bsnes v0.040 released

Archived bsnes development news, feature requests and bug reports. Forum is now located at http://board.byuu.org/
FirebrandX
Trooper
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 11:08 pm
Location: DFW area, TX USA
Contact:

Post by FirebrandX »

adventure_of_link wrote:...if you want it to look like the original SNES controller, why not use the color grabbing tool to grab each true color off the SNES controller pic then use as appropriate? :?


News flash: That's exactly what I've been doing. Both versions Fitz posted are from 2 different color-grabbed photos. The first was an off-white photo, and the 2nd is from Grin's flash-photo.
funkyass
"God"
Posts: 1128
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 11:24 pm

Post by funkyass »

im surprised there isn't pantone color information for all the parts on the net.
Does [Kevin] Smith masturbate with steel wool too?

- Yes, but don’t change the subject.
blackmyst
Zealot
Posts: 1147
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 8:36 pm
Location: Place.

Post by blackmyst »

FitzRoy wrote:
blackmyst wrote:Hey, so are you still going to redo the button reflections?


He did, but the old ones were better.



Oh, from the thread I got the impression he was gonna do a realistic reflection with an actual environment map of sorts. Oh well.
Procrastination.
Hard Work Often Pays Off After Time, but Laziness Always Pays Off Now.
FirebrandX
Trooper
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 11:08 pm
Location: DFW area, TX USA
Contact:

Post by FirebrandX »

Yes, I still intend to. Fitz is speaking of a change I did to the buttons, but not the actual reflection concept we talked about.. I'll be starting back up on the modeling tomorrow, but it may be a few days before I have an updated version ready.
Verdauga Greeneyes
Regular
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:32 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Verdauga Greeneyes »

So, how long until the GUI of bsnes is a fully rotatable model of a SNES? Click on the cartridge slot to load a game.. or better yet, have an animation of a hand holding a cartridge follow the mouse, and fill in the lable on the game when it's loaded :D
Tallgeese
Justice is Blind
Posts: 620
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:33 pm
Location: Test
Contact:

Post by Tallgeese »

Verdauga Greeneyes wrote:So, how long until the GUI of bsnes is a fully rotatable model of a SNES? Click on the cartridge slot to load a game.. or better yet, have an animation of a hand holding a cartridge follow the mouse, and fill in the lable on the game when it's loaded :D


You fool, you've opened Pandora's Box!

We'll have to have a hand for white people, black people, Asian people, American Indians, male and female... HOW WILL BYUU COPE!?
gllt
NO VOWELS >:[
Posts: 753
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 12:59 pm
Location: ALABAMA
Contact:

Post by gllt »

Metatron wrote:
Verdauga Greeneyes wrote:So, how long until the GUI of bsnes is a fully rotatable model of a SNES? Click on the cartridge slot to load a game.. or better yet, have an animation of a hand holding a cartridge follow the mouse, and fill in the lable on the game when it's loaded :D


You fool, you've opened Pandora's Box!

We'll have to have a hand for white people, black people, Asian people, American Indians, male and female... HOW WILL BYUU COPE!?


Gin.
byuu

Post by byuu »

gllt wrote:Gin.


Please.
http://www.pernod.net/histoire/absinthe/index.htm (French style)
Dullaron
Lurker
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:36 pm

Post by Dullaron »

I got it byuu.

Wow 10.7mb. Took me a while today.
Window Vista Home Premium 32-bit / Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.40Ghz / 3.00 GB RAM / Nvidia GeForce 8500 GT
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

Post by kick »

Last edited by kick on Thu Mar 12, 2009 5:33 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
byuu

Post by byuu »

What does that even mean? What does Absinthe have to do with plant fertilizer?
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

Post by kick »

byuu wrote:What does that even mean? What does Absinthe have to do with plant fertilizer?


I was talking about the new indian drink 'Gau Jal'. Here's a link:

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/life_and_style/food_and_drink/article5707554.ece

I couldn't find any info at Wikipedia,so I posted a link to something similar :)
Last edited by kick on Thu Mar 12, 2009 6:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

Post by kick »

Gin? Absinthe? LOL
Give him a bottle of good ol' Everclear :)

Code: Select all

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Everclear_(alcohol)
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
Jipcy
Veteran
Posts: 768
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:18 pm
Contact:

Post by Jipcy »

Verdauga Greeneyes wrote:So, how long until the GUI of bsnes is a fully rotatable model of a SNES? Click on the cartridge slot to load a game.. or better yet, have an animation of a hand holding a cartridge follow the mouse, and fill in the lable on the game when it's loaded :D

I've been wanting this for a while.
Fras
Hazed
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 5:32 pm

Post by Fras »

Clearly you will need to travel to a store to acquire a SNES in a virtual world , when you start bsnes for the first time.
It won't be a complete emulator until it emulates the actual 'getting the console'-moment. :(
h4tred

Post by h4tred »

That would be a project in itself....Not to mention you need the 3D models, textures, shaders, and the 3D engine to wrap it all together. :?
henke37
Lurker
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by henke37 »

Just make it a plugin to one of those existing virtual reality games.
Gil_Hamilton
Buzzkill Gil
Posts: 4267
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm

Post by Gil_Hamilton »

Fras wrote:Clearly you will need to travel to a store to acquire a SNES in a virtual world , when you start bsnes for the first time.
It won't be a complete emulator until it emulates the actual 'getting the console'-moment. :(
Complete with 90s music in the car stereo?
Fras
Hazed
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 5:32 pm

Post by Fras »

Yeah! That uber rap album needs to be a hidden album in the car too.
byuu

Post by byuu »

Well that didn't go so well ...

Rebuilt Qt 4.5.0:

Modified mkspecs/win32-g++/qmake.conf:

Code: Select all

QMAKE_CFLAGS_RELEASE   = -Os -fomit-frame-pointer


Configured with:

Code: Select all

configure -static -release -no-exceptions -no-rtti -no-webkit


Phonon was already off (no Direct3D support). No database support either since I have no drivers for them.

Before: 3.33MB -- 3,499,037 bytes
After: 2.89MB -- 3,036,672 bytes

Kept that impartial against the last official release. Subtract another 100kb for the new optimized, smaller PNGs.

---

Let's try being a bit more extreme, building now with:

Code: Select all

configure -static -release -no-exceptions -no-rtti -no-accessibility -no-stl -no-sql-sqlite -no-opengl -qt-libpng -qt-libjpeg -no-phonon -no-webkit -no-scripttools

Configuration:
    dist-config
    large-config
    medium-config
    minimal-config
    small-config
    full-config
    release
Qt Configuration:
    release
    zlib
    gif
    png
    qt3support
    ipv6
    svg
    minimal-config
    small-config
    medium-config
    large-config
    full-config

QMAKESPEC...................win32-g++ (env)
Architecture................windows
Maketool....................mingw32-make
Debug symbols...............no
Accessibility support.......no
STL support.................no
Exception support...........no
RTTI support................no
MMX support.................no
3DNOW support...............no
SSE support.................no
SSE2 support................no
IWMMXT support..............no
OpenGL support..............no
Direct3D support............no
OpenSSL support.............no
QtDBus support..............no
QtXmlPatterns support.......no
Phonon support..............no
WebKit support..............no
QtScriptTools support.......no
Graphics System.............raster
Qt3 compatibility...........yes

Third Party Libraries:
    ZLIB support............qt
    GIF support.............yes
    TIFF support............plugin
    JPEG support............plugin
    PNG support.............qt
    MNG support.............plugin

Styles:
    Windows.................yes
    Windows XP..............yes
    Windows Vista...........yes
    Plastique...............yes
    Cleanlooks..............yes
    Motif...................yes
    CDE.....................yes
    Windows CE..............no
    Windows Mobile..........no

Sql Drivers:
    ODBC....................no
    MySQL...................no
    OCI.....................no
    PostgreSQL..............no
    TDS.....................no
    DB2.....................no
    SQLite..................no (qt)
    SQLite2.................no
    InterBase...............no
Verdauga Greeneyes
Regular
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:32 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Verdauga Greeneyes »

Why both with -qt-libjpeg if it doesn't work when you do static linking?
byuu

Post by byuu »

Because I want it to work, damnit :P

Now at: 2.47MB, or 2,594,816 bytes. Quite a difference, especially before compression (10MB->7MB). I wonder which flag specifically shrinks things by a full 30% ...

Compile time of the Qt4 library is nice, too. Only 15 minutes now.

EDIT: there we go, JPEG support works in static builds now.
Q_IMPORT_PLUGIN(QJpegPlugin)
link += -L$(qtdir)/plugins/imageformats
link += $(call mklib,qjpeg)

Need to use PNG anyway, as we're using the alpha gradient on the controller now.

-----

Can't do better than this ...

Code: Select all

configure -static -release -no-exceptions -no-rtti -no-accessibility -no-stl -plugin-sql-sqlite -no-opengl -no-phonon -no-webkit -no-scripttools -no-openssl -no-dbus -no-style-plastique -no-style-cleanlooks -no-style-motif -no-style-cde


2.40MB, or 2,518,528 bytes.
Baron_Samedi
Rookie
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 1:34 am
Location: Germany

Post by Baron_Samedi »

hello


my avira av said that may be a trojan is in bsnes 0.040
it is highly probable that its a false warning because of to high heuristic

(i hope so... :-) )
85cocoa
Hazed
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2006 8:43 pm
Location: USA

Post by 85cocoa »

Baron_Samedi wrote:hello


my avira av said that may be a trojan is in bsnes 0.040
it is highly probable that its a false warning because of to high heuristic

(i hope so... :-) )
No problem here at the default settings (at least with regard to heuristics). If you need more help on this, you might want to go to the Tech Talk forum.
A few common-sense questions: Where did you download bsnes from? Has there recently been any other malware on your system?

Also, a possible bug in the user interface: The checkbox for the NTSC filter's merge-fields setting doesn't seem to work (i.e. the fields are never merged regardless of the checkbox setting).
gllt
NO VOWELS >:[
Posts: 753
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 12:59 pm
Location: ALABAMA
Contact:

Post by gllt »

85cocoa wrote:
Baron_Samedi wrote:hello


my avira av said that may be a trojan is in bsnes 0.040
it is highly probable that its a false warning because of to high heuristic

(i hope so... :-) )
No problem here at the default settings (at least with regard to heuristics). If you need more help on this, you might want to go to the Tech Talk forum.
A few common-sense questions: Where did you download bsnes from? Has there recently been any other malware on your system?

Also, a possible bug in the user interface: The checkbox for the NTSC filter's merge-fields setting doesn't seem to work (i.e. the fields are never merged regardless of the checkbox setting).


if byuu uses upx, thats probably all it is
or any other exe compressor

false positives.
Locked