how do i know what patch is used on my game

Dejap's website appears to be defunct. This forum is now in archive mode.

Moderator: Dejap Staff

Locked
memsys
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 9:07 pm

how do i know what patch is used on my game

Post by memsys »

how do i know what version of the tales of phantasia patch is used om my rom [i got it from a friend if you wanna know] yes i'm new to patching roms :roll:
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

Use NSRT to determine what you need.
Continuing FF4 Research...
memsys
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 9:07 pm

Post by memsys »

yes but how do i know if it uses the beta or the 1.2 patch ?
Clements
Randomness
Posts: 1172
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Clements »

Goodtools can tell you some information about the patch your ROM has been hardpatched with. Softpatching is the best way to go though, since you can switch patches without having to keep multiple back-ups of the original or downloading the ROM again.
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

Bah.. talking about hardpatched roms.

Your best bet is getting the original unpatched ROM and patch against that. Trying to "update" by patching over an already patched ROM is asking for disaster. Some guy was trying to use the latest patch for his already hardpatched Star Ocean ROM and failed miserably.
Continuing FF4 Research...
memsys
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 9:07 pm

Post by memsys »

i would play the 1.2 patch rom if i didn't already play the unknown rom for 6 hours
so how can i know if the rom i played 6hours is the beta or the 1.2 final ?
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

You could try Clements suggestion although I hate to say it

I don't have any other idea. Best bet is to just start over if you are that concerned and make sure you get the latest patch+clean rom.

Otherwise, you can waste time guessing all day.
Continuing FF4 Research...
memsys
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 9:07 pm

Post by memsys »

and how do i know that my rom is clean ? this is probably a very noobish question
Clements
Randomness
Posts: 1172
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Clements »

Use NSRT for that. If the ROM is not in the database, it isn't clean.
memsys
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 9:07 pm

Post by memsys »

can renaming it make it dirty ?
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

memsys wrote:can renaming it make it dirty ?


Renaming the file does not change the data in it.
Continuing FF4 Research...
memsys
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 9:07 pm

Post by memsys »

great i can't find clean roms :? i wish someone could tell me where to get it -_- [note that is NOT meant as a rom request]
for peeps that wanna know i DO own the gba cartrige but i just want to play the snes version
sweener2001
Inmate
Posts: 1751
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 7:47 am
Location: WA

Post by sweener2001 »

so, your request wasn't meant as such?
Image
adventure_of_link
Locksmith of Hyrule
Posts: 3634
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Location: 255.255.255.255
Contact:

Post by adventure_of_link »

memsys wrote:great i can't find clean roms :?

take the dirty ROM to the laundromat. ;) :P

memsys wrote:for peeps that wanna know i DO own the gba cartrige but i just want to play the snes version

irrelevant. even if you do own the cart, unless you made the copy yourself, it's still illegal.

not to mention that GBA != SNES.
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.
Gil_Hamilton
Buzzkill Gil
Posts: 4267
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm

Post by Gil_Hamilton »

memsys wrote:i would play the 1.2 patch rom if i didn't already play the unknown rom for 6 hours
so how can i know if the rom i played 6hours is the beta or the 1.2 final ?

The SRAM saves are portable between japanese release, english beta, and english final versions, as far as I know.


But it's a moot point if you can't find the clean ROM image to patch.
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5627
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

I think there would just be an issue with character names if you transfer a SRAM from one version to another... of course, you can just reedit proper names yourself.

Except for chester. Too bad.
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
memsys
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 9:07 pm

Post by memsys »

sweener2001 wrote:so, your request wasn't meant as such?

i was writing what i was thinking
adventure_of_link wrote:not to mention that GBA != SNES.

i know i know but the snes version was never released outside japan

adventure_of_link wrote:take the dirty ROM to the laundromat. Wink Razz

haha very funny btw what can a dirty rom cause ?
DancemasterGlenn
Veteran
Posts: 637
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:05 pm

Post by DancemasterGlenn »

memsys wrote:haha very funny btw what can a dirty rom cause ?


Jaundice.
adventure_of_link
Locksmith of Hyrule
Posts: 3634
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Location: 255.255.255.255
Contact:

Post by adventure_of_link »

Staff infection :o :shock:

bonus points if it's MRSA
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.
memsys
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 9:07 pm

Post by memsys »

how do i add a header to a rom ?
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

NSRT can do that for you.
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
Neo Kaiser
Veteran
Posts: 844
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 3:56 am

Post by Neo Kaiser »

Just point him/her to a detailed tutorial and post links. I bet that this person don't know what NSRT is.
Yes I know that my grammar sucks!
memsys
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 9:07 pm

Post by memsys »

no need just forgot to look what nsrt can do :oops:
and i'm new to this kind of stuff
Neo Kaiser
Veteran
Posts: 844
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 3:56 am

Post by Neo Kaiser »

It is too bad that the NSRT page is down... What says in the rominfo.txt file? It is found on the emulator's folder. (After played the unpatched version of course.)
Yes I know that my grammar sucks!
snkcube
Hero of Time
Posts: 2646
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 2:49 am
Location: In front of the monitor
Contact:

Post by snkcube »

The NSRT page isn't down. Read http://board.zsnes.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=159685 for details.
Try out CCleaner and other free software at Piriform
Image
Locked