RockNES/Win32 5.08

Announce new emulators, discuss which games run best under each emulator, and much much more.

Moderator: General Mods

I.S.T.
Zealot
Posts: 1325
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 7:03 am

Post by I.S.T. »

Awesome. :D More emulators with correct sound the better.
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

Post by kick »

RockNES 5.00 beta 12 is out!


What's new for version 5.00 beta 12 (07/26/2008)
------------------------------------------------
- Small changes on rom loading & fix.
- CHR RAM is initialized with 00h instead of FFh to avoid glitches on startup.
- Added a ROM fix for the bad dump of Wrestlemania Challenge (CRC 3C9FE649).
- Changed the CHR RAM dump filename extension from .bin to .chr to avoid an
overwrite with the PRG ROM dump filename.
- Removed all unmasked CHR bankswitching.
- Minor changes in the mapper names and in the GUI.
- Fixed mappers 44, 90, 234, 255.
- Fixed joypad #2, oops!
- Fixed a bug in the joypad register.
- Documentation updated

Nice bugfix release :)

Get it from HERE

EDIT: Beta 13 coming soon
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
Thristian
Hazed
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 11:02 am

Post by Thristian »

mudlord wrote:
IIRC, isn't nestopia one of three or so emulators to get NES sound 100% right?


QuickNES gets it right too. As well as being amazingly fast. And cycle accurate too.

kode54 made a Windows port of it, if people are interested.

Man, if I could wave a magic wand and give any emulator a decent Linux port, it'd be QuickNES. I played with it on MacOS X when it first came out and it was sweet.
Snark
Trooper
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 7:17 pm

Post by Snark »

odditude wrote:
Franky wrote:Plus, why use Rocknes? Nestopia is the best emulator by far, we shouldn't be caring about other emulators, unless they get to the same quality as nestopia. or get even better.

Nestopia has unacceptable input latency, at least on my system with gamepads.


(Yeah, two months old...)

I have zero latency (at least not any more than on the real console) with Nestopia without video sync, try it and see (if you can stomach or tolerate screen tearing at least)
I want to fry~~ Sky Hiiiiiiiiigh~
Let's go-o-o-O~ togeda~
odditude
Official tech support dood
Posts: 2107
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:57 am

Post by odditude »

Snark wrote:
odditude wrote:
Franky wrote:Plus, why use Rocknes? Nestopia is the best emulator by far, we shouldn't be caring about other emulators, unless they get to the same quality as nestopia. or get even better.

Nestopia has unacceptable input latency, at least on my system with gamepads.

(Yeah, two months old...)

I have zero latency (at least not any more than on the real console) with Nestopia without video sync, try it and see (if you can stomach or tolerate screen tearing at least)

Good call - the latency is gone with vsync disabled. Too bad the tearing kills it for me...
Why yes, my shift key *IS* broken.
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

Post by kick »

RockNES Beta 14 was released today.This time it brings a much requested feature for improving video quality and the usual assortment of bugfixes.

What's new for version 5.00 beta 14 (11/09/2008)
------------------------------------------------
- Added triple buffering, no screen tearing.
- Usual fixes and minor GUI changes.

Available for download now @ the RockNES homepage
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

Triple Buffering and Double Buffering now supported.

EDIT: Some possible bugs

1) It may crash on close in Vista, may be related to Triple Buffering being possible in a window? (needs confirmation)

2) If you enable Triple Buffering in a windowed mode then restart the emulator and try to play a game, the emulator may freeze upon game load (consuming 100% CPU). To avoid this with Triple Buffering, make sure you are running in a full screen mode prior to loading a game or switch off Triple Buffering and restart the emulator. (needs confirmation)

# RockNES 5.00 beta 14 released.
# OK, I admit, this page needs a major rework. I'll do it very soon... ;)

** NOTICE ** This is beta version (unstable or buggy).

What's new for version 5.00 beta 14 (11/09/2008)
------------------------------------------------
- Added triple buffering, no screen tearing.
- Usual fixes and minor GUI changes.
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

Post by kick »

for franpa (from the author of RockNES):
Do NOT try to activate triple buffering in windowed modes. Only use full screen modes. And please send your feedback!
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

I am well aware, #2 was discussed with the author before he posted that note and # 1 was a security policy issue.
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

Rocknes 5.00 FINAL is out! now supports NSF playback :)

# RockNES 5.00 FINAL released.

What's new for version 5.00 FINAL (07/10/2009)
------------------------------------------------
- Added a NSF driver, now you can load and play NSFs!
- External palette files (.pal) can be loaded.
- Changed color mode to 32 bits.
- Fixed WorkRAM 6000h-7FFFh, an obscure bug.
- Fixed MMC3 IRQs partially, thanks to Disch for the help.
- Mappers fixed: 4, 13, 20 (Famicom Disk System), 64, 90/160, 91, 117, 118.
- Fixed PRG data disassembler.
- Fixed a few oddities in the GUI dialogs.
- Fixed CPU dump 8000-FFFF.
- Fixed an obscure bug in the sprite evaluation.
- Fixed problems with the triple buffering mode.
- Fixed movies (joypad data logging for replay).
- Better sound output, less stuttering and skips thanks to a ring buffer.
- Added an alternate video config in the GUI.
- Added APU registers/context dump.
- Modified PRG data corruptor to use ROM address instead of CPU address.
- Reworked loading procedure.
- Removed GameGenie codes.
- Fixed command line game loading.
- Improved windowed mode.
- Tons of internal fixes, plus several cosmetic changes.
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
Panzer88
Inmate
Posts: 1485
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:28 am
Location: Salem, Oregon
Contact:

Post by Panzer88 »

neat, too bad there haven't been any fakenes releases in awhile ;_;
byuu wrote:Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

The deadlock issue will be fixed in 5.01 which is expected next week.
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
I.S.T.
Zealot
Posts: 1325
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 7:03 am

Post by I.S.T. »

Deadlock?
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

gets stuck in a loop consuming 100% cpu.
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

Rocknes 5.01 is out! Emulator no longer hangs, consuming 100% CPU ^_^"

# RockNES 5.01 released.

What's new for version 5.01 (07/18/2009)
----------------------------------------
- Reworked 6000h-7FFFh CPU handling.
- Reworked/increased sound caching and playback.
- Fixed system reset sequence.
- Fixed MMC3 IRQs, plus added WRAM control (mapper 4).
- Fixed load state error message in the GUI.
- Fixed a few typos in the GUI messages.
- Fixed internal iNES header/data patching by CRC32.
- Fixed three bugs in the savestate code, no more gray screens.
- Fixed APU reset timing.
- Mapper fix: 4, 33, 87.
- Mapper new: 5 (preliminary MMC5), 48.
- Changed a few mapper board names.
- Changed default value on NSF "invalid" reads (thanks jsr).
- Changed system RAM dump filename to gametitle.ram.
- Changed color RAM dump filename to gametitle.pal.
- Changed pattern table (CHR RAM) dump filename extension from .chr to .pat.
- WAV file record is now possible to schedule before the first game run.
- The mapper savestate block is no more saved with zero-length (unused).
- The song start number from NSF header is now used, instead of always 1.
- For safety reasons, the emulator quits on savestate loading error.
- Removed the CPU timeslice with Allegro's rest(1) to avoid deadlocks.
- Compiled with newer versions of GCC and Allegro, fixes a few things.
- Other important fixes there and there.
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

Rocknes 5.02 is out!

# RockNES 5.02 released.

What's new for version 5.02 (07/23/2009)
----------------------------------------
- Fixed "running in background" when changing the video resolution.
- Fixed WAV file header, wrong size error.
- Resized blitter select window, smaller, for lower resolutions.
- Fixed required Famicom Disk System file name.
- Disabled Allegro's rest(1) in triple buffering mode.
- Fixed broken WRAM I/O, a lot of games should work again.
- Fixed bugs in the timing code.
- Fixed NSF visualizer drawing circles out of bitmap boundaries.
- pAPU sound code optimized, should be (much) less intensive.
- Changed openbus return value.
- A few tweaks to improve the speed.
- Minor MMC5 fixes.
- Documentation updated.
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

Rocknes 5.03 was released!

Code: Select all

What's new for version 5.03 (01/30/2010)
----------------------------------------
- Reworked iNES mapper I/O handler.
- Reworked PPU color code and event scheduler.
- Fixed sprite 0 strikes.
- Fixed triangle channel output.
- Fixed triple buffering setup.
- Fixed graphics reset and triple buffering set.
- Fixed PPU timing and DMC IRQ clocking.
- Improved Allegro sound support.
- Changed APU sound queue/dequeue method.
- Removed timeslice from double buffering, increases CPU usage though.
- Mappers added: 46, 58.
- Mappers fixed: 0,1,16,34,43,64,68,69,72,79,83,88,90,92,97,113,184,187.
- Removed NESticle savestate support for good.
- Optimizations and some speed up.
- Other minor things fixed.

[b]- DOWNLOADS:[/b]
http://rocknes.kinox.org/rnes503_i586.zip

- If you have a Core2Duo CPU, you can try this one:
http://rocknes.kinox.org/rnes503_m2.zip


Rocknes 5.04 beta was released!

Code: Select all

What's new for Test version 5.04 [UPDATE: 02/14/2010]
------------------------------------------------------------------
- Fixed: Audio stutters, cut outs or gasps etc. are much less likely to occur.
- Fixed: Some NSF files crashed the program.
- Note: Various undocumented changes.

Optmized for Pentium 4. Be warned.
http://rocknes.net/rnes504_p4b2.zip

You need alleg44.dll to get it working. Just download 5.03 for the file.
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Re: RockNES/Win32 5.04 beta

Post by franpa »

A couple months later and v5.08 is now available @ http://rocknes.net/ :)

RockNES 5.08 released.

What's new for version 5.08 (05/13/2012)
-----------------------------------------
- Fixed application path string, the config file is loading/saving ok.
- Fixed IRQs for MMC3 (mapper 4), MMC5 (5) and RAMBO-1 (64).
- Fixed 2002h clearing time (sprite #0 and sprite overflow flags).
- The emulator now displays PAUSED when inactive.


(There's been numerous releases since v5.04 but I didn't mention them.)
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
Post Reply