bsnes v0.040 released

Archived bsnes development news, feature requests and bug reports. Forum is now located at http://board.byuu.org/
gllt
NO VOWELS >:[
Posts: 753
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 12:59 pm
Location: ALABAMA
Contact:

Post by gllt »

Image

is that more right? :V
Verdauga Greeneyes
Regular
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:32 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Verdauga Greeneyes »

I still think it should be possible to make it do the blending in situ, but if it just isn't, what can you do? :)

Edit: how did you get it to look that good, gllt? It seems perfect in all themes.
FirebrandX
Trooper
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 11:08 pm
Location: DFW area, TX USA
Contact:

Post by FirebrandX »

I just finished the gradiant edge version. It seems to work well enough in any color background:

Image

Edit: And I also cut the borders down. I think this should be the version byuu uses. Its slightly smaller than the one in v040, and its about 40% smaller on the file size as well.

Edit 2: and it works even better than gllts on lighter backgrounds (whew!). I'm going to go back and delete all the other attempts. I'm fully happy with this one.
FirebrandX
Trooper
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 11:08 pm
Location: DFW area, TX USA
Contact:

Post by FirebrandX »

HOT DAMN! Look what arrived today after being lost in the mail by USPS:

Image

Image

My nice minty fresh Super Famicom! Now I can do SFC controllers!
byuu

Post by byuu »

FirebrandX wrote:Edit 2: and it works even better than gllts on lighter backgrounds (whew!). I'm going to go back and delete all the other attempts. I'm fully happy with this one.


The size is great at 480x, but I do like having a white background in the image to give it distinction as being a picture and not a window control.

Well, I guess if we take the cord off it's good too, but I don't like not having a background and then having a cord get cutoff like that :/
Panzer88
Inmate
Posts: 1485
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:28 am
Location: Salem, Oregon
Contact:

Post by Panzer88 »

I'm all for that, removing the cord but keeping the transparent background.
byuu wrote:Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(
Jipcy
Veteran
Posts: 768
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:18 pm
Contact:

Post by Jipcy »

Code: Select all

122957 bytes.png /c6 /f5
111729 bytes
-11228 bytes ( 90% of original)

Image
FirebrandX
Trooper
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 11:08 pm
Location: DFW area, TX USA
Contact:

Post by FirebrandX »

Its easy enough, but I want byuu to decide:

No background, but with transparency.

or

Backgound & cord, but no transparency.

Frankly I'm more inclined to have background & cord, but that's just one opinion.
FirebrandX
Trooper
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 11:08 pm
Location: DFW area, TX USA
Contact:

Post by FirebrandX »

Jipcy wrote:

Code: Select all

122957 bytes.png /c6 /f5
111729 bytes
-11228 bytes ( 90% of original)

Image


I'm talking about compared to the one in v040. I believe it was 180kb.
Jipcy
Veteran
Posts: 768
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:18 pm
Contact:

Post by Jipcy »

FirebrandX wrote:I'm talking about compared to the one in v040. I believe it was 180kb.

I'm not talking about any other image at all. I'm just uploading the same image, smaller size. So that the most optimized version of the image has a chance at being the one put into bsnes. To save as much space as possible.
FirebrandX
Trooper
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 11:08 pm
Location: DFW area, TX USA
Contact:

Post by FirebrandX »

Ah my apologies then. You should work on these two, which will be up to byuu on which he uses:


The pic version with sleek black border:

Image

The transparency version with no cord:

Image
Panzer88
Inmate
Posts: 1485
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:28 am
Location: Salem, Oregon
Contact:

Post by Panzer88 »

I actually do like the added shadow effect.
byuu wrote:Seriously, what kind of asshole makes an old-school 2D emulator that requires a Core 2 to get full speed? >:(
Verdauga Greeneyes
Regular
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:32 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Verdauga Greeneyes »

This may be blasphemy, but without the cord it looks like it should be wireless. How hard would it be to do a version without the hole for the cord? (so the top is an unbroken line)

Edit, photoshopped (GIMPed?) version:
Image

Edit: Imageshack doesn't hate me anymore, so here it is again.
Last edited by Verdauga Greeneyes on Tue Mar 10, 2009 9:13 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Johan_H
Starzinger Addict
Posts: 998
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 1:14 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by Johan_H »

That's not the hole for the cord you're seeing. It's an indentation located above and below it. Probably there to make assembly easier?
Y~K
Hazed
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 3:27 am

Post by Y~K »

I wish all config files were on bsnes folder

I don't like to see a .bsnes folder in my doc&settings
byuu

Post by byuu »

Y~K wrote:I wish all config files were on bsnes folder

I don't like to see a .bsnes folder in my doc&settings


No problem ;)

Help -> Documentation ...

Modes of Operation

bsnes is capable of running both in its default multi-user mode, as well as in single-user mode.

In multi-user mode, configuration data is stored inside the user's home directory. On Windows, this is located at "%APPDATA%/.bsnes". On other operating systems, this is located at "~/.bsnes".

To enable single-user mode, create a blank "bsnes.cfg" file inside the same folder as the bsnes executable. bsnes will then use this file to store configuration data.
Verdauga Greeneyes
Regular
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 10:32 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Verdauga Greeneyes »

Johan_H wrote:That's not the hole for the cord you're seeing. It's an indentation located above and below it. Probably there to make assembly easier?

Ah, you're right. I wondered why it didn't quite work as a hole. I still think it looks out of place without the wire there though.
DancemasterGlenn
Veteran
Posts: 637
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:05 pm

Post by DancemasterGlenn »

I think that the picture should not have a background... it'll look best in the windows that way. As for the cord... having a cord only looks weird right now because of the way it is currently cut off at the top. If you fade the cord out to transparent at the end (assuming this is possible) the cord won't have the cut off look to it, and will probably look sleeker anyway. What do you all think about this?
I bring the trouble.
kick
Trooper
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 8:47 pm

Post by kick »

FirebrandX wrote:My nice minty fresh Super Famicom! Now I can do SFC controllers!


Now you can correct the colors of the rendered controller to match the real one.
Have a nice kick in da nutz @~@* c//
Johan_H
Starzinger Addict
Posts: 998
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 1:14 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by Johan_H »

DancemasterGlenn wrote:I think that the picture should not have a background... it'll look best in the windows that way. As for the cord... having a cord only looks weird right now because of the way it is currently cut off at the top. If you fade the cord out to transparent at the end (assuming this is possible) the cord won't have the cut off look to it, and will probably look sleeker anyway. What do you all think about this?

Cut off cord looks fine to me, but fading it out sounds like a good idea if I'm in the minority.
Bonus points for making it look like an actual cord that has been actually cut off? :D
blackmyst
Zealot
Posts: 1147
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 8:36 pm
Location: Place.

Post by blackmyst »

Hey, so are you still going to redo the button reflections?
Procrastination.
Hard Work Often Pays Off After Time, but Laziness Always Pays Off Now.
DancemasterGlenn
Veteran
Posts: 637
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:05 pm

Post by DancemasterGlenn »

Johan_H wrote:Bonus points for making it look like an actual cord that has been actually cut off? :D

Hah, best idea ever.
I bring the trouble.
FirebrandX
Trooper
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 11:08 pm
Location: DFW area, TX USA
Contact:

Post by FirebrandX »

blackmyst wrote:Hey, so are you still going to redo the button reflections?


Now that I have an actual controller in my hands to work from, there are going to be corrections and updates of course. Actually its very strange holding one in my hands after working with photos for so long. For one thing, it seems so tiny compared to the blown up photos I've been using!

Anyway, back to the discussion on the cord:

I can fade the cord to transparent, though I'd need a general agreement from people that they would want this for the transparency version. Cutting the cord is also doable, but I'd want to see a cross section of a real cut snes cord so I can render the wire bundles accurately. Any takers? :P Seriously though, I'm not too keen on the idea of rendering a cut cord. We want things to look good, not butchered.
FitzRoy
Veteran
Posts: 861
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 5:43 pm
Location: Sloop

Post by FitzRoy »

blackmyst wrote:Hey, so are you still going to redo the button reflections?


He did, but the old ones were better. The colors also seemed to have been made more pastel as well. I'd be curious to see the top version with the only difference being a white background and no dropshadows.

Image
Image
Last edited by FitzRoy on Wed Mar 11, 2009 4:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
adventure_of_link
Locksmith of Hyrule
Posts: 3634
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Location: 255.255.255.255
Contact:

Post by adventure_of_link »

...if you want it to look like the original SNES controller, why not use the color grabbing tool to grab each true color off the SNES controller pic then use as appropriate? :?
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.
Locked