Is there any way to "extract" save games on a Mac?

Anything else related to bsnes goes there.
Locked
Tubba
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 1:18 am

Is there any way to "extract" save games on a Mac?

Post by Tubba »

Yeah, I was wondering if you could move save games for use on another machine or with another emulator. I've looked around, and the way bsnes stores its savegames yet evades my eye.

Thanks in advance.
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

Start by searching your entire system for files with the SRM extension (assuming no major modifications were made to BSNES's Mac port).
Continuing FF4 Research...
Tubba
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 1:18 am

Post by Tubba »

Only SRM file I can find was, IIRC, generated by SNES9x. And there should be quite a few of them if all the games I saved with Bsnes generated one.
Verdauga Greeneyes
Regular
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:32 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Verdauga Greeneyes »

If you're on Windows Vista, don't trust the abominable Windows Search. The Indexing service is completely FUBAR, in my experience. I think Snes9x saves all SRM data in a Saves folder next to the executable. By default, bsnes should save the SRM data next to the ROM it's for.
Starman Ghost
Trooper
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:26 am

Post by Starman Ghost »

Verdauga Greeneyes wrote:If you're on Windows Vista...

Thread Title wrote:Is there any way to "extract" save games on a Mac?

Code: Select all

<Guo_Si> Hey, you know what sucks?
<TheXPhial> vaccuums
<Guo_Si> Hey, you know what sucks in a metaphorical sense?
<TheXPhial> black holes
<Guo_Si> Hey, you know what just isn't cool?
<TheXPhial> lava?
Verdauga Greeneyes
Regular
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:32 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Verdauga Greeneyes »

Hehe, I guess it's pretty late. (and my frustration with Vista's search knows no bounds)
byuu

Post by byuu »

Richard Bannister may have used .sav for the extension, for consistency with his other emulators. Not sure.

It's also possible he uses GZip or somesuch on the saves first. I don't with the Windows port, at least.
Tubba
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 1:18 am

Post by Tubba »

It is also worth noting that no other file containing the name of the ROM file (In this case, Terranigma) exists other than folders, ROM itself, zip, etc.
Tubba
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 1:18 am

Post by Tubba »

I'm still here if anyone wishes to answer.
gllt
NO VOWELS >:[
Posts: 753
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 12:59 pm
Location: ALABAMA
Contact:

Post by gllt »

right click
Tubba
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 1:18 am

Post by Tubba »

Hm?
Gil_Hamilton
Buzzkill Gil
Posts: 4267
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm

Post by Gil_Hamilton »

I think he's making a 1-button mouse joke. And missing that Apple finally got with the program and started offering multi-button mice.
Rashidi
Trooper
Posts: 515
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 2:45 pm

Post by Rashidi »

is there such thing, to search for newly/recently modified files in mac?
doktor_kris
Lurker
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 7:47 pm
Contact:

Post by doktor_kris »

Yes. In Finder: 'File->Find...' (⌘F).
gllt
NO VOWELS >:[
Posts: 753
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 12:59 pm
Location: ALABAMA
Contact:

Post by gllt »

Gil_Hamilton wrote:I think he's making a 1-button mouse joke. And missing that Apple finally got with the program and started offering multi-button mice.


What, a person can't live in the past anymore?
Now I have to leave before I take this T to the OT, since I got my two cents in.
Tubba
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 1:18 am

Post by Tubba »

My Mac laptop only has one button, but it's not like it's over-exerting to hold control when you once in a blue moon need a control click.
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5626
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

I feel sorry for Mac users fapping to porn

really
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
ZH/Franky

Post by ZH/Franky »

I swear, the guy who came up with the mac's "one button" idea must have been intoxicated at the time.

Mind you, so was Michael Jackson when he decided to make repetition of "you're a vegetable" part of the lyrics in "Wanna Be Startin' Somethin'", which is what I'm listening to at the time of posting this. So, for listening to it, I too am surely intoxicated.
Panzer88
Inmate
Posts: 1485
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:28 am
Location: Salem, Oregon
Contact:

Post by Panzer88 »

I just miss the rad oldschool 3 button mouses, yeah the scroll wheel is a button, but it's just not the same.

I just watched the first episode of the second season of the X-Files, never gets old :D
byuu wrote:Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(
Tubba
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 1:18 am

Post by Tubba »

I often plug a mouse into it, but I generally find the touch pad pretty comfortable, I move around my middle finger and hold my pointing finger over the button.


Though I once bought a mac mouse which had the buttons built-in into a plate under the mouse. Worst fucking mouse I've ever used.
Locked