Cant load save states , or play old save states

General area for talk about ZSNES. The best place to ask for related questions as well as troubleshooting.

Moderator: ZSNES Mods

Post Reply
ashtekaros
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 12:54 pm

Cant load save states , or play old save states

Post by ashtekaros »

im trying to play some old former save states in a new zsnes (btw i'm too stupid to learn the name of the emulator) reinstallation. im able to play zsnes (btw i'm too stupid to learn the name of the emulator) and start new games, but my former save states are only available when i select the game through the option of "show all extensions" . if select the game without selecting whowing all extensions. im unable to load the former save states, only to start new game and save new save states. if i select open all extensions i can select the hidden game extensions and play, also acessing my old save states. however after i load the old save states, i can move the characters in the screen or select the item menu, although the sound Works normally. the game in question is super sayan densetsu. does someone know what is the problem ?
odditude
Official tech support dood
Posts: 2106
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:57 am

Re: Cant load save states , or play old save states

Post by odditude »

what is the extension of the save states you're trying to load?
Why yes, my shift key *IS* broken.
ashtekaros
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 12:54 pm

Re: Cant load save states , or play old save states

Post by ashtekaros »

odditude wrote:what is the extension of the save states you're trying to load?
How do i know the name of the extension? the extension files are located in a fold in the desktop named "zsnes (btw i'm too stupid to learn the name of the emulator)". i have the game files in both this fold and the game (super saya densetsu) fold
Last edited by ashtekaros on Tue Oct 22, 2019 2:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ashtekaros
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 12:54 pm

Re: Cant load save states , or play old save states

Post by ashtekaros »

lol, someone edited what i posted before. and added insults
odditude
Official tech support dood
Posts: 2106
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:57 am

Re: Cant load save states , or play old save states

Post by odditude »

ashtekaros wrote:lol, someone edited what i posted before. and added insults
it's an autofilter on the board that triggers when you misspell zsnes.

the extension is the 3- or 4-character part of the filename after the period.
Why yes, my shift key *IS* broken.
ashtekaros
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 12:54 pm

Re: Cant load save states , or play old save states

Post by ashtekaros »

the extension was located on the desktop. i tried moving it to c: downloads. but the problem persists. i can start a new game with the non-occult extension, but i can only load to old save files if i select "show all extensions". when i load to save files on the occult extension, i cant move in the screen, although the images and music appear normally. when i load to the occult extension, the save load state can be loaded but i cant start a new game. a message "bad rom" appears.
odditude
Official tech support dood
Posts: 2106
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 7:57 am

Re: Cant load save states , or play old save states

Post by odditude »

it sounds like you're trying to load savestates via GAME -> LOAD, when you should be trying GAME -> OPEN STATE after loading the appropriate game first via GAME -> LOAD.
Why yes, my shift key *IS* broken.
ashtekaros
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 12:54 pm

Re: Cant load save states , or play old save states

Post by ashtekaros »

solved by deleting the game files (while preserving the saves) and re-zipping the game. then i did what you stated. now it is working normally. thanks.
joe_devore
Regular
Posts: 259
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:07 am
Location: NH, USA
Contact:

Re: Cant load save states , or play old save states

Post by joe_devore »

ashtekaros wrote:solved by deleting the game files (while preserving the saves) and re-zipping the game. then i did what you stated. now it is working normally. thanks.
why are u zipping your games up to play them..? the files are small...
(PC Specs)
CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
Motherboard: Asus PRIME X570-PRO (BIOS_r4021 [08/09/2021])
GPU: nVidia GTX 1070 Ti 8GB
GFX Drivers: Nvidia v496.49
OS: Windows 11 Pro (x64)
RAM: 32GB, 2x G.Skill 16GB DDR4

Favorite Emulators:
PS2 : PCSX2 (Auto-Builds)
SNES : ZSNES
N64 : Project64

ZSNES:
v1.51 (FuSoYa's 8MB fix R2)(Compiled Myself)
Post Reply