
Kagerato
Lurker
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 1:40 am
Contact:

Post by Kagerato »

So in other words, you said absolutely nothing of value concerning SP2?

Well, at least you admit it.
Nightcrawler
Romhacking God
Posts: 922
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 11:27 pm
Contact:

Post by Nightcrawler »

:lol:

My thoughts exactly.
[url=http://transcorp.romhacking.net]TransCorp[/url] - Home of the Dual Orb 2, Cho Mahou Tairyku Wozz, and Emerald Dragon SFC/SNES translations.
[url=http://www.romhacking.net]ROMhacking.net[/url] - The central hub of the ROM hacking community.
Tetsuo
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 4:28 am

Post by Tetsuo »

Bah, when is it coming on Windows Update?
The Sage Of Time
Hazed
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:31 am

Post by The Sage Of Time »

Not sure to be honest..
I just downloaded it from the Developer's section of Microsoft's site, seemed faster that way..
Paul Bunyan
Lumberjack
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: The Land of Trees, PA

Post by Paul Bunyan »

Tetsuo wrote:Bah, when is it coming on Windows Update?


I think closer to the end of the month, Aug 26 is in my head for some reason.
LDAWG
Lurker
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 12:07 am

Post by LDAWG »

XP SP2 is coming to Windows Update on August 25, 2004.

I'm loving XP SP2 so far!
BUT
I am still not 100% happy with the new Internet Explorer 6.0

Firefox is just better for these 3 reasons:
1. Download Manager
2. Tabbed Browsing
3. BETTER Pop-Up Blocker (IE still let's Geocites through, even on the HIGHEST Pop-Up Blocking Settings)
EXAMPLE: http://www.geocities.com/opcfg/main.html

Image
Get Firefox - The Browser, Reloaded.
Starman Ghost
Trooper
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:26 am

Post by Starman Ghost »

LDAWG, the geocities pop-up isn't really a pop-up. It's a javascript window.

Code: Select all

<Guo_Si> Hey, you know what sucks?
<TheXPhial> vaccuums
<Guo_Si> Hey, you know what sucks in a metaphorical sense?
<TheXPhial> black holes
<Guo_Si> Hey, you know what just isn't cool?
<TheXPhial> lava?
LDAWG
Lurker
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 12:07 am

Post by LDAWG »

Still, Firefox Blocks it... IE doesn't...
Starman Ghost
Trooper
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:26 am

Post by Starman Ghost »

So turn off javascript support. Then it's "blocked".

Code: Select all

<Guo_Si> Hey, you know what sucks?
<TheXPhial> vaccuums
<Guo_Si> Hey, you know what sucks in a metaphorical sense?
<TheXPhial> black holes
<Guo_Si> Hey, you know what just isn't cool?
<TheXPhial> lava?
Clements
Randomness
Posts: 1172
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Clements »

I had to disable my Firewall before I could see the pop-up in IE. So many layers of protection :lol:
Tetsuo
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 4:28 am

Post by Tetsuo »

Megabyte wrote:So turn off javascript support. Then it's "blocked".


Where is that? I don't see that on the list.

EDIT:
Nevermind, got it.
ReRuss
Trooper
Posts: 443
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 9:49 pm
Location: Somewhere
Contact:

Post by ReRuss »

SP2 is alright.

WMP 9 may have been updated and improved , but WMP 10 Beta is even better.

Well considering that this paticular comp I used to have some lag issues with DVD using Power DVD (which DOES use soem WMP components) until I updated to 10 which now runs everything smooth.

DX9c SHOULD have been on the PC anyway since it came out before SP2.

But I know that not all people are exactly "computer savvy".

Just good to know bout some things before somebody like MS tells you.

Though I do get surprised when people tweak XP speed by disabling services and "eye candy".
Image
360 and PS3 - ReRuss
Nightcrawler
Romhacking God
Posts: 922
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 11:27 pm
Contact:

Post by Nightcrawler »

I don't really want to use an updated MP9 OR 10. I don't want all this extra copy protection digital rights shit they have. I want no part of it. I will play every file I have on my computer, rip whatever CD's I own and play those files and/or any other media files on my computer as many times as I want and nothing is going to interfere with that or be deleted from my computer.

I have also read the MP10 reports to MS's server often. There's no way to tell what it is telling them. I don't condone the use of software that does such sneaky things.
[url=http://transcorp.romhacking.net]TransCorp[/url] - Home of the Dual Orb 2, Cho Mahou Tairyku Wozz, and Emerald Dragon SFC/SNES translations.
[url=http://www.romhacking.net]ROMhacking.net[/url] - The central hub of the ROM hacking community.
ReRuss
Trooper
Posts: 443
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 9:49 pm
Location: Somewhere
Contact:

Post by ReRuss »

Just note , I hope you don't use WMP for any MP3s.

And if you're worried about it communicating with MS then just deny all internet access with WMP.

And if you are so worried about it , just use Media Player Classic.
Image
360 and PS3 - ReRuss
rage46
Lurker
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:02 am
Location: nowhere special

Post by rage46 »

or winamp
Some people are like slinky's not really good for anything but you can't help smile when one falls down the stairs.
snkcube
Hero of Time
Posts: 2646
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 2:49 am
Location: In front of the monitor
Contact:

Post by snkcube »

rage46 wrote:or winamp

I use Winamp 5 for music, but I use WMP 9 for videos.
Try out CCleaner and other free software at Piriform
Image
Post Reply