The most CPU intensive SNES game / part / effect ever

Anything else related to bsnes goes there.
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

The most CPU intensive SNES game / part / effect ever

Post by kick »

I know,the vote will probably go to that bending effect from Chrono Trigger.
But is there anything more CPU intensive than this effect?

How about a game that eats even more CPU cycles or does the same workload all the time? A game that will give your shiny new Core2 CPU a good workout.

Is there anything that comes close to the CT effect?
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
byuu

Post by byuu »

Black Omen was a bit overrated, just needed some good offset-per-tile caching. I just use in-game Star Ocean / FEoEZ now. That adds extra real-time decompression and bank swapping. Plenty of add/sub effects going on there, too.

You also need to consider whether you want to stress hires / interlace. Blitting a 512x448 image is worse than a 256x224 one.
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5626
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

The most extensive SNES CPU rape takes place in jikkyou oshaberi parodius, max difficulty setting.

And kirby's dream land 3 comes in at a close second, if you forget the various easier difficulty levels in JOP.

Nothing comes even close. Not even SPC7110 games.
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
byuu

Post by byuu »

And at the rate I'm going, SA-1 support will never get added anyway :/
Let alone with cycle-level timing.

... but at least we'll have a damn nice GUI.
blargg
Regular
Posts: 327
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 1:54 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by blargg »

Don't almost all SNES games keep the CPU busy all the time? Hint: even though it's not doing anything useful for the game, it's probably still constantly executing instructions. If you did that on a PC, it would show 100% CPU usage. WAI is about the only way to avoid sitting in a spin loop. It's the equivalent of a sleep call on a modern threaded OS.
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

Post by kick »

Games with special chips (SA-1 and others) do not apply.
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

Post by kick »

There is some kind of database error at the moment,so I can't edit any of my posts.
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
creaothceann
Seen it all
Posts: 2302
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by creaothceann »

Yeah, it's more a test to see what taxes emulators the most.

Let's see, what would be good criterias?

- hi-res
- interlace
- overscan
- color math
- both windows
- HIRQs and VIRQs
- OffsetPerTile mode
- HDMA a.k.a. changing parameters every line
- large sprites, i.e. many tiles to trigger RangeTimeOver
- constantly writing into RAM areas, invalidating buffers
- accessing the APU ports, DSP registers etc.
- FastROM speed

- mosaic ?
- Mode7 with EXTBG ?
- OBJ interlace ?
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list
creaothceann
Seen it all
Posts: 2302
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by creaothceann »

(in response to blargg)
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

Post by kick »

Here's an example. This one stresses the CPU much more than the CT effect:
Flintstones - Treasure of Sierra Madrock (U)
It's a regular game with no fancy effects or special chips.
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5626
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

kick wrote:There is some kind of database error at the moment,so I can't edit any of my posts.

Would be nice if you could read posts that concern everyone without spamming with more of the same stuff we're already aware of.
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

Post by kick »

byuu wrote:I just use in-game FEoEZ now. That adds extra real-time decompression and bank swapping. Plenty of add/sub effects going on there, too.


Does this game work at all with the latest version of bsnes?
It fails on the last (RTC) test.The problem remains after a poweroff,reset and restart of bsnes.
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
creaothceann
Seen it all
Posts: 2302
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by creaothceann »

Yeah. (pic)

Code: Select all

---------------------Internal ROM Info----------------------
       File: Far East of Eden Zero (J).sfc
       Name: HU TENGAI MAKYO ZERO     Company: Hudson Soft
     Header: None                        Bank: HiROM
Interleaved: None                        SRAM: 64 Kb
       Type: SPC7110 + RTC + Batt         ROM: 40 Mb
    Country: Japan                      Video: NTSC
  ROM Speed: 120ns (FastROM)         Revision: 1.0
   Checksum: Good 0xDE89            Game Code: AZRJ
---------------------------Hashes---------------------------
      CRC32: 1E327BD9
        MD5: 29998124A67DEDA111D5ACA8AAF5DCA5
     RIPEMD: 4B4BFFEAC1B74E840F4E717BB19E6CC6475BEE43
      SHA-1: 91FF16DA242D39736AEAD4D360BF6BF7C0AFCE82
    SHA-256: 8620203DA71D32D017BB21F542864C1D90705B87EB67815D06B43F09120318AA
    SHA-512: 9A9D7BD00C1D5B89D04A721D84D1938E103F09BAEB286BDD81762BD68EF6C4C0
             B255C939350EE5A8474E14DD4B08AA6D44DFE1AADD05C765B88958F04F3EDEDC
      Tiger: 7B8878874CE01F2A6945B163CEE43823955A980079FD17A1
  Whirlpool: E441C19D24BB0E70411FFF1D0B42B35937170456206C2127AF91983C81BEAC60
             E7A6F849427E962A09D9E22D55B30004D472A3960D73C91A339834ED35E51C87
--------------------------Database--------------------------
       Name: Far East of Eden Zero
    Country: Japan                   Revision: 1.0
     Port 1: Gamepad                   Port 2: Gamepad
    Genre 1: RPG                      Genre 2: Unknown




---------------------Internal ROM Info----------------------
       File: Far East of Eden Zero - Shounen Jump no Shou (J).sfc
       Name: JUMP TENGAIMAKYO ZERO    Company: Hudson Soft
     Header: None                        Bank: HiROM
Interleaved: None                        SRAM: 64 Kb
       Type: SPC7110 + RTC + Batt         ROM: 40 Mb
    Country: Japan                      Video: NTSC
  ROM Speed: 120ns (FastROM)         Revision: 1.0
   Checksum: Good 0x2EE2            Game Code: AZQJ
---------------------------Hashes---------------------------
      CRC32: BF8FEF7A
        MD5: A7438CD69E608BD2B268DDC0ED05C2CD
     RIPEMD: E283BF95078D166AD748E344ED9827B3374B45D9
      SHA-1: 36E5099128088B95623FF77F8196FCECD3F26731
    SHA-256: 69D06A3F3A4F3BA769541FE94E92B42142E423E9F0924EAB97865B2D826EC82D
    SHA-512: 61129E6CC759C65BCA4208B7C433CF0550B7A6E949E09B2F3E4A08FD4445D308
             BF663C2C19956BEA8348BF2991E538D5FC680D59BC828B8F67B4EC6A7CBEC019
      Tiger: 8412D4B472EC69C9632A64EA87E375FF6DA9D15B147B17B5
  Whirlpool: BF8EA37FCCD8209AA560836D4240FF69A6BBAE6751BBEAB851C36D551E7FBC0B
             48492136A289C66A1109B4A733D062B1608AB260C22A5084CEE35BC205AE7FCE
--------------------------Database--------------------------
       Name: Far East of Eden Zero - Shounen Jump no Shou
    Country: Japan                   Revision: 1.0
     Port 1: Gamepad                   Port 2: Gamepad
    Genre 1: RPG                      Genre 2: Unknown
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list
byuu

Post by byuu »

I'll just revert the v038 S-RTC folder. Not releasing a new version for that. Run the tests off v038, then start it in v039.
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

Post by kick »

Tried both FEoEZ and SO and they don't look very demanding,despite using special decompression routines and various color effects.

The most CPU-heavy part so far is the menu screen in Seiken Densetsu 3.Too heavy even for your Core2 Duo.
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5626
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

kick wrote:Tried both FEoEZ and SO and they don't look very demanding,despite using special decompression routines and various color effects.

... I thought
kick wrote:Games with special chips (SA-1 and others) do not apply.

?

The most CPU-heavy part so far is the menu screen in Seiken Densetsu 3.Too heavy even for your Core2 Duo.

Hires.

Try RPM racing or the couple other games that use hires+interlace.
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

Post by kick »

Hires.


Try RPM racing for example


Feels light compared to the SD3 menus :)
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
Panzer88
Inmate
Posts: 1485
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:28 am
Location: Salem, Oregon
Contact:

Post by Panzer88 »

there is a difference between cpu intensive, perceived game speed, and game slowdown is there not?

aka, a game can be pushing the cpu 80% but be poorly implimented and have slowdown. A game can be pushing the cpu 100% and have no slowdown right.

alternatively two games can be running at 100% each with no slowdown, one is at a part of the game that is slow, the other is at one that is fast (e.g. a racing game) so the privious seems slower where in reality there is no difference.
byuu wrote:Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(
Panzer88
Inmate
Posts: 1485
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:28 am
Location: Salem, Oregon
Contact:

Post by Panzer88 »

EDIT:

I guess what I am asking is. How are we measuring this, just visually? it should be defined by a measurement, not simply subjective opinion.
byuu wrote:Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(
Verdauga Greeneyes
Regular
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:32 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Verdauga Greeneyes »

As blargg said most games probably put 100% load on the SNES CPU, even if the only thing it's doing is waiting for the next frame in a tight loop. I think what we're measuring here is (or should be) CPU load in task manager (or some other (more accurate?) measuring tool.. I dunno what Linux uses). Since most PCs are different, of course, we can only compare games relative to eachother.
creaothceann
Seen it all
Posts: 2302
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by creaothceann »

Frame rate.
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list
Verdauga Greeneyes
Regular
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:32 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Verdauga Greeneyes »

creaothceann wrote:Frame rate.

You're right, I don't know where my head was then. Uncapped frame rate.
Snark
Trooper
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 7:17 pm

Re: The most CPU intensive SNES game / part / effect ever

Post by Snark »

Weird. I just retested the CT intro on my newer box and the framerate doesn't drop during the distortion effect (65-69fps) but takes a major hit during the overworld future map. (drops to 45)

Guess it varies between processor.
I want to fry~~ Sky Hiiiiiiiiigh~
Let's go-o-o-O~ togeda~
Verdauga Greeneyes
Regular
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:32 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: The most CPU intensive SNES game / part / effect ever

Post by Verdauga Greeneyes »

Snark wrote:I just retested the CT intro on my newer box and the framerate doesn't drop during the distortion effect (65-69fps) but takes a major hit during the overworld future map. (drops to 45)

The distortion thing has been improved via caching like byuu mentioned. I didn't know about the 2300 AD map though, might try it later.
gllt
NO VOWELS >:[
Posts: 753
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 12:59 pm
Location: ALABAMA
Contact:

Post by gllt »

a port of dos
Locked