S-DD1 Graphics Pack FAQ

Dejap's website appears to be defunct. This forum is now in archive mode.

Moderator: Dejap Staff

xamenus
Veteran
Posts: 907
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 12:26 am

S-DD1 Graphics Pack FAQ

Post by xamenus »

S-DD1 Graphics Pack FAQ

NOTE: FAQ is now obsolete!

Q: What is the purpose of the S-DD1 graphics packs?
A: Street Fighter Alpha 2 and Star Ocean use a special chip called the S-DD1 chip that for a long time was not supported by ZSNES. To play them back then (in ZSNES v1.36), you had to use graphics decompression packs. Now, however, that ZSNES has full support for the S-DD1 chip (as of v1.40), the graphics packs are obsolete and unsupported.

Q: Where do I download the graphics pack for Street Fighter Alpha 2?
A: http://www.geoshock.com/dejap/getfiles/?SFA2_gfx2.zip Please note that this graphics pack only works on the U.S. version of the ROM.

Q: Where do I download the graphics pack for Star Ocean?
A: http://www.geoshock.com/dejap/getfiles/?SO_gfx40.zip

Q: How do I apply the Street Fighter Alpha 2 graphics pack in ZSNES?
A: Follow these three steps:
• Create a new folder and call it "SFA2SDD1" without the quotes.
• Put the contents of SFA2_gfx2.zip into that folder.
• Finally, move the SFA2SDD1 folder into the folder where your ZSNES .srm saves and .zst savestates are (which is, by default, your ROM folder).

Q: How do I apply the Star Ocean graphics pack in ZSNES?
A: Follow these three steps:
• Create a new folder and call it "SOCNSDD1" without the quotes.
• Put the contents of SO_gfx40.zip into that folder.
• Finally, move the SOCNSDD1 folder into the folder where your ZSNES .srm saves and .zst savestates are (which is, by default, your ROM folder).

Q: I have the graphics packs, but where do I get the games?
A: Sorry, I can't help you with that one. See the forum rules before asking.
Last edited by xamenus on Tue Dec 21, 2004 6:21 am, edited 13 times in total.
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

I thought it was the S-DD1 chip. :roll:
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
joe_devore
Regular
Posts: 259
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:07 am
Location: NH, USA
Contact:

Post by joe_devore »

Hey thanks alot for the Star Ocean GFX pack and guide.
This will help untill ZSNES implements SDD-1
xamenus
Veteran
Posts: 907
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 12:26 am

Post by xamenus »

Agozer wrote:I thought it was the S-DD1 chip. :roll:
Fixed, thanks. :) Actually, I couldn't decide on "S-DD1" or "SDD-1" so I guessed. :oops: :lol:
badinsults
"Your thread will be crushed."
Posts: 1236
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 1:49 am
Location: Not in Winnipeg
Contact:

Post by badinsults »

Stickied...
<pagefault> i'd break up with my wife if she said FF8 was awesome
ieremiou
Rookie
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 6:38 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Post by ieremiou »

Lol thanks IceFox, I had wondered where the GPs had disappeared to.
I still have mine but I lost track of the changes that had been going around.
kieran_
Mugwump
Posts: 824
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 9:05 pm

Post by kieran_ »

Excellent post.
Tetsuo
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 4:28 am

Post by Tetsuo »

I had no idea Snes9x had it. :shock:
anewuser
Rookie
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:22 am
Location: x.x

Post by anewuser »

Tetsuo wrote:I had no idea Snes9x had it. :shock:


Code: Select all

To use the graphics packs for the S-DD1, as of 1.42, you MUST tell Snes9x where the pack is located. If you do not, it will use on-the-fly decompression. On the other hand, to use on-the-fly decompression, make sure the game's pack entry is blank.


It is a good idea to read the readme.txt file included in every release once in while, you know.
-Steve-
Rookie
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:04 am
Location: Canada

Post by -Steve- »

Tetsuo wrote:I had no idea Snes9x had it. :shock:



Don't matter... ZSNES owns Snes9x regardless :P lol
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5626
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

Not quite, especially in SO's case.

Star Ocean Hyper Turbo II isn't the real thing.
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
Cecil
Paladin
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 2:25 am

Post by Cecil »

-Steve- wrote:Don't matter... ZSNES owns Snes9x regardless :P lol

I have problems with Star Ocean on zsnes, so I always use Snes9x to play it. The extra bugs that are supposed to show up when playing it on an emulator as opposed to the actual cartridge don't show up on Snes9x, but they do on zsnes, at least for me.
joe_devore
Regular
Posts: 259
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:07 am
Location: NH, USA
Contact:

Post by joe_devore »

Cecil wrote:
-Steve- wrote:Don't matter... ZSNES owns Snes9x regardless :P lol

I have problems with Star Ocean on zsnes, so I always use Snes9x to play it. The extra bugs that are supposed to show up when playing it on an emulator as opposed to the actual cartridge don't show up on Snes9x, but they do on zsnes, at least for me.

What extra bugs :?: :?: :?:
Ichinisan
Veteran
Posts: 603
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 8:54 am

Post by Ichinisan »

joe_devore wrote:
Cecil wrote:
-Steve- wrote:Don't matter... ZSNES owns Snes9x regardless :P lol

I have problems with Star Ocean on zsnes, so I always use Snes9x to play it. The extra bugs that are supposed to show up when playing it on an emulator as opposed to the actual cartridge don't show up on Snes9x, but they do on zsnes, at least for me.

What extra bugs :?: :?: :?:

I still haven't played it, but I have ovserved from others' comments that the battles are way too fast (almost unplayably so).
Oblivion
What?
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 1:32 pm
Location: You'd want to know, wouldn't you?

Post by Oblivion »

Ichinisan wrote:
joe_devore wrote:
Cecil wrote:
-Steve- wrote:Don't matter... ZSNES owns Snes9x regardless :P lol

I have problems with Star Ocean on zsnes, so I always use Snes9x to play it. The extra bugs that are supposed to show up when playing it on an emulator as opposed to the actual cartridge don't show up on Snes9x, but they do on zsnes, at least for me.

What extra bugs :?: :?: :?:

I still haven't played it, but I have ovserved from others' comments that the battles are way too fast (almost unplayably so).

I wouldn't say unplayably so, but it does make a few boss battles a tad harder. Basically, you end up mashing the A button quite a lot, and being able to quickly train I suppose.
Everything I say is a lie.
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

Yes the battle goes twice the normal speed. Quite aggravating in certain spots.
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
Sferics
Regular
Posts: 201
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 3:48 am
Contact:

Post by Sferics »

Especially when fighting a couple of the harder bosses, because when fighting them they attack REALLY fast. So if you use an item, your pretty much screwed.
David Dunham - "Efficiency is intelligent laziness"
xamenus
Veteran
Posts: 907
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 12:26 am

Post by xamenus »

Just a note that if anyone knows info about SPC7110 graphics packs, feel free to go ahead and post, as I don't know anything about them. ;)
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

IceFox wrote:Just a note that if anyone knows info about SPC7110 graphics packs, feel free to go ahead and post, as I don't know anything about them. ;)

Well, there Far East of Eden Zero, FEOEZ Shounen Jump, Super Power League 4 and Momotarou Densetsu Happy. Those four use the SPC7110 packs.
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
Rune420
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2004 7:47 am
Location: Reno NV

Post by Rune420 »

Agozer wrote:Yes the battle goes twice the normal speed. Quite aggravating in certain spots.


I had always thought that snes9x was just slow, and the zsnes speed was the true speed. Lol, the snes9x star ocea plays way to slow for me as I had gotten used to the zsnes star ocean.
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

Rune420 wrote:
Agozer wrote:Yes the battle goes twice the normal speed. Quite aggravating in certain spots.


I had always thought that snes9x was just slow, and the zsnes speed was the true speed. Lol, the snes9x star ocea plays way to slow for me as I had gotten used to the zsnes star ocean.


I still haven't gotten used to it. Oh well, whatever rocks your boat.
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
Joe Camacho
Devil's Advocate
Posts: 2293
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:51 pm
Location: Hmo. Son.

Post by Joe Camacho »

I would like to add that, SFA2 graphics pack only works with the [U] version of the rom, or at least that was the one that work, I also tried the [E] version.
*Sometimes I edit my posts just to correct mistakes.
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

Joe Camacho wrote:I would like to add that, SFA2 graphics pack only works with the [U] version of the rom, or at least that was the one that work, I also tried the [E] version.

Yeah, the packs are for [U] only.
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
xamenus
Veteran
Posts: 907
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 12:26 am

Post by xamenus »

Joe Camacho wrote:I would like to add that, SFA2 graphics pack only works with the [U] version of the rom, or at least that was the one that work, I also tried the [E] version.
Info added, thanks.
Mizehrith

Post by Mizehrith »

I'm having difficulties trying to apply the graphics packs to Star Ocean. Okay, so I've got the SOCNSDD1 folder (with the sdd1gfx.dat and sdd1gfx.idx files in it) in the same folder as the starocean.smc file, but I still see coloured squares when I play the ROM. Am I missing something?
Locked