Frame Rate & Autoframeskip ?'s and other ?'s

General area for talk about ZSNES. The best place to ask for related questions as well as troubleshooting.

Moderator: ZSNES Mods

Post Reply
DethLord
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 1:22 pm
Location: Bonerland

Frame Rate & Autoframeskip ?'s and other ?'s

Post by DethLord »

Is there any difference when you leave the autoframeskip option on or off? If I do leave it off will that make the game run smoother. Sometimes on some games when I get 45 FPS or even 55 FPS i can see some, but rather minor jerkiness in the game.

I am using ZSNES 0313 WIP Windows Version. My specs are Celeron 366, WinXP, 192 MB RAM, 4MB Video. Since I am on the laptop, whenever I use the 640x480 resolution, i can see the big black border surrounding the screen. I use the DR mode for 640x480 b/c the other modes, I get at most 10 FPS while the DR mode I get anywhere from 40 - 60 FPS. I like the 320x240 resolution or was it 320x200, anyways that resolution it pretty much fills up the whole screen, but that was another emulator and I don't think ZSNES win supports that low of a resolution.

One last question, what would be the optimal configuration for a slow computer like mine to get 60 FPS pretty much anywhere. Thanks for your help and sorry if I ask a lot of ?'s. :)
System Specs
Intel Celeron 366 MHz Laptop, 192 MB PC 100 RAM
30 GB HD, Intel Integrated Audio
4 MB Video, 24X CD ROM
Win XP Pro SP1, 800x600 (24 bit color) Resolution
ZSNES 0313 WIP Win32 running 640x480 DR FULL
snkcube
Hero of Time
Posts: 2646
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 2:49 am
Location: In front of the monitor
Contact:

Post by snkcube »

Please use the latest WIP version.
Try out CCleaner and other free software at Piriform
Image
PGN-X
Rookie
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 12:12 pm
Location: Australia, Melbourne

Post by PGN-X »

Just testing my Avatar, if this is spam then whoops
xamenus
Veteran
Posts: 907
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 12:26 am

Post by xamenus »

The game should run smooother if you have auto frameskip off and set at zero, but this requires more CPU power.

Try out ipher's optimized ZSNES builds to see if ZSNES runs faster for you. Some users reported speed increases with these builds. :)

http://www.ipherswipsite.com/zsnes

EDIT: If you can't get the files there, get them at http://www.emufanatics.com/emulators.ph ... nfo&id=143 and scroll down to find ZSNES optimized builds.
Tetsuo
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 4:28 am

Post by Tetsuo »

When I take off auto frame skip, then it's too fast. So I turn on vsync in video options, and it doesn't help. :shock:
kenmasters1983
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 9:29 pm

Post by kenmasters1983 »

zsnes works fine on my old 433 mhz celeron full speed on everthing even metal combat!!.

its using an old version though..dont know which one though.
Joe Camacho
Devil's Advocate
Posts: 2293
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:51 pm
Location: Hmo. Son.

Post by Joe Camacho »

Tetsuo wrote:When I take off auto frame skip, then it's too fast. So I turn on vsync in video options, and it doesn't help. :shock:


enable auto frame rate and put 9 as the max frame skip.
*Sometimes I edit my posts just to correct mistakes.
Tetsuo
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 4:28 am

Post by Tetsuo »

That will make it really choppy, right?
DOLLS (J) [!]
ZNES Developer
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 11:22 pm

Post by DOLLS (J) [!] »

Wrong. Well, at least not if your compuer can handle it.
Auto frameskip means it will skip up to N frames if your computer isn't fast enough.

Try running ZSNESW.EXE with the -6 command line option then set VSYNC on.
Tetsuo
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 4:28 am

Post by Tetsuo »

-6 command line? What's that? :?:
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

Tetsuo wrote:-6 command line? What's that? :?:


zsnes (I left my brains in the womb).exe -6 forces 60Hz refresh.
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
Post Reply