AMD & NV drivers - now with OpenGL 4.2 & OpenCL 1.1 support

Place to talk about all that new hardware and decaying software you have.

Moderator: General Mods

Post Reply
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

AMD & NV drivers - now with OpenGL 4.2 & OpenCL 1.1 support

Post by kick »

Looks like AMD (for the first time) got ahead of NVIDIA with the latest ATI Catalyst drivers:

Surprise!

Catalyst 10.3.1 brings full OpenGL 4.0 support to the RadeonHD 5000 series of cards, while older cards get an upgrade to OpenGL 3.3.

Now all we need is a crapload of bugfixes, better support for physics and L5.1 profile decoding support for DXVA.
Last edited by kick on Fri Aug 26, 2011 1:47 am, edited 39 times in total.
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
snkcube
Hero of Time
Posts: 2646
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 2:49 am
Location: In front of the monitor
Contact:

Post by snkcube »

Video card: 4870 HD

The program claims I only have OpenGL 2.1 after installing 9.1. Looking deeper in the program, it says I only have 76% of OpenGL 3.0.
Try out CCleaner and other free software at Piriform
Image
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

Post by kick »

snkcube wrote:Video card: 4870 HD

The program claims I only have OpenGL 2.1 after installing 9.1. Looking deeper in the program, it says I only have 76% of OpenGL 3.0.


I need some more info like Operating System / 32 or 64 bit,number of extensions and OpenGL driver version (i.e. 2.1.8302).
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
snkcube
Hero of Time
Posts: 2646
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 2:49 am
Location: In front of the monitor
Contact:

Post by snkcube »

OS: Windows XP Home 32-bit
Extensions: 130
OpenGL version: 2.1.8395
Try out CCleaner and other free software at Piriform
Image
h4tred

Post by h4tred »

Thanks kick for alerting me to the retarded ATI driver glGetString() bug (why such a function is broken is beyond me).

I'll most likely make a bugfixed version of my GL info app. Dunno when.
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

Post by kick »

Here's what you get with a low-end Radeon HD 2000 series card (WinXP 32bit):

Image

The Radeon HD4k series has only one extension more (GL_AMD_texture_texture4).
Last edited by kick on Sun Feb 22, 2009 3:28 am, edited 7 times in total.
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5622
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

still obvious

i'd rather grab a SD pic, at least it's not failing at what it does
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)

Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
Tallgeese
Justice is Blind
Posts: 620
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:33 pm
Location: Test
Contact:

Post by Tallgeese »

Yeah uh, skin does not shine like that
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

Even more bugs

Post by kick »

Thanks kick for alerting me to the retarded ATI driver glGetString() bug (why such a function is broken is beyond me).

I'll most likely make a bugfixed version of my GL info app. Dunno when.



The latest ATI driver has another stupid bug:

Besides the stupid glGetString(GL_VERSION) issue,there's another strange bug with the latest ATI driver. It has something to do with the Catalyst A.I. setting in the Catalyst Control Center (CCC):

* When Catalyst A.I is disabled everything's OK
* With Catalyst A.I enabled (slider on 'Standard' [default]) = OK
* With Catalyst A.I enabled and slider on 'Advanced' = CRASH

Image

The crash (in the glTexImage2D function) with Catalyst A.I. comes from the texture pixel format. Some textures used by my application are in 3-channel RGB format and when CCC A.I. is set to 'Advanced', I think the driver expects a 4-channel RGBA texture to perform some clever (???) anti-aliasing tricks. My application provides a 3-channel RGB texture,so the driver crashes in glTexImage2D. I simply bypassed the Catalyst bug by setting all textures used by the application to 4-channel RGBA. Now, no matter if CCC A.I. is enabled or disabled,my application works fine (albeit with reduced performance)
Last edited by kick on Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:33 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
kode54
Zealot
Posts: 1140
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:31 am
Contact:

Re: AMD brings full OpenGL 3 support to RadeonHD cards

Post by kode54 »

kick wrote:caught up with nVidia

Funny, I must have missed the bus on this one, since my nVidia WHQL release (181.20) drivers don't fully support OpenGL 3.0. Maybe I need the special beta drivers or something.

Image
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

Re: AMD brings full OpenGL 3 support to RadeonHD cards

Post by kick »

kode54 wrote:
kick wrote:caught up with nVidia

Funny, I must have missed the bus on this one, since my nVidia WHQL release (181.20) drivers don't fully support OpenGL 3.0.


Upgrade your drivers. 181.22 is the latest WHQL driver at the moment (171 extensions)

Maybe I need the special beta drivers or something.


You need the 'NVemulate' utility to enable full OpenGL3 support on Windows.
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
kode54
Zealot
Posts: 1140
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:31 am
Contact:

Re: AMD brings full OpenGL 3 support to RadeonHD cards

Post by kode54 »

kick wrote:Upgrade your drivers. 181.22 is the latest WHQL driver at the moment (171 extensions)

Yeah, I heard. Whoopie, new PhysX runtime.

kick wrote:You need the 'NVemulate' utility to enable full OpenGL3 support on Windows.

I didn't think that was necessary with the correct drivers, heh.
h4tred

Post by h4tred »

Funny, I can use OpenGL geometry shaders just fine, yet that test fails....Go figure. And I am running a 9800GT.

EDIT: Oh wai....using ARB geo shaders instead of GLSL.
Last edited by h4tred on Sat Feb 07, 2009 9:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

AMD released a hotfix for AGP hd2000 and 3000 cards under Vista.
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

Post by kick »

9.1 AGP Hotfix released for Vista & XP


Nice :)

I hope this one (finally) fixes the most stupid bugs ever introduced in a driver: Broken SSE detection code causing BSODs on all CPUs without SSE3 (forcing one to use a third-party patch as a workaround) and FUBAR'd video acceleration with HD2k cards.
Last edited by kick on Sun Feb 08, 2009 11:55 pm, edited 18 times in total.
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

Post by kick »

No need to post your info anymore.
GLSL 1.30 *is* actually there,but it's not detected because of another stupid bug in the AMD/ATI driver.It will be fixed in the next release.

GLSL Version: 1.20 = BUG! (should be fixed in the next version of Catalyst)


Image

Great - three (new) stupid bugs introduced with this driver release :D
Last edited by kick on Sun Feb 08, 2009 11:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
Squall_Leonhart
Trooper
Posts: 369
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 6:19 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by Squall_Leonhart »

AMD shouldn't enable things till they are sure its ready.


Hence why Nvidia hasn't activated OGL3 and GLSL 1.3 in their own drivers yet.
adventure_of_link
Locksmith of Hyrule
Posts: 3634
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Location: 255.255.255.255
Contact:

Post by adventure_of_link »

Squall_Leonhart wrote:AMD shouldn't enable things till they are sure its ready.


consider that ATi has ALWAYS done this (if not similar) even back when they've been away from AMD
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.
Squall_Leonhart
Trooper
Posts: 369
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 6:19 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by Squall_Leonhart »

adventure_of_link wrote:
Squall_Leonhart wrote:AMD shouldn't enable things till they are sure its ready.


consider that ATi has ALWAYS done this (if not similar) even back when they've been away from AMD


Remember that they'd disable things without needing to also.
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

Post by kick »

kick wrote:I hope this one will finally fix the FUBAR'd video acceleration with HD2000 cards.


Nope :(

http://stashbox.org/396349/HD2600_Video ... _XPSP3.png

F****** POS drivers

Everything else works great,except video acceleration (the thing I bought this card for)

I'm really tired of this crap,having to wait a whole f****** year until I can finally use this card (as with any ATi card before this one).Definitely switching to nVidia next time,even if that means having lower performance for the buck,worse TV out and multimonitor support,worse colors and image quality.At least with nVidia cards everything works as it should.

shit hardware + good drivers > good hardware + bug-ridden drivers
Last edited by kick on Tue Feb 10, 2009 5:13 am, edited 7 times in total.
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

Uh, check the Nvidia forum before jumping ship... they also have somewhat hopeless TV out and stuff too.

http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?s=34 ... owforum=33
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
sweener2001
Inmate
Posts: 1751
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 7:47 am
Location: WA

Post by sweener2001 »

comprehension fail
Image
adventure_of_link
Locksmith of Hyrule
Posts: 3634
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Location: 255.255.255.255
Contact:

Post by adventure_of_link »

and now you all understand my point I made several months ago about nvidia > ATi

oh btw, IIRC isn't there some kind of programming hack you have to put into some programs? I believe it was discussed in the gambatte thread.
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

Post by kick »

adventure_of_link wrote:and now you all understand my point I made several months ago about nvidia > ATi

oh btw, IIRC isn't there some kind of programming hack you have to put into some programs? I believe it was discussed in the gambatte thread.


That's for *really old* ATi cards,newer ones don't need that hack.

and now you all understand my point I made several months ago about nvidia > ATi


Not really.

ATI cards are better if you buy an older model or have the patience to wait one year until you can use every feature of the card. Old cards work great (mature drivers),just don't buy a new one when it's released or you'll regret your purchase.

With nVidia,every feature works right from day 1 (the 3dfx team they acquired makes really solid drivers),but you'll have to deal with other problems like hardware-related issues and 'over-optimized' drivers* :)

* The result of over-optimized drivers is noticeably lower image quality compared to ATI cards and really bad issues like this one here:
http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?s=15 ... opic=88670

Boot times with nVidia cards are also longer.
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

Post by kick »

Another weird thing about the ATI cards is the extremely bad performance on Windows without drivers (using VgaSave) and in Safe Mode.With the older cards it was tolerable,but with the latest series it's a pain in the ass,like watching a slideshow.Older nVidia cards were optimized for this mode,so the performance was close to the one with native drivers.
If you do a lot of (troubleshooting/cleaning/repair) work in Safe Mode,this can be a real problem.
I don't know if the latest nVidia cards now have the same problem as the ATI ones (since they lack dedicated 2D hardware)
Last edited by kick on Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:26 am, edited 2 times in total.
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
Post Reply