RockNES/Win32 5.08

Announce new emulators, discuss which games run best under each emulator, and much much more.

Moderator: General Mods

franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

RockNES/Win32 5.08

Post by franpa »

http://rocknes.kinox.org/
** NOTICE ** This is a beta version, might be unstable or buggy.

What's new for version 5.00 BETA 4 (01/25/2008)
-----------------------------------------------
- Fixed joystick support and modified the config window.
- Fixed an obscure bug, "file doesn't exist" error.
- Fixed backed battery save/load, it was broken.
- Fixed PPU state loading, somewhat.
- Fixed sprite overflow flag, somewhat.
- Usual optmizations and tweaks.
- Added a new saveblock tagged as PTB1, extended PPU savestate.
- Added a new saveblock tagged as CPU1, extended CPU savestate, fixes loading errors.
- ROM patching dialog improved.
- Config file slightly changed for accuracy.
- The program can run in background now, sweet.
- Fixed video refresh rate to be 60Hz.
- Fixed sound output and changed from 44100Hz to 22050Hz as default.
- Other fixes I don't remember.
- NEW FOR BETA 4b: fixed 22050Hz default setting.
- NEW FOR BETA 4b: removed debug stuff left.


this fixes the video jitter issue !
Last edited by franpa on Sun Feb 14, 2010 4:30 pm, edited 13 times in total.
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

RockNES/Win32 v5.00 BETA 4b - old news

Post by kick »

Franpa is a bit late with the news.
See the post below for the latest 'Rock-NEwS' :)
Last edited by kick on Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

RockNES/Win32 v5.00 BETA 5 Released

Post by kick »

Yet another beta build was released yesterday.

Here comes the best part: fx3 is finally working hard on rewriting the PPU core for accuracy :)
Nintendulator and NEStopia,beware - a new challenger is stepping into the accuracy arena and is ready to put up a good fight :P

Here's the changelog:

What's new for version 5.00 BETA 5 (02/03/2008)
-----------------------------------------------
- Fixed an odd compiling bug that prevents proper work.
- Sprite core rewritten to match the hardware procedure.
- Fixed 2004h reads, somewhat better.
- Fixed wave recording to avoid sound skipping.
- Fixed program running in background.
- Added a new blitter, double-sized scanlined.
- Removed confirmation window when exitting program (quit to OS).
- Program window title changed into "RockNES/Win32".
- The close (X) button is enabled during the emulation.
- Keys Alt+ENTER switches between windowed/fullscreen modes during the emulation.
- Mapper 4 (MMC3) is enabled again, but since IRQs are disabled, most of the
games are unplayable.
- Updated to Allegro 4.3.10 library.
- More debug stuff removed, plus internal changes and minor fixes.


Get it from HERE
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

** NOTICE ** This is beta version, might be unstable or buggy.

What's new for version 5.00 BETA 6 (02/10/2008)
-----------------------------------------------
- Major CPU fixes (timing and opcodes).
- Some PPU fixes, corrected VBlank flag behaviour.
- Some APU fixes, corrected frame IRQ timing.
- Fixed a bug in the sprite I/O register.
- Tweaked joypads polling/control and setup.
- Updated config file with the new blitter option 5.
- Binaries are no more compiled under Dev-C++ due to some annoyances.
- Usual tweaks, cleanups and debug code left removed.

# Download it here:

Code: Select all

 [url=http://rocknes.kinox.org/rnes50b6_win32.zip]Here![/url]
Last edited by franpa on Mon Jul 07, 2008 1:46 am, edited 3 times in total.
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
Panzer88
Inmate
Posts: 1485
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:28 am
Location: Salem, Oregon
Contact:

Post by Panzer88 »

is fakenes dead for good? like a year ago it sounded like it was going to jump up into the arena with the rest of them, there was one update, and then nothing.

who is the current maintainer/current author of fakenes?
byuu wrote:Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

it's still maintained by the same author as ages ago lol. the site was redesigned but i haven't seen much emulation activity on his site. you could post on his forum and see if he still monitors the forums.
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
neo_bahamut1985
-Burninated-
Posts: 871
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: Unspecified

Post by neo_bahamut1985 »

This emulator has some cool features, like separating the sound into stereo channels! BTW, whatever happened to FCEUltra?
俺はテメエの倒す男だ! 宜しく! お前はもう死んでいる...
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

pretty much ever NES emulator supports stereo sound. it isn't that hard to do.
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
Gil_Hamilton
Buzzkill Gil
Posts: 4267
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm

Post by Gil_Hamilton »

neo_bahamut1985 wrote:This emulator has some cool features, like separating the sound into stereo channels! BTW, whatever happened to FCEUltra?
The author discontinued FCEU because he'd attained all he really wanted to do.

If I recall, there was another emu released around the same time that was mroe accurate, and the belief was that he had better things to do than get in an ePenis war for best NES emu.

Some annoying retards DDOSed the emu that passed it because they were made that it "killed FCEU." But that nonsense died down.
Panzer88
Inmate
Posts: 1485
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:28 am
Location: Salem, Oregon
Contact:

Post by Panzer88 »

franpa wrote:it's still maintained by the same author as ages ago lol. the site was redesigned but i haven't seen much emulation activity on his site. you could post on his forum and see if he still monitors the forums.


thanks franpa, I always liked fakenes and the way it was developed and its interface.
byuu wrote:Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

RockNES 5.00 beta 7 released!

Post by kick »

RockNES 5.00 beta 7 released!

What's new for version 5.00 BETA 7 (02/25/2008)
-----------------------------------------------
- Major CPU and APU timing fixes, hard work.
- Fixed sound config GUI dialog.
- Cleanups, future savestates might not be compatible.
- Lots of minor changes and improvements.

Download it here!
Last edited by kick on Tue Feb 26, 2008 11:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
xamenus
Veteran
Posts: 907
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 12:26 am

Post by xamenus »

Has anyone had problems loading zip files in the recent RockNES releases? I keep getting "invalid path" errors. The readme says zip files are supported.
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

expect a new version this weekend (today/tomorrow) with a fix in regards to the 100% CPU usage and a pentium 4 optimized build.
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
odditude
Official tech support dood
Posts: 2107
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:57 am

Post by odditude »

xamenus wrote:Has anyone had problems loading zip files in the recent RockNES releases? I keep getting "invalid path" errors. The readme says zip files are supported.

I've seen cases where programs do strange things when there are spaces in the path (e.g. "C:\Program Files"). If that is the case, moving the target ZIP file (and possibly the executable, if it's borking trying to load an external unzip library) to a simple path like "C:\test" should resolve it.
Why yes, my shift key *IS* broken.
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

** NOTICE ** This is beta version (unstable or buggy).

What's new for version 5.00 BETA 8 (07/xx/2008)
-----------------------------------------------
- Fixed NMI_on timing edges.
- Fixed trainer support (again).
- Fixed WRAM behaviour when trainer data is present.
- Fixed a nasty PPU address masking at $2007 r/w.
- Added CPU dummy reads.
- Fixed a memory leak.
- Working mappers 21, 22, 23.
- Improved support for sound disable.
- Fixed broken WAV file recorder.
- Stereo WAVs were fixed.
- More timing fixes and minor changes.

DOWNLOAD:

Code: Select all

http://rocknes.kinox.org/rnes50b8_win32.zip

Audio/Video are both in sync and good in this version. He could not retain the 100% CPU Usage fix because it screwed up the timing in the Core, so you gotta live with it at 100%.

EDIT: expect a new release soon with improved mapper supprt.
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

** NOTICE ** This is beta version (unstable or buggy).

What's new for version 5.00 BETA 9 (07/08/2008)
-----------------------------------------------
- Fixed mappers 25, 26, 73, 85.
- Fixed ppu register 2007h.
- Reenabled mappers 9 and 10, oops.
- Changed page crossing dummy read.
- Changed CRC32 calculation (full data).
- A few cpu and ppu tweaks and minor fixes.

Code: Select all

DOWNLOAD:
http://rocknes.kinox.org/rnes50b9.zip


Heres the next version :)
Last edited by franpa on Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

** NOTICE ** This is beta version (unstable or buggy).

What's new for version 5.00 beta 11 (07/24/2008)
------------------------------------------------
- Savestates were completly broken, it's fixed now.

What's new for version 5.00 beta 10 (07/24/2008)
------------------------------------------------
- New ppu savestate block, PTB2. It joins PTB0 and PTB1, plus some extras.
The emulator won't load old ones, so keep up newest ones.
- New sound savestate block, DMC0. It saves fully the DMC channel state.
- Fixed a bug in the VRC IRQs (mapper 24 is ok).
- Fixed mappers 1 (Space Shuttle Project), 16, 65, 67, 69.
- Fixed inputs setup, plus some code cleanup.
- Fixed VRCVI stereo sound output.
- Fixed CRC32 calculation, oops!
- Fixed CRC32 checkups and forced header fixes.
- Fixed APU reset timing.
- Major fix regarding the PRG bank number masking (Action52 works).
- Reworked CHR RAM/ROM bankswitch and startup.
- Changed or improved a few things in the GUI.
- Fixed the manual disassembler.

Code: Select all

DOWNLOAD:
http://rocknes.kinox.org/rnes5b11.zip
And the next version.
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
ZH/Franky

Post by ZH/Franky »

I really need to ask: what's the point in giving a nes emulator stereo sound when the real nes only had mono sound?

Plus, why use Rocknes? Nestopia is the best emulator by far, we shouldn't be caring about other emulators, unless they get to the same quality as nestopia. or get even better.
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

Rocknes audio output quality beats Nestopia hands down, but it is of course all a matter of opinion. Is nestopia cycle accurate?
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
I.S.T.
Zealot
Posts: 1325
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 7:03 am

Post by I.S.T. »

Yes. I'm surprised you didn't know that.
mudlord
has wat u liek
Posts: 559
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 2:54 pm
Location: Banland.

Post by mudlord »

Nestopia is the best emulator by far, we shouldn't be caring about other emulators, unless they get to the same quality as nestopia. or get even better.



Now that is just plain insulting. :?

Blargg's QuickNES, fx3's RockNES and others are perfectly fine. Why all the hate towards the others? Whats wrong with new NES emulators?
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

mudlord wrote:Why all the hate towards the others? Whats wrong with new NES emulators?

People's own preference speaking right there. I too think that Nestopia if the best out there, and I won't need any other NES emulator. Biased? Hell yes. My preference overriding the fact that there are other excellent NES emulators out there.

However, while I do think that Nestopia is the absolute best out there, I won't allow myself to go so low as to insult other emulators' features.
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
I.S.T.
Zealot
Posts: 1325
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 7:03 am

Post by I.S.T. »

mudlord wrote:
Nestopia is the best emulator by far, we shouldn't be caring about other emulators, unless they get to the same quality as nestopia. or get even better.



Now that is just plain insulting. :?

Blargg's QuickNES, fx3's RockNES and others are perfectly fine. Why all the hate towards the others? Whats wrong with new NES emulators?


IIRC, isn't nestopia one of three or so emulators to get NES sound 100% right? Not even FCEU(The king of the low requirements emulators in most peoples' views) gets it right.
odditude
Official tech support dood
Posts: 2107
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:57 am

Post by odditude »

Franky wrote:Plus, why use Rocknes? Nestopia is the best emulator by far, we shouldn't be caring about other emulators, unless they get to the same quality as nestopia. or get even better.

Nestopia has unacceptable input latency, at least on my system with gamepads.
Why yes, my shift key *IS* broken.
mudlord
has wat u liek
Posts: 559
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 2:54 pm
Location: Banland.

Post by mudlord »

IIRC, isn't nestopia one of three or so emulators to get NES sound 100% right?


QuickNES gets it right too. As well as being amazingly fast. And cycle accurate too.

kode54 made a Windows port of it, if people are interested.
Post Reply