Secret of Evermore freezes

Found a bug? Please report it, but remember to follow the bug reporting guidelines.
Missing a sane feature? Let us know!
But please do NOT request ports to other systems.

Moderator: ZSNES Mods

Cylet
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 7:26 pm

Secret of Evermore freezes

Post by Cylet »

Hi, I haven't found a solution for my problem: With ZSNES 1.51 the game "Secret of Evermore" freezes (when I change a map -> black screen and no reaction!). But it doesn't depend on the location or any events in the game. Sometimes it works, sometimes not. Is there a patch for Secret of Evermore (german version) or a option I have to activate/deactivate? With the "SNES 9x"-emulator the games seems to work, but this emulator has not the great Kitchen Sync feature.

I've googled everywhere, but beside the 2 Player-Patch, I haven't found anything.

(I hope everyone understand my English ;)) - Greetz from Germany!
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

Use NSRT to scan the ROM so we can determine it is a good dump.
Continuing FF4 Research...
Cylet
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 7:26 pm

Post by Cylet »

I wasn't easy to find NSRT^^.
But here is the result of the scan:

---------------------Internal ROM Info----------------------
File: Secret of Evermore-(de).smc
Name: SECRET OF EVERMORE
Company: Nintendo
Header: SWC
Bank: HiROM
Interleaved: None
SRAM: 64 Kb
Type: Normal + Batt
ROM: 24 Mb
Country: Germ/Aust/Switz
Video: PAL
ROM Speed: 120ns (FastROM)
Revision: 1.0
Checksum: Good 0x1971
Game Code: AEOD
---------------------------Hashes---------------------------
CRC32: 27F60E77
MD5: 0D131FF1D7896D6994B03FE2751D820B
--------------------------Database--------------------------
Name: Secret of Evermore
Country: Germany
Revision: 1.0
Port 1: Gamepad
Port 2: Gamepad
Genre 1: RPG
Genre 2: Action


What can I do now to make that game working (it's the only rom, that doesn't really work with ZSNES 1.51)?

EDIT: I don't know if it's important for that problem, but when the music changes in Secret of Evermore, the last second of the previous musictrack recurs before the new one starts.
creaothceann
Seen it all
Posts: 2302
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by creaothceann »

The "force NTSC" checkbox in the ROM loader is unchecked, right?
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list
Cylet
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 7:26 pm

Post by Cylet »

Jepp, that's right. The rom runs on PAL (100 Hz with Kitchen Sync). Both, force PAL or NTSC are unchecked.

Am I the first with that problem? Could it be due to the PAL-version oder the Kitchen Sync? Or something with the sound-output (32000 Hz, gaussian interpol., low pass filter=off)?
Deckard
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 10:53 am

Re: Secret of Evermore freezes

Post by Deckard »

Cylet wrote:Hi, I haven't found a solution for my problem: With ZSNES 1.51 the game "Secret of Evermore" freezes (when I change a map -> black screen and no reaction!). But it doesn't depend on the location or any events in the game. Sometimes it works, sometimes not. Is there a patch for Secret of Evermore (german version) or a option I have to activate/deactivate? With the "SNES 9x"-emulator the games seems to work, but this emulator has not the great Kitchen Sync feature.

I've googled everywhere, but beside the 2 Player-Patch, I haven't found anything.

(I hope everyone understand my English ;)) - Greetz from Germany!


I have exactly the same problem, my version is the spanish one, I've tryed changing every option in sound and video prefs with no succes, the problem remains the same. I use ZSNES 1.51. Here is the NSRT dump:

---------------------Internal ROM Info----------------------
File: Secret of Evermore.sfc
Name: SECRET OF EVERMORE Company: Nintendo
Header: None Bank: HiROM
Interleaved: None SRAM: 64 Kb
Type: Normal + Batt ROM: 24 Mb
Country: Spain Video: PAL
ROM Speed: 120ns (FastROM) Revision: 1.0
Checksum: Good 0x87EC Game Code: AEOS
---------------------------Hashes---------------------------
CRC32: 7BFE934F
--------------------------Database--------------------------
Name: Secret of Evermore
Country: Spain Revision: 1.0
Port 1: Gamepad Port 2: Gamepad
Genre 1: RPG Genre 2: Action
Panzer88
Inmate
Posts: 1485
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:28 am
Location: Salem, Oregon
Contact:

Post by Panzer88 »

wow, it's been forever since a good old fashion bug has come around.
byuu wrote:Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(
paulguy
Zealot
Posts: 1076
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 2:01 am
Contact:

Post by paulguy »

Does the NTSC version have this problem? I heard some PAL versions are kinda shitty and buggy.
Cylet
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 7:26 pm

Post by Cylet »

About the NTSC version I can't say anything, but I tried some PAL roms of that game. Always the same bug. Maybe something special in that rom, what ZSNES don't like^^?
BugMeNot

Post by BugMeNot »

I can confirm this bug with both, German PAL version and US NTSC! Happens with Zsnes 1.51. Haven't tried older versions yet, but I remember it worked flawlessly in the past.
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

what did you compare the bug to? if not the original console then how can you be sure that what happens is a bug?
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
Deckard
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 10:53 am

Post by Deckard »

franpa wrote:what did you compare the bug to? if not the original console then how can you be sure that what happens is a bug?


I've tryed the ROM with Snes9x and SnesGT, it works flawlessly every time.
It's a ZSNES bug.
ShadowFX
Regular
Posts: 265
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 8:55 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by ShadowFX »

Deckard wrote:
franpa wrote:what did you compare the bug to? if not the original console then how can you be sure that what happens is a bug?


I've tryed the ROM with Snes9x and SnesGT, it works flawlessly every time.
It's a ZSNES bug.

Either compare with bsnes or the original console. Comparing with other (more or less) inaccurate emulators will not provide you with proper evidence of this bug.
"Change is inevitable; progress is optional"
Deckard
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 10:53 am

Post by Deckard »

ShadowFX wrote:
Deckard wrote:
franpa wrote:what did you compare the bug to? if not the original console then how can you be sure that what happens is a bug?


I've tryed the ROM with Snes9x and SnesGT, it works flawlessly every time.
It's a ZSNES bug.

Either compare with bsnes or the original console. Comparing with other (more or less) inaccurate emulators will not provide you with proper evidence of this bug.


:? The other (more or less) inaccuarate emulators DO NOT freeze at the exact same point where ZSNES freezes again and again.

Anyway, TESTED with bsnes v0.028, it worked fine. ZSNES keep freezing.

Hope you're happy now :wink:

Regards.
BugMeNot

Post by BugMeNot »

I just played the PAL version of Evermore on zsnes 1.42 for several hours, no crashes/freezes at all.

So I guess it has to be a bug in Zsnes 1.51.
Tallgeese
Justice is Blind
Posts: 620
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:33 pm
Location: Test
Contact:

Post by Tallgeese »

It has happened on 1.42n for me. Needed to use 1.36.

Christ I cannot wait for 2.0 to have netplay...
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5622
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

I hope the new netplay will make your ass explode, in an awesome non-lethal way.

At least we'll do our best to make it so. We even hired captain Picard.
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

Make it so.
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
jez
Rookie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 1:18 pm

Post by jez »

Any progress on fixing this bug yet? I can confirm the random freezing happens for me too with the US version of SoE, ZSNES 1.51.
=== Jez ===
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5622
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

No news means no news.
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
Secretofevermor
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 5:57 pm

Re: Secret of Evermore freezes

Post by Secretofevermor »

Hey, sorry for pushing this thread, but i have the same problem. blackscreen sometimes if i try to change the map. Any help? tried it with zsnes and snes9x. Please, help me :(
odditude
Official tech support dood
Posts: 2106
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:57 am

Re:

Post by odditude »

grinvader wrote:No news means no news.
Deckard wrote: TESTED with bsnes v0.028, it worked fine.
Why yes, my shift key *IS* broken.
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5622
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Re: Re:

Post by grinvader »

odditude wrote:
Deckard wrote:bsnes

huehuehuehuehuehue

no such thing
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
odditude
Official tech support dood
Posts: 2106
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:57 am

Re: Secret of Evermore freezes

Post by odditude »

i still want my z.nes with external toaster support and superfx for precise buttering calculations.

and i'm too lazy right now to circumvent the filter. ninja edit pls?

random ninja on duty #3547: sure thing bro

thx. best board ninjas ever here.
Why yes, my shift key *IS* broken.
hubang
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 6:21 pm

Re: Secret of Evermore freezes

Post by hubang »

I think I found a workaround. On my copy, the sound kept cutting out and it would freeze on a screen change.

So... under sound config, I changed Interpolation from Gaussian to none. It hasn't freezed since.
Post Reply