Windows 7 versions...

Place to talk about all that new hardware and decaying software you have.

Moderator: General Mods

adventure_of_link
Locksmith of Hyrule
Posts: 3634
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Location: 255.255.255.255
Contact:

Windows 7 versions...

Post by adventure_of_link »

So, which version is the best one to get? Right now we're considering a new laptop, and the one we agreed to has Windows 7 Home Premium on it. Should I go ahead and upgrade it to professional or will HP be more than enough?
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.
kode54
Zealot
Posts: 1140
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:31 am
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 versions...

Post by kode54 »

Unless you really need Professional features, like remote desktop into your laptop, or Windows XP Mode, then there's really not much need for it.
odditude
Official tech support dood
Posts: 2107
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:57 am

Re: Windows 7 versions...

Post by odditude »

seconded.
Why yes, my shift key *IS* broken.
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Re: Windows 7 versions...

Post by Agozer »

What is this Windows XP Mode anyway? Something to do with compatibility and software development?
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
odditude
Official tech support dood
Posts: 2107
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:57 am

Re: Windows 7 versions...

Post by odditude »

custom version of Virtual PC (which allows XP apps to be added to the win7 start menu and to be presented directly instead of in the VM window) with a licensed VHD of XP Pro.

runs fairly well, but it STILL only emulates a Trio 64V+, so anything requiring a video card from within the last 15 years will die a miserable death.
Why yes, my shift key *IS* broken.
adventure_of_link
Locksmith of Hyrule
Posts: 3634
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Location: 255.255.255.255
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 versions...

Post by adventure_of_link »

So, I take it I won't be able to run things like Battlefield 2 or Unreal Tournament: GotYE on Win7 home premium 64-bits? :( that bites...
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.
Gil_Hamilton
Buzzkill Gil
Posts: 4267
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm

Re: Windows 7 versions...

Post by Gil_Hamilton »

Are they known to have some serious incompatibilities?
Because I can run SHOGO on Win7 64, once I get around the 16-bit installer(by installing it to an XP system and then copying the whole install directory over).

I don't get music due to the devasatation of MIDI support, but...
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


KHDownloads
paulguy
Zealot
Posts: 1076
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 2:01 am
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 versions...

Post by paulguy »

Is there any virtual soft synth midi interface one could use, like timidity++'s alsa mode in linux?
Maybe these people were born without that part of their brain that lets you try different things to see if they work better. --Retsupurae
mudlord88
Lurker
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 12:43 am

Re: Windows 7 versions...

Post by mudlord88 »

Gil_Hamilton
Buzzkill Gil
Posts: 4267
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm

Re: Windows 7 versions...

Post by Gil_Hamilton »

The problem's not lack of a MIDI synth, but lack of proper DirectMusic support.
Or possibly lack of proper testing on my side.

I ask for no favors from mudlord, so he can go ahead and get bent.
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


KHDownloads
mudlord88
Lurker
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 12:43 am

Re: Windows 7 versions...

Post by mudlord88 »

And JB can go ride byuu's razor dildo.

Like I told him to.
Thats what you get for practically being in bed with the enemy.
Gil_Hamilton
Buzzkill Gil
Posts: 4267
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm

Re: Windows 7 versions...

Post by Gil_Hamilton »

:'(

See that? That's me. I am SAD now.
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


KHDownloads
mudlord88
Lurker
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 12:43 am

Re: Windows 7 versions...

Post by mudlord88 »

Oh boo hoo, tell someone who cares.
Like the inhabitants of your new home, which worship the abomination that is 30 bit color.

Oh the irony, 30 bit color and colorblind?
I.S.T.
Zealot
Posts: 1325
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 7:03 am

Re: Windows 7 versions...

Post by I.S.T. »

:| We really need to do this, guys? Really?
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Re: Windows 7 versions...

Post by Deathlike2 »

odditude wrote:runs fairly well, but it STILL only emulates a Trio 64V+, so anything requiring a video card from within the last 15 years will die a miserable death.


Why couldn't they emulate something like the aging classic NVidia TNT or the even more archaic Voodoo 3... Bah to S3.
Continuing FF4 Research...
adventure_of_link
Locksmith of Hyrule
Posts: 3634
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Location: 255.255.255.255
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 versions...

Post by adventure_of_link »

I.S.T. wrote::| We really need to do this, guys? Really?

Ugh... I concur with this man.

PLEASE keep the bitching out of this thread, y'all. :| I never meant for this to turn into one (or worse a fanboy discussion)...

that being said, my question about BF2, UT2004, UT99, UT3, etc... will it still run in Windows 7 without the windows XP emulator the pro version offers (let alone _some_ kind of compatability mode), or is it a no go? :?
Image
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.
snkcube
Hero of Time
Posts: 2646
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 2:49 am
Location: In front of the monitor
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 versions...

Post by snkcube »

Those games you listed should run fine in Windows 7.
Try out CCleaner and other free software at Piriform
Image
kode54
Zealot
Posts: 1140
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:31 am
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 versions...

Post by kode54 »

Both of those drivers implement DirectMusic support, just not DLS capability. If you need that, the stock DirectMusic synthesizer is sufficient.
Gil_Hamilton
Buzzkill Gil
Posts: 4267
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm

Re: Windows 7 versions...

Post by Gil_Hamilton »

I.S.T. wrote::| We really need to do this, guys? Really?

I was pretty much done.
Long as mudlord doesn't run over me with a car, I'm happy.
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


KHDownloads
mudlord88
Lurker
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 12:43 am

Re: Windows 7 versions...

Post by mudlord88 »

kode54 wrote:Both of those drivers implement DirectMusic support, just not DLS capability. If you need that, the stock DirectMusic synthesizer is sufficient.


And DLS support relies on BASSMIDI itself supporting DLS. Which I doubt Ian will add.
Bent
Lurker
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 5:16 am

Re: Windows 7 versions...

Post by Bent »

I've found most games have a workaround of some sort, or a community-made patch, to get them to work on modern OS's. Just the other day I was surprised to find the first Max Payne wouldn't run properly on Windows 7 x64, no audio, but a quick google search directed me to a patch that fixed it up just fine.

A few weeks ago my laptop died, it had Windows 7 Professional on it. My new laptop I got came with Home Premium. The only thing I really miss is Remote Desktop, which I can get around by using third party software. Same for Windows XP Mode, but I never really used that anyway.
~Bent
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 versions...

Post by franpa »

adventure_of_link wrote:So, I take it I won't be able to run things like Battlefield 2 or Unreal Tournament: GotYE on Win7 home premium 64-bits? :( that bites...

Uhm, you can run most 32bit programs under Windows 7 x64 (Except some that install a driver or depend on features that got obsoleted pretty fast after introduction, like Lemmings Paintball's fullscreen mode won't work on Vista/7 and maybe XP.)
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
kode54
Zealot
Posts: 1140
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:31 am
Contact:

Re: Windows 7 versions...

Post by kode54 »

Windows XP Mode is not suitable for running most games anyway.
Gil_Hamilton
Buzzkill Gil
Posts: 4267
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:14 pm

Re: Windows 7 versions...

Post by Gil_Hamilton »

franpa wrote:
adventure_of_link wrote:So, I take it I won't be able to run things like Battlefield 2 or Unreal Tournament: GotYE on Win7 home premium 64-bits? :( that bites...

Uhm, you can run most 32bit programs under Windows 7 x64 (Except some that install a driver or depend on features that got obsoleted pretty fast after introduction, like Lemmings Paintball's fullscreen mode won't work on Vista/7 and maybe XP.)

You're a week and a dramabomb late with that answer.
Squall_Leonhart wrote:
You have your 2s, 4s, 8s, 16s, 32s, 64s, and 128s(crash course in binary counting!). But no 1s.
DirectInput represents all bits, not just powers of 2 in an axis.


KHDownloads
mudlord88
Lurker
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 12:43 am

Re: Windows 7 versions...

Post by mudlord88 »

I.S.T. wrote::| We really need to do this, guys? Really?


Yes, because the existance of ONE emulator is enough to get one person killed.
Or at the very least, trolled until your ISP is contacted. Which means you get a lovely letter in the mail.
Post Reply